Wedding Photography Services at $388

jnet6 said:
becos we are in digital world....
no need to pay $$.. :bsmilie:

hello, my computer is not free, my CF card not free, my electricty bills not free, i dun walk to my venue, must take transport, my battery cost money, my camera cost more than there brushes and foundation and whatever they can drop unless they use Channel or LV to keep their make up but wait, my lenses cost more than their blusher.

that's right guys, MUA charge between $300 to 1k for their work, you wanna charge less than the MUA, then i suggest you guys trade your cameras for hair dryer, some more you smart can to makeup for 2 couples a day. no need to cover the whole day, just 4 hours per couple, easy money.:)

SLCC said:
I really don't understand why the couple willing to spend $600 or $700 for MUA just for 2 to 4hrs only, but not willing to pay for photographer who work for more than 8 to 10 hrs.:dunno:

I think I must get Stanley to be a MUA than photographer liao!

Cos digital makes everyone a photographer.

Alot of ppl comes to AD Wedding, most come fast and leave fast. Either they find it pressuring, or they find it tiring.

I also help poor couple b4, after i shoot, i realise the $$$ that i receive was sponsors by their xiong di. There, i give them xtras prints and another album. Cos too many prints.

You must know how to judge the couples b4 you offer that sort of services. If you can't know whether the couples are taking advantage of you, how are you going to help?

Belle&Sebastain said:
hello, my computer is not free, my CF card not free, my electricty bills not free, i dun walk to my venue, must take transport, my battery cost money, my camera cost more than there brushes and foundation and whatever they can drop unless they use Channel or LV to keep their make up but wait, my lenses cost more than their blusher.

that's right guys, MUA charge between $300 to 1k for their work, you wanna charge less than the MUA, then i suggest you guys trade your cameras for hair dryer, some more you smart can to makeup for 2 couples a day. no need to cover the whole day, just 4 hours per couple, easy money.:)
Yes correct... but the couples don't see this ma. :(
that's sad.

so that's why i rather go out shoot at my leisure, take my time to edit.

Ok..this thread prob + 10 before... hahah.

Anyway, maybe time to raise price again. ;p Actually now that i know getting more from this PG thingy than my professional job i happy liao. At least i know i retrenched, i can tell my boss...... eh, i working part time for you nia. Basket....it's hell out there man, basket.

Cheers and have fun...

Belle&Sebastain said:

Yes, you are right! A Photographer can only take bride but MUA can do max 2 to 3 brides which mean $600 X 3 = $1800. Wah:o ........:bigeyes: Good $$$$ man!

Belle&Sebastain said:

Bro, dun laugh. Im considering signing up for a makeup course and do AD make-up. Must recommend couples to me ok? :cool:

shinken said:
Bro, dun laugh. Im considering signing up for a makeup course and do AD make-up. Must recommend couples to me ok? :cool:

Ha ha I also try not to compare with mua dam tui. Lots of heart and effort to put into each wedding. Each work always becomes personal because of the time spent on it. Quite sad people not willing to pay. Its dam alot of time and effort after the wedding. The touch up the late nights, then bring to shop to print, then funky one must go and reprint, sloting in etc Dam alot of of hours after the actual shooting. Just that I really like shooting weddings, money earn really not worth the time. Just feel happy being at a happy occasion. Now quite num to things like they dont give ang pow want more print, larger , dont provide dinner or offer lunch etc Just enjoy the photography part.

Actually become Justice of peace also dam good. Basically only david low can make it the rest are so freaking boring. Like their pet just died in the morning or something. Imaging people give avg $50 angpow. Was talking to David the other day he did about 900 weddings last year so you do the math :) Rom can easily do 2 or 3 perday too.

shinken said:

sure, i refer your services to them, do me a portfolio ok? serious:)

Tsangstudios said:
Ha ha I also try not to compare with mua dam tui. Lots of heart and effort to put into each wedding. Each work always becomes personal because of the time spent on it. Quite sad people not willing to pay. Its dam alot of time and effort after the wedding. The touch up the late nights, then bring to shop to print, then funky one must go and reprint, sloting in etc Dam alot of of hours after the actual shooting. Just that I really like shooting weddings, money earn really not worth the time. Just feel happy being at a happy occasion. Now quite num to things like they dont give ang pow want more print, larger , dont provide dinner or offer lunch etc Just enjoy the photography part.

Hey Kenneth :D For old times sake, when I do make-up, u recommend me ok? I do free for your wedding :flush:

Seriously, couples are less willing to pay, because they compare prices. MUA, somehow, amongst themselves, even in the absence of any regulating body, have the integrity to maintain their prices. Somehow photographers don't. It's heartwrenching, like you said. I still explore DI on the photos I shot with you and so many others. I think some of the couples might have even forgot abt their wedding photos already, and yet I still think abt what I liked abt the shoot, how to do it better... I totally understand what you mean by the joy in doing the photography. But I rather be a MUA then to charge a price that's not a reflection of the value of the service rendered. But that's just me.

Belle&Sebastain said:
sure, i refer your services to them, do me a portfolio ok? serious:)

Okok... I'm joking... actually, just half serious.

Other bros, I'm just joking... enuf with the PMs! My bad my bad.

shinken said:
Hey Kenneth :D For old times sake, when I do make-up, u recommend me ok? I do free for your wedding :flush:

Seriously, couples are less willing to pay, because they compare prices. MUA, somehow, amongst themselves, even in the absence of any regulating body, have the integrity to maintain their prices. Somehow photographers don't. It's heartwrenching, like you said. I still explore DI on the photos I shot with you and so many others. I think some of the couples might have even forgot abt their wedding photos already, and yet I still think abt what I liked abt the shoot, how to do it better... I totally understand what you mean by the joy in doing the photography. But I rather be a MUA then to charge a price that's not a reflection of the value of the service rendered. But that's just me.

Sure sure send me some portfolio :) Unfortuantely my own wedding in may cant have more that one mua. My fiance loves her gay Mua heh heh.. btw free is dangourous word ha ha..

Actaully male MUA make $$$$$$$$$$$$$ all of them seem to be famous in some whay heh heh.. I was shooting one wedding where the bride kept asking for lighter make up and he flick his wrist and went lighter ligheter you think you go funeral mehhhhhh.... And the bride was still laughing about it with him...

erm... folks, do give initalE24 a break? :embrass:

from wat i see here, the respondents (by and large) are working photogs. versus (i presume) a newbie to the business. whether his pricing 'spoil mkt' or not, well... to each his/her own lah. sometimes, its really a no-man's land - if a newbie wedding photog charges mkt rate, people will say he/she thick-skinned. no portfolio, no experience and still dare to charge so high. charge too low (in order to start somewhere and build up experience and portfolio), and he/she gets it. damn if i do, damn if i don't...

not many of us has the priviledge to PA a working photog, to slog out the hours, building up portfolios and later striking out. for better or worse, the digital camera, quite literally, makes everyone a cameraman. i had a similar discussion with a working photog in CS over MSN last yr abt this. he was fretting over his pricing too, and it would seem everyone is roughly doing the same thing as him in PSing and layouts. tough... i told him. cos as long as one got a PC, PS CS2 and a cam, he/she can start shooting and copy his style. wat my fren did to stay ahead of the game is being creative in his shot taking. dats something no one can copy - ur creativity.

and dats where the money is. believe me. singaporean customers are not as dumb as we would like to think. cheapos, yes. but, definitely not dumb. :p

this debate and all its rehashings is akin to how USA, Japan, EU etc... fret over the rise of China and its cheap labour. after all the china-bashings, guess wat? the only way to compete is to move up the 'value-chain', so to speak. since u can beat them rushing towards the bottom, might as well do something better that they can't copy.... yet.

so, lighten up? there's always a mkt for couples who needs a bargain. likewise couples who are more discerning in wat they want. ;)

nightwolf75 said:

from wat i see here, the respondents (by and large) are working photogs. versus (i presume) a newbie to the business. whether his pricing 'spoil mkt' or not, well... to each his/her own lah. sometimes, its really a no-man's land - if a newbie wedding photog charges mkt rate, people will say he/she thick-skinned. no portfolio, no experience and still dare to charge so high. charge too low (in order to start somewhere and build up experience and portfolio), and he/she gets it. damn if i do, damn if i don't...

not many of us has the priviledge to PA a working photog, to slog out the hours, building up portfolios and later striking out. for better or worse, the digital camera, quite literally, makes everyone a cameraman. i had a similar discussion with a working photog in CS over MSN last yr abt this. he was fretting over his pricing too, and it would seem everyone is roughly doing the same thing as him in PSing and layouts. tough... i told him. cos as long as one got a PC, PS CS2 and a cam, he/she can start shooting and copy his style. wat my fren did to stay ahead of the game is being creative in his shot taking. dats something no one can copy - ur creativity.

and dats where the money is. believe me. singaporean customers are not as dumb as we would like to think. cheapos, yes. but, definitely not dumb. :p

this debate and all its rehashings is akin to how USA, Japan, EU etc... fret over the rise of China and its cheap labour. after all the china-bashings, guess wat? the only way to compete is to move up the 'value-chain', so to speak. since u can't beat them rushing towards the bottom, might as well do something better that they can't copy.... yet.

so, lighten up? there's always a mkt for couples who needs a bargain. likewise couples who are more discerning in wat they want. ;)

opss.. typo. its can't beat them... :sweatsm:

maybe is the price that he has posted, which cost lots of suggestions. :sweat:

nightwolf75 said:
whether his pricing 'spoil mkt' or not, well... to each his/her own lah.

nightwolf75 said:

this debate and all its rehashings is akin to how USA, Japan, EU etc... fret over the rise of China and its cheap labour. after all the china-bashings, guess wat? the only way to compete is to move up the 'value-chain', so to speak. since u can beat them rushing towards the bottom, might as well do something better that they can't copy.... yet.

Ya....nightwolf75 is right! Just like what I had say, don't presure him liao la! He just want to help out those who really need help.

Thanks to all your advises...... i did not expect this thread to cause so much of interest in CS.

My sincere apologies......to all.... if I offended anyone.

initialE24 said:
Thanks to all your advises...... i did not expect this thread to cause so much of interest in CS.

My sincere apologies......to all.... if I offended anyone.
I don't think anybody's offended, from what I read, everybody's more concerned about being fair to yourself, trust me, NONE of the professional photographers in the wedding business is the least bit worried. NONE.

Just be fair to yourself will do, Knight Ong has made very good points, and others too.

I don't think anybody's offended, from what I read, everybody's more concerned about being fair to yourself, trust me, NONE of the professional photographers in the wedding business is the least bit worried. NONE.

Just be fair to yourself will do, Knight Ong has made very good points, and others too.

thank you.... i take advises from Pro Photographers like Knight Ong very seriously....

Will revise my rate when I finalise my plans then....