Underwater Portraits

yep. i dont mind sharing. just kiasu on the air tanks though, don't mind having extra air time...

beivied said:
ok la, one tank each photographer.

1 tank each? a bit too much right?
;) But I will not make it difficult for the organiser

wait... i think i must say, i don't have a choice, i HAVE to rent!

for those who know me, you know why i said so haha... :bsmilie:

hey wait. i think like this la. i rent one full set barang barang - bcd, fins, mask, reg, weights, tank. :) would like to get some more time IN water, not shooting nem'mind. gotta work on my buoyancy :bsmilie:

lanxx said:
1 tank each? a bit too much right?
;) But I will not make it difficult for the organiser

requested ma.. :)

i didnt check the tank as to how much air i consumed myself, but generally, fastshot's tank went empty (dunno how much air left), sehsuan's left 500psi, mine left 200-250psi after sharing with airforce1....

sehsuan said:
wait... i think i must say, i don't have a choice, i HAVE to rent!

for those who know me, you know why i said so haha... :bsmilie:

hey wait. i think like this la. i rent one full set barang barang - bcd, fins, mask, reg, weights, tank. :) would like to get some more time IN water, not shooting nem'mind. gotta work on my buoyancy :bsmilie:

you can do that if you want, i guess... just remember not to get into the view and way of the photographers and models...

beivied said:

i didnt check the tank as to how much air i consumed myself, but generally, fastshot's tank went empty (dunno how much air left), sehsuan's left 500psi, mine left 200-250psi after sharing with airforce1....

fastshot should be fast-breathe! ;)

don't worry, i'll opt to stay in the water all the time, since can hardly make full use of the air in the tanks anyway. i can help to make a bubbling effect with the water too! :bsmilie:

One tank for each photog is enough as there will be ample opportunity to shoot more. Next time will do more reshoot if I did not get the right pose. Models be prepare for the best shots portfolio as I am bringing portrait lense plus two strobes.

Any one got spare color bed sheet to use as backdrop?

portrait lens for land or uw use?

airforce1 said:
One tank for each photog is enough as there will be ample opportunity to shoot more. Next time will do more reshoot if I did not get the right pose. Models be prepare for the best shots portfolio as I am bringing portrait lense plus two strobes.

Any one got spare color bed sheet to use as backdrop?

whoa....... full force liao!!!

airforce, you dun need more air.. you need more film! :bsmilie:

beivied said:

I thought I got about 25 bars left, was pretty sure not empty. Anyway it was mini tanks and not the regular sized ones which actually was alot easier to get in/out of the pool. I must warn the new participants that once you jump in and see the babes modelling in the water, you sure pant heavily and suck up all the air in no time :bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

For what it's worth, alot of my shots were wasted early on because of poor understanding of when the model is actually ready for the shot. The long lag time between shots for the camera to clear it's buffer also didn't help. Once the rhythm got going, and the flash balancing got sorted out, there were better shots. A good strobe will be necessary.

We had alot of discussions about the girls' clothings - what work and what don't. So the upcoming shoot should see improvements.

I think shooting at night will be very challenging because the camera AF gets very iffy in the darkness. Unless there are controllable spot lights over the pool. To eliminate the lines in the pool, one suggestion is for the photographers to shoot upwards from the bottom without the model so as to get a selection of backgrounds, then use your PS skills to replace the background layer. That's the one thing I forgot to do during the first shoot.

Join, join --- very fun one!!

about costume, yep yep ... definitely will see improvement ;) ;)

if we have a "night dive", do we need AOWD minimum? :bsmilie:

cannot AF? i use my uk40 for you to af, then happy firing away! later model kenna blinded, and get vertigo...

sehsuan said:
portrait lens for land or uw use?

Intend to used 24-70 mm F2.8 or back to the basic Nikonos III with 35mm or 24mm lenses.

Hmm anyone has suggestions for portraits lense underwater?

beivied said:
hi razor, the swimming pool is just beside the public pool, and as long as you pay your own entry, anyone can go in, so i dun think there should be any problem with that ... you can observe topside, but preferably not in the water, as we want to give the photographers and models enough space and minimize distraction :)

but... please come looking like a swimmer :bsmilie: i dun think NTU would like us to attract too much attention (which we already have with the swimmers there), much less a crowd fully clothed and not there for swimming :)

Oh, thanks! Yeah, will bring my suntan lotion and be at the sides to observe. Thanks for sharing!

you might want to bring, sunBLOCK instead. later you become charcoal from the sun, not nice :p

sehsuan said:
you might want to bring, sunBLOCK instead. later you become charcoal from the sun, not nice :p

:cry: My face is peeling~ Really need to bring sun block the next time round.

Kagetsuki said:

apply alovera milk moisturizer.. it works everytime

i also back and arms burnt... apply the moisturizer a few times a day, and a bit more before you sleep ... :)

Kagetsuki said:

the biggest joke was, i took ONE FULL tube of it over... but i thought, aiyah, no problem one... then monday, i chao-tar also hahah

HaHa~ My colleagues prefer my tanned skin now. HaHa~ BUT SO PAINTFUL! Ah...