warranty card?

kirkchua79

just bought my eos 400d kit with sigma 18-200mm. go home then realised only got warranty card for the sigma. called up the shop he says there's no warranty card and he'll like register for me and something like that.then any prob can go back to the shop.

oh man..... dun tell me that shop is TCW at peninsula there?? :confused:

i got a gut feeling that the 400d is a grey set...

hw to tell is grey set? that means no warranty?
the shop is in peninsula and a friend of my friend works there.

hw to tell is grey set? that means no warranty?
the shop is in peninsula and a friend of my friend works there.

if u cant find the warranty card, then most likely its a grey set already.... other than this, there is no other difference.

for grey sets, there is usually no warranty at all.

u must tell me if the shop is tcw first, then i can tell u if there is warranty. If the shop u buy from is tcw, if there is any problem with the cam, it is tcw who will repair it for u, or they might outsource it to others to repair. if u go to canon service center, u need to pay.

if u have the warranty card, which means that urs is a local set, then if u have any problem, u can go the canon service center for repair without charge.

no it's not tcw.if got prob the repairs can make it or not? that mean the receipt is the warranty card from the shop?

Normally, you should have the warrenty card together with your 400D. Now a days, you can register your warrenty on line but you need the serial no, and warrenty card registration no. to register. IMO, you should at least insist to have one.

Would you mind naming the shop? It makes it easier for everyone.

Normally, you should have the warrenty card together with your 400D. Now a days, you can register your warrenty on line but you need the serial no, and warrenty card registration no. to register. IMO, you should at least insist to have one.

ya lor. cannot register online.btw if grey set still can insist for warranty card meh?

If this is a grey set then there is no local warrenty:dunno:
Anyway, I guessed you have a good price for this already and no free gift from Canon.
To claim the free gift, you need to show warrenty card and original receipt. :)

just bought my eos 400d kit with sigma 18-200mm. go home then realised only got warranty card for the sigma. called up the shop he says there's no warranty card and he'll like register for me and something like that.then any prob can go back to the shop.

How much did you buy the 400D+kit? :think:
And which shop?

total damage includes gst s$1925
D400 kit(18-55mm)
sigma (18-200mm)
2GB adata 266x cf
lowepro ex140
konix uv filter

no it's not tcw.if got prob the repairs can make it or not? that mean the receipt is the warranty card from the shop?

yes, u are right, ur receipt will be some sort the warranty card from the shop... the shop will handle the repairs for free.. they become ur "camera guardian"...

personally, i have never let ppl other than the service centre handle my camera equipment... so i cant say if they are better or worst...

but on the bright side, a lot of ppl managed to use their dslr over 1 year without visiting the service centre, so if u take good care of it, it should be ok :thumbsup:

aiya... anyway, dun think so much abt it already... go out and take more pictures instead :) just be careful and next time if u purchse ur next cam or lens or flash, always insist on local canon warranty

Btw, your friend of yours is really your friend? it seems that he just wanted to sell to get a commission... :(

Anyway, there's nothing you can do now. Move on and keep shooting until your camera goes kaput and send to them for service.... ehehehe..... just kidding.

my olympus c750 with me since 2001 still ok. made in japan one. always bring for uw photography still workin good.slr spoil easier? i didnt keep in dry box .

I was a C750 user too back in 2004!

SLR doesn't spoil easier but as there are more mechanical parts inside and the lens is removable, more maintance such as CCD cleaning might be necessary. (I never need to send my camera for CCD cleaning though) There's a shutter count limit too, higher for high end models.

A 6 years old C750, you sure know how to take care of equipments. :bigeyes: