Wanna start a Leica User Group?

Hi

hey let's cut away the thinly veiled snide remarks and personal attacks.

Pigglet:
- sam abell does not use a Leica
- watever grievances u have with XXX boy, let's not bring it into this forum

XXX boy:
- those "mass produced plastic toys" u're alluding to are responsible for producing most of the world's serious pictures, so something must be right about them.

now that we get that out of the way, to be fair, XXX boy did say his proposed "council" also includes compact camera users and all makes of rangefinders so i dun see how come pple are picking on Leica users.

and btw, there's nothing wrong with old men gathering together to discuss "old stuff" - and yes, with a history of more than 50 years, Leica spans both the "old" and the "new". It's the same situation as when a group of young hot blooded army guys group together to indulge in idle discussions of girls of their adolescent desires, or a group of toddlers gathering to share their toys and dolls, or a bunch of teenage girls engaged in fashion rhetoric. Who can fault them?

perhaps a better term to use would be "interest group", instead of council. Nevertheless, I still do not see the point of creating such a group, since the idea does not appear to be founded on a set of established objectives.

and lastly, Leicas are not expensive. Lots of people can buy them if they want. Look at all the people buying DSLRs, the latest L or AFS lenses. You can get a nice Leica M kit with all that money spent on rapidly depreciating electronic products.

You can get better pictures by developing your own vision and having a good grounding of photographic concepts that you can bring from one system to the next, whether rangefinder or SLR, film or digital.

Red Dawn said:
Hi

hey let's cut away the thinly veiled snide remarks and personal attacks.

Pigglet:
- watever grievances u have with XXX boy, let's not bring it into this forum

XXX boy:
- those "mass produced plastic toys" u're alluding to are responsible for producing most of the world's serious pictures, so something must be right about them.

now that we get that out of the way, to be fair, XXX boy did say his proposed "council" also includes compact camera users and all makes of rangefinders so i dun see how come pple are picking on Leica users.

and btw, there's nothing wrong with old men gathering together to discuss "old stuff" - and yes, with a history of more than 50 years, Leica spans both the "old" and the "new". It's the same situation as when a group of young hot blooded army guys group together to indulge in idle discussions of girls of their adolescent desires, or a group of toddlers gathering to share their toys and dolls, or a bunch of teenage girls engaged in fashion rhetoric. Who can fault them?

perhaps a better term to use would be "interest group", instead of council. Nevertheless, I still do not see the point of creating such a group, since the idea does not appear to be founded on a set of established objectives.

and lastly, Leicas are not expensive. Lots of people can buy them if they want. Look at all the people buying DSLRs, the latest L or AFS lenses. You can get a nice Leica M kit with all that money spent on rapidly depreciating electronic products.

You can get better pictures by developing your own vision and having a good grounding of photographic concepts that you can bring from one system to the next, whether rangefinder or SLR, film or digital.

Well said!

Red Dawn said:
Pigglet:

Well, according to Glen E. Johnson
"As a professional, he started out with Nikon, moved to Leica, then to Olympus, and now to Canon."

Red Dawn said:

That's true :)

To enjoy photography we dont rely on branded camera as long as one is please with the photo taken.
I started with a Kodak box camera then to Yashica ranger to Canon FTB to Minolta SG2,ST101 X700x2(body) still using and Canon1n & 1v & 10D still using then I went into Lecia R6.2 & R8black & chrome and Rollifexe G S 2.8 and Bronica 645 ETRSI & 6x7 formant.
I like Leica for it lens quality but not action shot which I use Canon system.
For blown up photo I use Bronica 6x7 and german len optics.

Pigglet, with ref. to your webbie, i don't think all of it is fact:
"They still pale in comparison to even a low end medium format camera. If image sharpness is what you want, spend the $600 and get a used Mamyia 645, you'll blow away all the Leica users on your block with the sharpness and detail of your prints."
I hate to put it this way, but 35mm lenses tend to have better resolution then med format ones. Thats why horseman created a digiflex for F-mount. It is more the resolution of the film then the camera that really comes into play when comparing sharpness in such enlargements

"In any photo 101 class they'll teach you that if you want maximum sharpness, you put your camera on a tripod and trip the shutter with a cable release." This is not always possible especially when the law does not allow it. In which case, having a stable/quiet camera does help. PM me if u need me to elaborate.

I could go on and on, but my point being that pls pick a more credible source.

btw, i think that the idea of an eqpt based council is quite pointless. Should instead consider having photo sharing sessions. Where we can all learn from each other. Like the leica forum in photo.net. But then again, i'm not in SG so i can't say much can i... ;)

szekiat said:
Pigglet, with ref. to your webbie, i don't think all of it is fact:
"They still pale in comparison to even a low end medium format camera. If image sharpness is what you want, spend the $600 and get a used Mamyia 645, you'll blow away all the Leica users on your block with the sharpness and detail of your prints."
I hate to put it this way, but 35mm lenses tend to have better resolution then med format ones. Thats why horseman created a digiflex for F-mount. It is more the resolution of the film then the camera that really comes into play when comparing sharpness in such enlargements

"In any photo 101 class they'll teach you that if you want maximum sharpness, you put your camera on a tripod and trip the shutter with a cable release." This is not always possible especially when the law does not allow it. In which case, having a stable/quiet camera does help. PM me if u need me to elaborate.

I could go on and on, but my point being that pls pick a more credible source.

Ha! you meant this one??The truth about Leica Cameras

U really think Cassidy was talking about "truth"?!! :bsmilie:

His webbie is entitled "Arrogant, mostly talentless - Gen-X Leica Slacker". BTW, Cassidy does take great shots, with an M6 plus some cheapo russian lenses. Take a look at his Leicagallery:

Cassidy's Leica shots

enjoy.

have u handled a leica b4 ?

u seems to have something against leica,may i know wad is the cause of it ?

kex said:
have u handled a leica b4 ?

u seems to have something against leica,may i know wad is the cause of it ?

Dun think pigglet is against Leica, he's just reacting to some Leica fanboys who put every other brand down.

Action and reaction!

By the way, I don't believed that Leica worth its price when I started out photography. Always thought it was a hype. After moving from plastic bodies to FM3A, I decided to check one out. Eventually, I bought one and its probably the most worthwhile money I spent on photography.

If you had handled a lot of cameras, you would know that Leicas are fine instruments. Lenses are well made with an image quality that, should I say, different from any SLRs.

Pigglet, before you make any comments, handle one first if you have a chance. Most who ever bought one rarely relinquish the whole system after that.

What dkw said :bsmilie:

I have owned/used most of the M cameras (except M1, M5 & M7) and love them. They are indeed fine image-making tools. But it is merely a tool. No bid deal. No need to keep shouting about it. (Sorry, I can't see anything that an MP can do but an FM3A can't :) )

BTW, I have made a straight swop recently with a collector (my MP versus his Nikon S3 2000 kit set which he dares not use.), and USE it. I can tell you Nikon is equally capable of making RF camera of the highest build quality , if they really want to. So, what is there to shout about ? Mechanical Perfection? kidding me, you (E. Puts)?

yea, i wondered why they left the RF market completely ever since they turned SLR. canon used to make fine RFs too, with very fast lens indeed

pigglet said:

(Sorry, I can't see anything that an MP can do but an FM3A can't :) )

I do i do! *raises hand and wave*
Shoot in a stage environment with boom mikes around and not spoil the sound recording....hehe. Sorry not really meaning to pick on u previously. My appologies.

szekiat said:
I do i do! *raises hand and wave*
Shoot in a stage environment with boom mikes around and not spoil the sound recording....hehe. Sorry not really meaning to pick on u previously. My appologies.

As reported in Luminous Landscape, in a blind test, a DSLR (Canon 10D) was surprisingly found to be more quiet than a Leica M2. See RD-1 Field Test. So, an RF needs not always be more quiet than a SLR. (ya, FM3A is LOUD alright!)

A Leica digilux 2 probably would be near silent but that's a another story.

cheers!

pointless to mention this, but i think your ex-MP is probably quite a bit more silent than an M2. Anyways, i think this has gone on far enuff...xxxboy has disappeared....sorry for hijacking your thread!

pigglet said:

I have owned/used most of the M cameras (except M1, M5 & M7) and love them. They are indeed fine image-making tools. But it is merely a tool. No bid deal. No need to keep shouting about it. (Sorry, I can't see anything that an MP can do but an FM3A can't :) )

BTW, I have made a straight swop recently with a collector (my MP versus his Nikon S3 2000 kit set which he dares not use.), and USE it. I can tell you Nikon is equally capable of making RF camera of the highest build quality , if they really want to. So, what is there to shout about ? Mechanical Perfection? kidding me, you (E. Puts)?

Saw from a Japanses mag, it shows the original Nikon S3 and the New Mill S3-2000. It even stated that Nikon had cut-cost by using plastic gears for its new S3 remake. Wat a disappointment!

There you go again :bsmilie:

okie, no more OT. Back to you council chief. Good luck.

Oh Boy! forgot to remind you not to frequent that Kopitiam.

See, kena :kok: till all-b'art-k'art oredi lor

hmmm a leica outing would be good!! some one org one!! ;)