Weight Loss Cafe Moving into 2006

wiz23 said:
Actually, I think the 14mm will be sharper. Not sure though :dunno:

But the thing is that, because of the shape of the front element, it only accepts rear filters. Troublesome lah ;p

Now go ps liao don't need filter...:bsmilie: amazing 0.2m from the object.. will make lot of nice candid shot..:bsmilie:

Servicing old folk?

Yupe, my parents mah :sticktong

Benign, u can read abt the 14mm here.

Thanks Wiz :thumbsup: Abt the filter.....:sweat: attached at rear? would it easier to fall off if turned the wrong way or wrong part?

soma said:
Now go ps liao don't need filter...:bsmilie: amazing 0.2m from the object.. will make lot of nice candid shot..:bsmilie:
True ... can consider 14mm lah. But I was also put off by Bjorn Rorslett's findings using the 14mm on the D1X & D100. I wonder performance on the D70 will be ok or not?? :dunno:

Benign said:
Thanks Wiz :thumbsup: Abt the filter.....:sweat: attached at rear? would it easier to fall off if turned the wrong way or wrong part?
I've never used rear-attached filter before. IIRC, u must attach filter to rear of lens, then attach lens to body. So, filter won't fall off lah.

Here is Bjorn's review on the 12-24 DX

wiz23 said:
True ... can consider 14mm lah. But I was also put off by Bjorn Rorslett's findings using the 14mm on the D1X & D100. I wonder performance on the D70 will be ok or not?? :dunno:

he grade it 3.5 only..:sweat:

Think i am the only one going for the 14mm

No lah, I think 14mm is sharper and more detailed than 12-24 DX. If you compared the photos taken btw the two lens. the price of 14mm is twice of the DX lens....it is there for a reason I supposed.
End of the day, it is the money factor for me.....budget ..budget ....budget :(
After all, I can sell the 18-70 DX to compensate my 14mm purchase lor.

I've never used rear-attached filter before. IIRC, u must attach filter to rear of lens, then attach lens to body. So, filter won't fall off lah.

NO idea on rear filters.....:embrass:

Do abstract/still life at home lor

yupe....one bullet, two bullets...three bullets....till 365 bullets :sticktong

Benign said:
No lah, I think 14mm is sharper and more detailed than 12-24 DX. If you compared the photos taken btw the two lens. the price of 14mm is twice of the DX lens....it is there for a reason I supposed.
End of the day, it is the money factor for me.....budget ..budget ....budget :(
After all, I can sell the 18-70 DX to compensate my 14mm purchase lor.

NO idea on rear filters.....:embrass:

yupe....one bullet, two bullets...three bullets....till 365 bullets :sticktong

The 18-70 DX is also a very good lens leh..

I agreed. Just that on DSLR, it become 27mm liao.....and not so sharp and color wise abit below par compared to 14mm ley.

Hopefully the lens is within my budget.....if not, just hot air :embrass:

Benign said:
Guys, if you got a choice....for rougly the same amount. Btw 12-24 DX and a secondhand but as new 14mm AFD. Which one would you take?

14mm afd cos
1. f/2.8
2. D lens - can use on manual body
3. non-DX - can use on film body

soma said:
On a second though.. Buy first la.. think later.. the detail and colour is :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: ;p
if $$ is no prob, then buy first and think later.

hmm.. .. shoud i sell first then buy? cant contra leh.... ;p

scud said:
i will definately go for 12-24, cos i feel i can do more with the range.

personally i feel 12-24 not much of a range cos equiv to crop of 18-36mm. the 14mm would be equiv to 21mm.

madmacs said:
personally i feel 12-24 not much of a range cos equiv to crop of 18-36mm. the 14mm would be equiv to 21mm.
at least betta than having a 16FE.

wiz23 said:

heh...if the same lens can be rated a 5 on a D1, 4-4.5 on an F5, its lower rating on a d70, etc is probably due to the quality of the dslr body i would think :think:

i would still go for the 14mm.

scud said:
yup, u go buy... :thumbsup:

Yup.. BBB virus coming to WLC liao..

I still like 10-20 leh.. easier:sweat: on the pocket...