I knew I was the backup photographer so I did know that I won't wanna get in her way. Otherwise my teacher won't get the best pictures right?David said:Oh... did you mention she's a pro from the US? So she's ang moh?
These pros have high standards in that they view themselves as wanting to do a well-deserved job. It doesn't matter what equipment you have (1D MII or f/2.8 or what not) to intimidate her.
I read some wedding photography books and the author mentioned they are quite 'afraid' of the so-called backup photographers cos for eg, when your flash and their flash go off at the same time, overexposure can happen. And sometimes, you are 'just in the way'. But usually he'd politely tell them to hold their cameras when need to.
But still, that didnt give her the right to be so rude to you. Maybe she just got bad experiences b4.
For pros out there, do you feel hampered when you're trying to get good shots but you are 'challenged' by amateurs hovering with their cams around you? Personally, if I were a pro employed to do the job, I wouldnt really like others to interfere cos anyway, it's a job I've been given to do and I don't really want anyone to block good spots or just be in the way. Otherwise, why pay me right? But other than that, it's free for anyone to take whatever pics they like after those 'crucial' moments.
Clown said:accidentally pour drink over her camera lor.. like 'oops'.
Best if it is a professional range camera body and lenses, then can test whether it is "weather" seal proof. :bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:Clown said:accidentally pour drink over her camera lor.. like 'oops'.
Hmmm... 2 EOS 10D's, 2 EOS 3's, and 1 EOS 1? :think:scanner said:Best if it is a professional range camera body and lenses, then can test whether it is "weather" seal proof. :bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:
Phew... Assuming I'm holding a 10D for wedding photography, I see a backup photographer holding MKII I oso will abit :bigeyes:nickmak said:I knew my setup was rather big..1DMKII, 70-200mm f2.8L, 550EX, 300D, 17-40L...
scanner said:Best if it is a professional range camera body and lenses, then can test whether it is "weather" seal proof. :bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:
LimCB said:So your point being? You were bullied?
insomia said:If I read you correctly the main photog even while seemly at rest can materialise and capture the momenet before you can - which means one thing she is doing her job.
Some photogs have it in their contracts that there is to be no other photog - this is for various reasons some economical some practical. They are paid to do a job, they have to delivery the goods. Of course they will try to arrange things to ensure a good outcome.
Well, how would u feel if u got the right angle and the moment and just being a bit slow on the finger-work, and then when u all done, the shot is still there, you end up staring at the main photographer's butt? Great isn't it? That's the frustration I'm having... I know I'm a bit slow when setting myself up, but really, if she could also let me have the liberty of getting my own shots too... I didn't get in her way at all, she was munching away at the food (Sorry have to repeat myself). She would do all her finger-work right AFTER she got in front of me... ;p My teacher had asked me to shoot and was willing to pay me. I said I wanted to experience how wedding photography works, but I guess I started experiencing wedding photography on the wrong foot! :bheart:catchlights said:Hi insomia,
Miss out you post just now.
Yes, these are some of reasons. When you're paid to shoot, some one get in your way and you miss the moment, how would you feel? When you can sell some nice photos the couple for extra $$, but they can get free from a friend, how would you feel again?