Very poor service from Alan Photo, Funan

Normally service at AP at SLS is betta than Funan.

depand who also.. but most the time pretty OK.. at least its a no frills service.. not bad, not good.. but just buy and enjoy..

there was a young chap in the SLR counter in SLS that is very nice.. wonder he still there or not

i second Bro Sprewell about David at AP. The guy is super funny lah. after reading all the things about AP, I decided to go there anyway since its close to checking the items at Courts, HN, Challenger and J316. AP was the last place i went to and saw a bald guy and a woman there with scorned faces, David was attending a customer at that time. The two didnt make an effort to entertain me, which was better. I was nearly confirming the story here because of the two until David came and asked whether he can help. Not only he went on comparing the Macro lenses from Sigma, Tamron and Canon ( im a canon user) extensively (meaning he knows his stuff), he carried on opening and asked whether I would like to test them.

I wanted to test him, saying that i would like to think it over lunch or maybe take it now. Guess what he asked me to do. He asked me to think it over so at least i dont make decision over empty stomach. He GAVE me time to think and he was smiling some more.

I realised that David knew what CSers and other people on the web are saying about AP and I think he cant do anything about other sellers at AP whether at Funan or SLS, tarnishing AP's name.

Caveat Emptor. Thanks to David i now have a good Macro Lens which i enjoy using at the moment and thanks to him, I better get the story from the other side. Its unfortunate that some people even got 'cheated' at AP. I kena once at Bally. So if you decided to go to AP, maybe you can try talking to David, i even met Samuel of J316, buying his stock from AP that time.

I agree with some of our Bros here. Make research and bail out if its 'hot'. Dont feel pressured to buy. Its our money and its their business.

just my 1 cents.. and thanks again David.

I got pretty good experience with AP Funan. I always like to look for this guy.. the eye abit cross one.. friendly guy. Tell him what i want, then he will advise me the pro and cons.. sometimes i buy cheap stuff.. he will say good lar.. don't buy so expensive stuff if just for fun only. I have deal with most of the guys there, but i still think that this cross eye fellow to be more friendly. That bald guy just doesn't smile lar..lol but i think he is ok.

hahaha i am soooo inclined to agree.

actually to be fair, its not just them. a few other reputed shops i been to gives me exactly that response whenever i walk in with old faded grey berms, singlet and slippers.. they totally ignore me. i ask for price, answer me till as though i cant afford to buy.

and CP is probably bout the only one who still welcomes and talks to me like a human when i am in that sorta attire... to me, that is enough of customer service. i dun need them to tell me about camera specs and uses of lens. i only need people to treat me like a customer, like many bros out here.

i disagree

does not mean one person is bad all are bad

i have seen great sales guy at AP even at Funan or SLS

but do not make the shop seem bad...

CP also has very attitude sales people also...

mainly is do not generalize

:thumbsd: If i had been in that situation i would have told him off and walk out. Never go back again.:angry:

I just want to give my humble opinion
there are a few threads saying AP Funan bad customer service. Also one thread if not wrong, mentioning CP, and one for MS.

Hmm, so are they really poor?

I leave the answer to fellow wise CSer. :)

My way
1. not happy with their service, just walk away. I can always come back (even same day) after comparing price from other shops.
2. Know the stuff I'm going to buy.

I just want to give my humble opinion
there are a few threads saying AP Funan bad customer service. Also one thread if not wrong, mentioning CP, and one for MS.

Hmm, so are they really poor?

I leave the answer to fellow wise CSer. :)

My way
1. not happy with their service, just walk away. I can always come back (even same day) after comparing price from other shops.
2. Know the stuff I'm going to buy.

thats the thing over here.. must need to know the stuff u buy.. cannot depand on salesman.. which is a very sad thing indeed... since the salesman there most the time provide almost zero use for u as we all hv to research online...

however there is some shop that really have helpful salesman, no need to mention the shop as i believe its really boils dn to which salesman u talk to..

oh mine was juz now only...cathay and john was good. john's more friendly.

from this thread, seem like i wouldn't be shopping at AP, Bally le..

Wonder these salesman visit CS or not? they could be shamed of their service...

oh mine was juz now only...cathay and john was good. john's more friendly.

agreed! but john a bit too 'plastic' friendly? 笑里藏刀?? :think:

agreed! but john a bit too 'plastic' friendly? 笑里藏刀??

Doesn't matter. As long as they attend to you adequately and charge low prices, I'd go to that shop. I don't care much about paying more to make myself feel good.

I have bought a few stuff from AP Funan esp when I cannot get them from John316 or others places. Last week I made a big mistake and got myself hit. Got myself a Sigma 150-500, quoted $1650. I asked about the filter and the guy showed me a hoya which was 100+. Then he asked whtehr I wanted a Sigma original for $200+. After trying it on the lens he gave me a standard $1900 for the whole set. So its $250 for the filter.
It finally hit me when I got home. My cousin did a check with them through the phone and got a quote for $198. I have been hit with a $52 *&#&%(%&#$(!
Guess I had to pay for my impulsive purchase. I will definitely not buy from AP anymore! They earned my trust then overcharged me ... I wonder whether that overcharge can make them more profitable!
I guess you need to be careful when you buy things from anyone. At least the lens gets me to enjoy my birdwatching more! A lesson learnt!:)

i really never had a problem with AP

maybe you all quite suay!

haha but of course, i woudl rather get ripped off by cathay

then go to bally and get shitty attitude from them!

my experience with AP-F was very different man. was treated very nicely.
answered all my questions, showed me stuff, when i requested. made changes here and there.
sealed the deal. and price point was lower.

maybe you guys just suay, or i'm damn lucky la. i've been back to AP-F often. yet to be burned.

my experience with AP-F was very different man. was treated very nicely.
answered all my questions, showed me stuff, when i requested. made changes here and there.
sealed the deal. and price point was lower.

maybe you guys just suay, or i'm damn lucky la. i've been back to AP-F often. yet to be burned.

haha actually cos the boss is a friend

but you're a lucky dude man...

I think AP at funan is nice. I went there recently , went into the shop but all were busy with customers , so I took my time looking around . After one of the sales person settled his deal with the other customer , I went and asked him whether he has stock on a lens and cam tat I want . He said he do not have and the shipment was missing or something. Serving me all the while with a smile and joking with me .

Went To CP at penisula. A group of sales person were waiting outside already . So as I was coming closer , i caught eye of this sales person . He looked at me and look me from bottom till top (lucky I was wearing some branded stuff ) . Then when I was infront of him I told him wat I need and he served me with a smile . I think they really serve you by wat u wear -___-.

I have bought a few stuff from AP Funan esp when I cannot get them from John316 or others places. Last week I made a big mistake and got myself hit. Got myself a Sigma 150-500, quoted $1650. I asked about the filter and the guy showed me a hoya which was 100+. Then he asked whtehr I wanted a Sigma original for $200+. After trying it on the lens he gave me a standard $1900 for the whole set. So its $250 for the filter.
It finally hit me when I got home. My cousin did a check with them through the phone and got a quote for $198. I have been hit with a $52 *&#&%(%&#$(!
Guess I had to pay for my impulsive purchase. I will definitely not buy from AP anymore! They earned my trust then overcharged me ... I wonder whether that overcharge can make them more profitable!
I guess you need to be careful when you buy things from anyone. At least the lens gets me to enjoy my birdwatching more! A lesson learnt!:)

These are common sales tactics! They will quote you a low price for the item that you really look for, cos the know you would have definitely check out the price and done your research. Then while selling you the item, they will just be very nice and say you might need this and that...you have spend so much on the item, why not protect it will something of the same standard. That is when they show you things that you are not familiar with and quote you price that are crazy and trick you to buy, cos you have totally trusted him. These are well know sales technique taught to all salesman if you have been one before.

So sometimes when I buy from shops that quote me real low price for the item that I am looking for, I will not buy anything other then that item. And there are times when the shop suddenly refuse to sell me cos I am not buying their accessories and you know why!

buy only what you need. simple, they start offering you extra ****. just politely say no, you dont need all that extra crap.
when i got my D300 he was trying to sell me extra memory cards cleaning kit la. B&W filter. bla bla bla.
i was like no thanks. i just need the D300 body, but he was cool about it. so i was pleased. =)

To me, most important is they give me best price. if they got bad attitude, i also bad attitude, just throw the money into their face. why go against money and get angry over such small matters. photographers should have more patience.
go and meditate lah

I m curious why some of those that complaint about shop sales person bad attitude and still buy from them? To me, its either u feel pai seh to walk out since u already ask about the price or u r scare of the sales person and u buy from them. Who to blame, yourself for not knowing how to reject people who treat u bad. Or maybe you like people to treat you bad. Just my 2 cents.