Used M8

however the Leica poison got the better of me and sold it to buy a 35mm Summarit.
...cannot go wrong if you want 1st hand and at a fraction of Leica 35mm cost.
Cheers:)

I agree, i am amazed by the colours that the lens renders.
next on my list is the 50 cron!

hey all,

Just to share that i'm also very new to RFs, and despite all the quirks of the M8.2, i'm loving every moment of it. I got the M8.2 at prime photo (beside Cathay photo).. on hindsight, i think i paid on the high side, but the M8.2 was a hard camera to find and so happened that it came with a receipt showing that it was sent to Schmidt for servicing. I dont know how true is this but it was the only thing i could rely on when comparing with other shops. later on i found that it didnt came with a USB cable and thought i could find it anywhere else, then discovered that 5pin mini usbs are really hard to find.. so just make sure all the accessories are in there..

Within a few weeks i have slid down the slippery slope and ended up with 28mm ultrons, 35mm 1.2 and 50mm "voigtilux". haha! i would most likely sell away the 50mm even though the portraits are really really awesome.. but just cant seem to part with it.. also thinking of doing away the 28mms, leaving the 35mms as THE one.. again this will break my heart.. :bheart: I hate it that i love RF now.. dslrs somehow disgust me even though i know that there are many areas it is better.. =)

Hi bro,
welcome to the club! I also jump onto the M bandwagon last month. I saw the 8.2 at Prime Photo but find the asking price was high. Got my 8.2 in black from Alex Photo at $4.2K. Since 8.2 is black paint, cant wait for it to be 'seasoned'. As for USB cable, i guess its faster to use the SD card and direct transfer to your computer.

Pity you should want to part with your 50 and 28!
perhaps, should should have just bite the bullet got a used 35 cron instead? hehe, just joking!

The leica slope is very slippery indeed!
But self-control must also be strong.

Also i am still on the original firmware since i bought this camera then, dont even know what version is it, it's the version that can only take 2gd card, still i am enjoying the hell out of this camera. So my advise is, if you think it, buy it..

bro, u can check on the picture menu. it will tell u your firmware version.
latest version is 2.005

The USB cover on the M8 is puny and fragile... So I scared it will break upon my usual handling. I always use the traditional way like developing a roll of film ... Open the bottom M plate for the SD card. ;)

5505858937_10b55f2699.jpg

Love the portrait taken by 50mm 1.1 wide open.. like how can i part with this?

5531808550_51fed6a7c8.jpg

but 35mm 1.2 also very decent here..

5506439686_6e35efd995.jpg

28mm also takes nice portraits with character..

5505837129_8f81867dcf.jpg

Was testing out hyper focal shots on 28mm f2.. quite okay too!

Sigh.. cant part with any at the moment..

well, reason why i wanted the usb cable was to check the shutter count.. and in case there is any updates to do.. while i dont use it much, its a good to have lah..

The M8 is a fun camera despite some critisism, for its price now its worth a try. Nowadays we tend to buy not what we spent time trying but instead determine our liking based on internet satisfaction, while its helps in certain degree it also confiscate or delay your enjoyment.

For the magenta issue, I have been trying very hard, purposely shooting without uvir for a worthy magenta subject on the street, never had luck on this, i think i have better luck striking 4D then meeting a worthy magenta subject on the street.

Also i am still on the original firmware since i bought this camera then, dont even know what version is it, it's the version that can only take 2gd card, still i am enjoying the hell out of this camera. So my advise is, if you think it, buy it..

Hi dtohs,

My 1st session without UV/IR filter at Orchard Road got the magenta madness :) those folks wearing black t shirts are magenta now

5498941027_31261a28ec_b.jpg

5505858937_10b55f2699.jpg

Love the portrait taken by 50mm 1.1 wide open.. like how can i part with this?

5531808550_51fed6a7c8.jpg

but 35mm 1.2 also very decent here..

5506439686_6e35efd995.jpg

28mm also takes nice portraits with character..

5505837129_8f81867dcf.jpg

Was testing out hyper focal shots on 28mm f2.. quite okay too!

Sigh.. cant part with any at the moment..

Nice shots!!! Don't sell the lens .... you have a good collection of 28, 35 50mm lens !!!

Hi dtohs,

My 1st session without UV/IR filter at Orchard Road got the magenta madness :) those folks wearing black t shirts are magenta now

5498941027_31261a28ec_b.jpg

Hey aomoon, Good for u,i got not much luck so far, didnt come across anything worth shooting, I shall try to shoot again without uvir when i am in the mood. Cheers.

The 35mm 1.4 is plagued with focus shift problems. You and google it up online. You can test all the copies until you get a good one, but that is kinda pissy to do to Chiif.

its fine. you won't notice it unless you're viewing your pictures at 100%

Yoricko said:
The 35mm 1.4 is plagued with focus shift problems. You and google it up online. You can test all the copies until you get a good one, but that is kinda pissy to do to Chiif.

Is the focus shift problem consistent on every piece? Or just a manufacture fault? I read from steve huff photo there is not much a problem. I think is luck to get a nice piece :)

Got mine yesterday at Benphoto, bundled with a 50mm summicron

weird, the manual in it, n covers, shows 8.2, but i bought an 8, any idea?

Congrats! now go shoot, mai tu liao. Just in case, u do know unlike m8, the "m8.2' is not engraved onto the front of camera right? for a start, the leather is different i think.. now pls shoot and share your shots. Have fun.

PS: Get a spare batt, set your saturation to normal and shoot on RAW, u wont regret this. Again have fun.

sharps said:

U can check the series # on the hotshoe. Is the # same with the box that come with it? If it is M8.2 it should show a 8.2 on the hotshoe as well. Congrat on your new M. Mind the share how much u get together with the cron 50mm?

First congrats!:thumbsup:
If the top shutter speed is 1/8000s, it's M8; if it's 1/4000s it's M8.2.

mine confirm M8
but my warranty card cover shows 8.2, serial number in it also same as the hotshoe..... super weird lor
i told the boss, so good ar, buy m8 but give 8.2's manual?

ivan, i got it at 4.8k

Yes, gommy is right. Think simple.. blind me..

Another test, if you scratch the LCD and it leaves marks it's M8; if not it's M8.2.:bsmilie: