Very poor service from Alan Photo, Funan

Wah, like that you still let him earn your money and thank him... that's encouraging bad service. :confused:

totally agree that alan photo @ funan service is horrible :angry:. just went last sunday and the guy who attended me dun seem to bother. i asked whether to get a super zoom or a wide angle he straight away told me to get the wide angle cuz it more expensive and if i have the budget. no elaboration no value added explanation. just told me that and stare at me. expecting me to buy immediately. he is definitely not the recomended guy in CS. in the end i walk over to get the stuff i wanted over at photocam (a small shop beside CP@penisula plaza). may not be the best price but for that few extra bucks for an excellent service and recomendation plus explanation, i guess thats what we as consumer wants. at least u dun feel that the shop is all out to con u. ;)

Next time someone tries to give that nonsensical line in blue below; tell him that what he has just done is illegal under the Goods and Services Tax Act and ask whether he can repeat that statement so that you can record it for lodging as a complaint with IRAS.

same bad experience i had there.

wanted to ask the price of the 50-200mm swd lens.

i felt i walked into some gangster runned shop.

went in and asked how much was the lens and the guy just said " $1530 add the 7% yourself, so want or not ? "

i was so turned off by this kinda service i just turned and left immediately.

then headed up to john 3.16.

damn good service from then !!

Time and again, such "complaint about shops" posts will always surface and they will never end. It's been many years but nothing has changed.

I can understand TS's psychology slightly. For the seasoned photographers and buyers, they know how to compare prices, read reviews, visit several shops and defer purchase until a satisfactory time comes. But for a typical newbie or the general consumer, sometimes, you just want to buy on the same day you made up your mind to own something. You can't wait to have that new toy. You thought the people in the shops will be such nice angels to serve you, answer your doubts, and thus make you even more interested in the hobby. WRONG!

Let this be yet another repeated warning to any shoppers for camera equipment: There are generally no good camera shops in Singapore. You have to really be careful about what you buy. Shopping here is not necessarily a pleasant affair, especially if you are a new buyer. You want a relatively good deal here, if have to really check around. And don't come with an expectation that you will always get a friendly helping hand. In that way, you won't go disappointed with the way things are here, should you meet with rude sales people.

GENERALLY, this is what I can summarize:

AP

Pros: Can give the cheapest price among all the other shops if you are lucky.

Cons: Rude service. Ironically, items can cost more than what the other shops chrage if one of the sales guys decide to chop you.

Cathay

Pros: Shop is the biggest among them all. Widest range of stuffs to view. But still pathetically small if you compare to the big names overseas. Staff are ok. Not as rude as most other shops.

Cons: Rubber price. Period! They change their prices as and when they like it, even within a period of a few minutes. And they are good actors in pretending you got their prices mistaken.

John 3:16

Pros: Friendly staff. Comfortable setting.

Cons: Prices are usually slightly higher than mnay other shops. Small and crowded shop. You have to wait for a long time to get served. Not the shop to go for those who simply want to buy and leave. Product knowledge may be erroneous or biased. For eg, twice I was told a certain lens is not good when in fact it is THE lens used by many others.

MS Color

Pros: Friendly staff only if you know who to go to. Can be cheaper than other shops but only sometimes.

Cons: Unhelpful staff if you go to the wrong one. (Has anyone ever thought why this has been happening for such a long time? I'm sure people have complained to the shop's 2 bosses but nothing seems to be done. I suspect the bosses themselves have ulterior motives in this. I don't know.)

Orient Photo

Pros: Nothing much I can think of.

Cons: Typical China guys when selling things. Very shrewd in business. Exchanges not entertained. Equipment sold may be old or "China version". They sell many grey market items. Be careful and clarify with them what sort of guarantee you are getting, especially if are a newbie and think you are getting a good price.

Notice I mentioned the views above are GENERAL. It's what I gathered from the general sentiments that appear here, and of course, confirmed with my own experiences with them. For eg, you may feel it's worth it to pay more and get good service from John 3:16. For me, I think that's unjustified. If you pay more to get good service, then there's really no special incentive as a customer. In any case, good service is to be expected of good shops without paying extra. For others, you may be a regular and know of a Mr So-and-so and thus get good service from certain shops. Well, that's good for you then. But I don't think it's right for them to be rude or try to cheat newbies. What if that Mr So-and-so is not around? You gonna come back another day? Ridiculous.

Nowadays, since I travel often, I try to avoid buying locally. Even if I do, it's buy and leave. I usually don't bother doing small talk with the guys unless they are friendly to begin with.

I love shopping overseas. I am clearly a tourist but I get no nonsense service. Prices are fixed. Whether you are one of their locals or foreigner, you get equal and most of the time, friendly service. And the shop guys' product knowledge are generally a lot better than our shop guys here. People generally gather together with a common interest in photography to share and help each other, whether you are an old bird or a novice. There is such a wide range of things to choose and see! Everything's on display for you to try out. Don't buy? No problem. And the best part? Some of the things could be a lot cheaper than here! Now that's what I call 1st world service. What we have in Singapore is very much like 3rd world kind of practice.

i will ask him to bring out many assessories and cameras then tell him i'm just looking around hahahah! kidding!

I'll try it this weekend.

kiwi2 has given a slightly angled report on OP. Their pros are that their prices are sometimes the lowest and they carry a lot of 3rd party stuff. They sell some 2nd hand stuff as well.

Really, what's with drawing attention to the fact that the shop is run by China men? One of them is quite friendly, much better than some of the Singaporeans in the other camera shops I know.

Well said post by Kiwi2 above. What's all these talking about getting good service if you are a regular or if you know which staff to go to?? Crap lah, sounds so demeaning. We're the paying customers and we still must live by their rules?

I'm sorry to say this TS, but what you've done is spoiling the errant salesman and encouraging further bad service from them. If bad service also can get sales, then why bother smiling and explaining? By giving them business after suffering bad customer service from them, I very :angry: you. Sorry :p

would have just walked away. No question abt it

Ya i agreed also... Alan Photo service quite bad, especially the Funan one....

Dog eye see people low... go in there and no one bother to entertain me at all when the fact is they got so many staff idle around.... Boo...

Ya i agreed also... Alan Photo service quite bad, especially the Funan one....

Dog eye see people low... go in there and no one bother to entertain me at all when the fact is they got so many staff idle around.... Boo...

Who ask you not ang moh?? Some more speak Singlish :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

:thumbsup: post by Kiwi2.

But for the services of this shops, its the black sheep :devil: in these shops that really spoil the image. :angry: too bad that bosses in these shop are more focus on the $$$$.

Come to think of it, in singapore we only have these few areas and shops to patronize for camera products. ;p

Who ask you not ang moh?? Some more speak Singlish :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

Wah Liao... speak singlish becos singaporean :) and they singapore company what (are they?)

i got international language $$$$$ :D can liao wat? is that not what they are after???

Dont know how they actually get voted best seller in camera and video since 2000 (according to their website) when they have such bad service to singaporeans...

i think there are about 5-6 ppl tending to Alan Photo Funan. The boss, a lady and a skinny guy are the nicer ones, the rest like the balding guys provide bad customer service, stern face and tones, in your face sales pitch, also the Plaza Sing Complex, trying to trick you with overpriced accesories. I would choose who to attend to me when in ALan.

Totally agree with batavia:vhappy:.......But somehow i still feel their price is abit too high if you do your homework.:think:

U should have just shop around for a few more days before deciding which store to go you.
Anyway as most ppl will say, u need to pay school fees to learn :flame:

my experience for last 2 mths since I got my 500D

MS main --sometimes a lot of new and young people there who strictly quote RRP, the middle age lady(dress more nicely one, I think the boss) nicer...another plumpish guy quite ok, give good price first time asking...I think the bald older man is just general worker, and so is the other old cashier aunty...make you feel like walking into china town, usually when i pass by around 2pm ,all of them eating chai png rice on their display glass...so funny...

MS AMK, usually notice 3 men , 2 at any one time usually, the older one very strict face, don't like to deal with him, the younger (maybe 30's) more customer oriented, but prices may not be the best if you dun noe the street price, I usually ignore the newbie sale guy like he's just out of NS like that

OP....2 PRC, sound very shrewd , nothing against, not so comfortable , not very friendly...

Only my experience to share, may not be the same as other users though...

Sorry to hear about this, kaiflux :sweat:

And yea, not even thanking you or anything's pretty damn sloppy service ;(

(Luckily most of the stuff i buy are 2nd-hand from CS-ers and i'm glad to say they're all very nice :) Yay for clubsnap! ;))

that is very true.. i think in the end these shops are also doing businesses.. so if you know anyone in the shop, it will be easier to get better deals and they will not give you lousy service too..

haa... same goes to me, I'll juz walk out frm there. Then go Cathay buy... then purposely walk back and show them your carrier... hahaha

i will ask him to bring out many assessories and cameras then tell him i'm just looking around hahahah! kidding!

I think if like that when the customer leaves i won't be surprise he will use hokkien foul language, behind you, but loud enough for you to hear him. ;p

Why did you buy in the first place? For me, the service I got from Alan Photo @ SLS is good. If no good, I just take the lift to 6th floor and buy from OP. :bsmilie:

:thumbsup: likewise!

Who ask you not ang moh?? Some more speak Singlish

Then have to dye hair blonde. ;p And show come chest hair with one hand holding a can of beer... :bsmilie::bsmilie::bsmilie:

No offense. :)

I did buy my d90 from Alan Photo, Funan last Friday... the lady one did tend to me... she's nice... walk inside, ask her... i said i'll come back... look around, john 316 out of stock, (the one beside alan) benny something - bad talk with the uncle standing on the door (worst attitude, money face)... did come back to alan photo... lady smilled at me, smiled back, knowing that im ready to buy she goes to storage room n got me a new unit.... asked me also for cash... she just said nets add 1%... withdraw from atm below, did pay my dslr... left smiling... ^_^