Underwater fashion shooting?

For such shallow shots I believe they would use external light sources by the pool and filters for the camera. Cause using strobes at the surface will usually blow out any details if the shoot is during the day.

Astin said:
Ok here comes the serious thingie. (I am not a diver so these Qs may seem easy for you guys but difficult for me to understand)

Q1: I presume the model will wear bikini or T-shirt, not naked right?
Q2: Will the model submerge totally inside the water or swim on the water?
Q3: Will the photog and the camera be inside the water or outside & above the water?
Q4: Assuming I can get the model and the private swimming pool, what should I do with the light? Or you guys will use giant torch light or underwater flash?

More later, need to think.....

1. most likely, bikini clad. not nude la. if nude, the model releases will be a BIG stack... if have those soft soft cloth etc, like those in the photos of Howard Schatz, better still. can add to the "weightlessness" look. :) but not ruling out the possibility of "flowy" clothing either, that can compliment a virtual "flying" look.

2. totally submerged. because if we're taking surface shots... anyone can do it. remember, this is the *underwater photography* group... :bsmilie:

3. *underwater photography* forum - do you think the photographer will be out of water or underwater? :D

4. would need strobes/softboxes exterior above the water. i'm trying to figure out more.

frankly, how comfortable a model can be underwater is very important. otherwise you'll see red eyes, out-of-breath look... and the main limitation is, how well can a model stop breathing... how many can do it leh, i also :dunno:

astin, i think now you know why i'm not that interested in land-based model shoots... :cool:

actually, got more logistics to think about. like air tankS/bcd/regular/mask for the photos.... :cry:

for lighting, not possible to work with just strobes?

btw, i am totally clueless about land based photography, although i still aspire to shoot like a FHM photographer

kthan said:
for lighting, not possible to work with just strobes?

btw, i am totally clueless about land based photography, although i still aspire to shoot like a FHM photographer

i sure hope you're not talking about underwater strobes... :D

Jus_a_Nick said:
ya i think i saw better ones b4, the concept and style is coolz.
but to those who intended to try,
do take note tat you need a number of power lights to shoot through the water. 1 or 2 x 1500watts lights would not be enough.
and then, if i am not wrong, it is not normal water(or water w chorine for tat matter). those "water" dun come cheap if my memory dun fail me. (not to mention you need to fill a pool)

anywei i am not into this kinda thingy so my info might be wrong anywei...=p
cheerz.

Will be interested to which other other photographers have gone into this in as big a way as Howard Schatz. The pool series represented a major milestone of his works and certainly set him apart from his peers. His first underwater book is called "WaterDance" which was so well received that he continued a second project which resulted in "Pool Light". Up to now I am still in awe by the dedication (not just him) but the models as well just to capture those shots. BTW, he auditioned over 400 models for this project and for WaterDance - alot of them are actual ballerinas from the San Franciso Ballet.

The following are some extracts from his books:

"..the making of these images is a complex and multifaceted undertaking. You don't just jump in a pool and go. In order to make images like those you see here, you need total control of every variable, from the temperature and the chemistry and clarity of the water to the lighting and the film, the quantity of air in your lungs, and the ability to fight the tendency of your body to relax in the warm comfort of soothing water in a beautiful swimming pool.

The pool in which we work is ozonated, not clorinated, so the eyes won't burn. The chemistry is tested almost hourly several days to shooting, to make sure the pH level is exactly 74. The temperature is kept at 90-92 degrees farenheit to ensure that the models (and the photographer) can work comfortably for hours in the water. Ten-thousand watt-seconds of strobe light are flashed into the pool through a system of radio transmission synch-triggered by the underwater camera. The makeup for the models must be checked with every dip...And then there are the models. It looks easy when you see the end results in these pictures, but there are very few people who can do this; imagine yourself standing on the bottom of a swimming pool, hands on your hips like a model walking on the runway, smiling at the camera which you cannot see because, although you have your eyes open, you aren't wearing goggles-you're only pretending to look and smile for the camera....."

Some other technical details for the shoot. Schatz uses no scuba equipment - just goggles and he holds his breath just all his models underwater. The strobes that he uses are Balcars. Cameras are Nikonos RS with 20-35mm and asselblad with the Gates/Petersen housing.

Enuff said...the man rocks.

thanks for the information, xplorer2.

do you have either books?

Ha ha I think the fun part is to see if we can get anywhere close with a fraction of the cost. Or all of us can goto layang layang for a dive and use the resorts pool as it is filled with distilled water ;)

sehsuan said:
1. most likely, ....actually, got more logistics to think about. like air tankS/bcd/regular/mask for the photos.... :cry:

To summarize:
We want:
1. model will dress in bikini, and add some flowery soft (silky?) clothes that will flow.
2. model need to submerge totally inside water, no mask, hold her breath, open her eyes for a few seconds. (to make it easier for model, can you consider to allow her to wear a face mask and air-tank as well? Maybe after she get the idea, the 2nd time we can try no mask, no air-tank.)
3. photog will also submerge inside water, mask?, air-tank? and what camera you guys will use?
4. my studio light need something to trigger, either a remote or a cable, and and it is running on 10A/1000W, so I think a bit dangerous to set near the swimming pool. We will need to rent some "hot light" which do not need trigger, and flood the pool with light.

Did I get these right?

Astin said:
To summarize:
We want:
1. model will dress in bikini, and add some flowery soft (silky?) clothes that will flow.
2. model need to submerge totally inside water, no mask, hold her breath, open her eyes for a few seconds. (to make it easier for model, can you consider to allow her to wear a face mask and air-tank as well? Maybe after she get the idea, the 2nd time we can try no mask, no air-tank.)
3. photog will also submerge inside water, mask?, air-tank? and what camera you guys will use?
4. my studio light need something to trigger, either a remote or a cable, and and it is running on 10A/1000W, so I think a bit dangerous to set near the swimming pool. We will need to rent some "hot light" which do not need trigger, and flood the pool with light.

Did I get these right?

1. yup. pretty much spot on.
2. haha.. no one will get using a tank now :D
3. photog no more need tank lor! ;) camera -> existing u/w digital PnS... not sure if any of the ppl here have Nikonos' or not...
4. getting location will be terok... need pool ma. frankly i've no idea about how to set it up myself. any possibility of an optical trigger that supports preflash? most likely, a full time hotlight would be the only choice.

thankfully for the post by xplorer2, yep it does seem a lot easier now that keeping the photographer(s) submerged is NOT a requirement... :D

i'd thought that i'd read somewhere that Howard holds his breath to shoot too, because i think i have a little 30 second video clip of him doing so... thanks to xplorer2 for the clarification - it's very helpful indeed!

hope the costs etc can be worked out, but it seems that the regular land photographer group wouldn't be joining um... underwater.... :p

sehsuan said:
OT, how much did you get them for? ;)

Cannot remember how much I paid for WaterDance. Pool Light was about $130.

xplorer2 said:
Cannot remember how much I paid for WaterDance. Pool Light was about $130.

golly, that's BIG money! :what:

possible to go to your place to look look see see? :D

eh when organizing ah? i don't mind go meet the models leh

lovells19 said:
eh when organizing ah? i don't mind go meet the models leh

i should get a sledgehammer and hantam lovells19... :bsmilie:

Astin, how's the response from your models?

meanwhile... how many people are interested to arrange this shoot? if only me, then i will go pok-gai one...

eh got name doesn't mean confirm yet, must protect myself also first :D
1. sehsuan

I am interested but I think all we need is a lamp by the pool because we do have the equipment to send ttl info from our camera to the flash.

Sorry typo error, do not have equipment to send ttl info to the flash. Perhaps we need to source for some decent matching goggles, cause the pool water will make the models eyes turn red in no time.

very interesting. O_O if organising, can i go and observe? :D (poor student, surely no money to pay for the shoot one. ^_^; )

vonvonz said:
very interesting. O_O if organising, can i go and observe? :D (poor student, surely no money to pay for the shoot one. ^_^; )

/me takes hammer and taps vonvonz's head :D

eh, frankly ah, dont know how the $$$ and pool and logistics can be worked out. i also no pay from jan to may, somemore... no savings... :cry:

but if can, i think i can find some other way to make it one :)

sehsuan said:
/me takes hammer and taps vonvonz's head :D

eh, frankly ah, dont know how the $$$ and pool and logistics can be worked out. i also no pay from jan to may, somemore... no savings... :cry:

but if can, i think i can find some other way to make it one :)

ah yeah follow me lah
we start up underwater model agency,

cheap cheap
in pool we charge

trunks and sunblock $30/hr
with wetsuit and gear $45/hr
with flowery flowery dress $70/hr lah. make up not included.

open water we do also
+trip amount to the existing charges.

you want fat one also got (me) you want skinny one also got (sehsuan)

so any takers? kekekekeke
call now! 1900-uwmodel 1900-8966335
book early to avoid disappointment. :P