Wad lens shud i get???dilemma for the beginner

Status
Not open for further replies.

sentient

Jun 2, 2008
www.photoblog.com
Hey all:D,

i'm quite new to photography, recently purchasing the canon 450D with the 18-55mm kit lens, after using it for a while, i thought i'd like to expand my range of photography, particularly fascinated with closeups, such as macro..however, as the usual case with the average hobbyist photographer, budget is the issue and i'm gonna resort to getting a second hand as a good friend of mine has been doing so and he's been in the hobby for a few years now..anyway, been looking around quite a lot recently n think i'm 'narrowing' my choices down to either a macro or a compact travel around zoom lens..i'm more for the macro but my brother who uses a 400D is trying to convince me that since i only have the finances to get one, to buy a zoom lens FIRST as it has a 'wider range of uses'..and in a way i see his point as during family holidays or just traveliing around i guess u cud find more subjects and more interesting takes on things with a zoom lens as compared with a prime macro lens..but i still have a deep fascination with macro photography..he recently purchased the Tamron 17-40mm f2.8 XR Di II and the Canon EF85mm f1.8mm USM..personally im looking at the Canon EF100mm f2.8 Macro USM and the Tamron SP AF90MM F/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 for macro and as for zoom lenses i'm looking also at the Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM, Tamron AF 28-200MM F/3.8-5.6 XR Aspherical (IF) Macro and the Sigma 18-200mm f3.5-6.3 DC OS..My budget is below $500 and as such my choices are quite few and far between..its even quite a stretch for the canon ef100mm macro which is currently at the top of my wishlist but a gud 100 odd out of reach..so yea,would love to hear all of ur experienced opinions of this lil bout im in n recommend me wad u guys think wud be most practical in terms of furthering my photographic learning as well as not blowing the bank..:confused: