Unfilled Warranty

mynameisjizeng

hello hello,

i've just bought a 2nd hand TOKINA lens from a fellow CSer.
just a question:

the warranty (2 years) has been unfilled, and it says that the warranty has to be filled up and sent back within 7days, or the warranty is void.

the original price bought was december last year.

what does this imply, that the warranty is void? or is there someway of rescuing it?

thanks all! kinda worried now.

regards,
jizeng

Well, from what I know usually (note, usually means most of the time, not all the time) the companies do not mind. But you have to have an original receipt to prove the date of purchase (if not people can suka-suka write down they bought it yesterday, etc).. Should be not much of a problem unless the company really wants to be anal about it. Usually they'd give in to the customer though. Anyways, most of the time warranty not needed for a lot of things la.. Hehe.

oh really? hmmmm..
would you know whether tokina would be more particular about it?

usually some manufacturer can track down the product manufactured date by the serial no.
for example, if this item was manufactured on 2005 and you send the warranty on 2007 then when you want to claim for warranty repair they might ask you to show to proof of purchase.

usually some manufacturer can track down the product manufactured date by the serial no.
for example, if this item was manufactured on 2005 and you send the warranty on 2007 then when you want to claim for warranty repair they might ask you to show to proof of purchase.
Well, Creative definitely does that.

@Threadstarter, no, I don't have any lens so I won't be able to tell you, there are 2 ways about it:

1) You can assume that I'm correct, and then if I'm not, don't find me..

2) You can call up Tokina to ask! =D Which is definitely a better and more straightforward and secure solution.

Life is simple, isn't it? =D

hahahaha yea i never thought of that. thanks man.

:bsmilie: i haven even sent in my 12-24 warranty yet... bought it more than 9mths back.

to be safe get the seller to give u a receipt w/o date of purchase written, of cos u must be super regular or close frd to the seller

Sometime seller leave it to buyer to enter purchase date... Does the manufacturer examine your receipt and realize that the date was written using a different ink and writing and void your warranty :dunno:

maybe b4 claiming warranty, touch wood go back to seller and ask him write down the date;)

fill it up within the first year end should be safe bah... :)

Even seller himself may write differently after few months and ink different :sweatsm: not very safe oso :bsmilie: Too many of such tactics in the past... maybe manufactor act blur only

possible too.. as long as the manufacturer can accept it can liao.. hehe..

haha.
aiyah best is to jus hope that nothing happens to my lens la.

haha thanks everyone anyway :)

Find this thread quite amusing the way u guys think....

dont worry lah bro, i never send in my customer portion of warranty cards before.

do u think they will bother to check for yr copy when u send in for service?

even if they check and cant find yr "customer portion" in their office, you only need to say "how would i know if you have file it properly or that the postman did not lose the mail during delivery?

Find this thread quite amusing the way u guys think....

dont worry lah bro, i never send in my customer portion of warranty cards before.

do u think they will bother to check for yr copy when u send in for service?

even if they check and cant find yr "customer portion" in their office, you only need to say "how would i know if you have file it properly or that the postman did not lose the mail during delivery?

agree to yr last statement~~.. it's always singpost mishap..