TZ1 - When are u arriving?

hmmm ISO 800 still looks very little noise :thumbsup:

Otherwise, the results are quite good under normal lighting conditions. (no PS)

F2.8, 1/60
ISO 80
Handheld with flash
No PS or Neat Image processing.

test.jpg

$600 for 10X zoom sounds reasonable to me.

If got more moolah, then get the FZ7 cos got manual controls!!

The iso 800 mode uses pixel binning but they do a stupid thing and extrapolate it back to full res. Its noise free and also detail free....

I gian liao, 2molo go check out! :bsmilie: May not be as small as the Kodak V610 (or wadever its called) but problem is the Kodak uses digital IS which some have said are inferior. As long as the TZ1 isn't that big, I think its a good cam for that price lah. Sub $700 with 10x optical, and if you reduce to 3MP, you can even force out 12.5x optical. Combine that with digital zoom & you get 50x total, though I doubt you can see sh*t with that. :o Nevertheless, 12.5x optical at 3MP is more than I'll ever need.

Latest offerings:

Alan Photo $600, Song Bro $609. But with Song Bro must know how to ask lah. ;)

Have bought this cam & here's my 3 peso's worth. Firstly, I'm a camera noob so chances are I'm easily satisfied. Secondly, I know the quality of the pics aren't great but as I said, I'm a noob.

I'm not qualified to do a review, so this is just my 3 peso's worth regarding the IS, as there's been some debate as to whether its really any use or not. And any noob (esp one with shaky hands like moi) might find this useful if he's considering the TZ-1.

For those who are wondering if the Mega OIS really work, yes it does. I'm infamous for shaky hands & with mode 2 enabled, I was even able to take a pic at 50x digital with little blurring. When I was viewing the pic in the LCD, anything above 10x was shaking like mad. 50x was like a damn tornado! Was expecting the 50x pic to be super blur, but as you can see from below, it was actually quite ok. At least for my standard :-p

In 5 megapixel mode, max optical zoom is 10x. If you lower to 3mp or less, you can go up till 12.5x optical. Okay, here are the pics. For what its worth, I live on the 9th floor.

First one. 3mp, no zoom used.
x1hqnp.jpg

3mp, 12.5x optical.
x1hr89.jpg

3mp, 20x optical/digital.
x1hr9h.jpg

3mp, 50x optical/digital.
x1hslx.jpg

Must say I'm quite happy with it. The IS worked like a charm, I've got some serious zooming power & its reasonably compact too.

Just got mine *bundled with Kingston 512b SD at Song's Brother for 630 incl gst. Also paid an extra 65 for a 1gb Kingston Card and Screen Protector.

Just took a few shots and really enjoying the convenience of P&S.

Will take some pics and share soon.:D

Wah, at 20x zoom (optical + digital), still quite ok hor?

digitalbuff said:
Just got mine *bundled with Kingston 512b SD at Song's Brother for 630 incl gst. Also paid an extra 65 for a 1gb Kingston Card and Screen Protector.

Just took a few shots and really enjoying the convenience of P&S.

Will take some pics and share soon.:D
I got mine from Song too. First guy quoted me $580 before tax. When I went back, another guy quoted me $699. :o I gave him a wide eyed look & began walking out. The first guy then whispered to him & he came running back with some lame excuse & offered $580 before GST.

Did you pay $65 for a 1GB card or did you "upgrade" the bundled 512MB for $65? Because the guy who tended to me tried to convince me to "upgrade" my 512MB to 1GB and quoted me $40. Felt it wasn't worth it 'cos MS Color now got promotion, only $44 for 1GB. Some more his "upgrade" means you give him your 512 in exchange for 1GB and pay $40 hor. Not worth sia! That's why I rather take the bundled 512 and go MS Color to buy the 1GB for $44.

Speaking of which, there's a shop in Funan (PM me if you want to know the name) which quoted me $609 with GST but insists there is no SD card bundled. Dunno are they genuinely blur or acting blur. If you don't want to include the SD card, at least lower the price lah. Basket, same price and some more no SD card.

wrx_sti_22b said:
Wah, at 20x zoom (optical + digital), still quite ok hor?
Surprisingly even the 50x is quite ok. Expected it to be blurry like hell but no leh. ;)

More pics. These have been resized to 640x480 for the benefits of those with small screens. Pics were taken at Sentosa. Those who've gone before will be familiar with the al fresco area of Coffee Bean, the one overlooking the sea. Well I was there in action with my zoom.

Once again, I'm no pro & these pics are more to show how good the zoom & OIS is.

xbwsva.jpg

Clock tower with no zoom. Can barely make it out.

xbwuo7.jpg

10x optical. Much nearer & you can see the time quite clearly.

xbwuwz.jpg

40x optical/digital. Very very near & the time is very obvious.

xbww1e.jpg

Once again, 40x optical/digital. You can even see the words on the boat. I couldn't even see those words with my naked eyes so it shows you how good the zoom is.

Mode 2 OIS was used. Considering how infamous I am for shaky hands & blurred images, this is really amazing.

i think you can read the words with just optical zoom alone as well (without resizing). its kind of pointless to use digital zoom and then do a resize again. this will just cancel out the digital zoom effect. i think a better way to compare digital zoom usage is to post a 10x optical zoom unresized but cropped and one 40x zoom with digital zoom unresized but cropped. this will truely bring out how well ois work

just my 2c

cathay price is S$570 w/o GST

wheek said:
Did you pay $65 for a 1GB card or did you "upgrade" the bundled 512MB for $65? Because the guy who tended to me tried to convince me to "upgrade" my 512MB to 1GB and quoted me $40. Felt it wasn't worth it 'cos MS Color now got promotion, only $44 for 1GB. Some more his "upgrade" means you give him your 512 in exchange for 1GB and pay $40 hor. Not worth sia! That's why I rather take the bundled 512 and go MS Color to buy the 1GB for $44.

$65 for a separate 1gb SD card.

digitalbuff said:
wheek said:

$65 for a separate 1gb SD card.
Prices dropped liao. Active Foto (SLS) selling 1GB regular Kingston for $36.40. 1GB Kingston Elite Pro is $45, 1GB Kingston Ultimate is $49.40.

do you guys find the shot-to-shot rather sluggish ?
tested one at BEST and it takes a some time, not very long but
longer than current crop of point n shoot

I 've been poisoned by samples you guys guys have posted. Makes me want to get one TZ1 right now.Just imagine I bought my FZ1 + 128MB in 2003 at $700. Now the TZ1 cost $6++ with 512MB and look at the improvement in image! Tell me can I don't buy or not?:bsmilie:
I have one question TZ1 owners , how is the video quality when played on a TV set?

Haven't ventured into video yet. Its using Apple QT codec so I guess it should be quite ok as far as digicams go.

And no, I don't find the shot to shot sluggish. Then again, I'm usually more concerned about zoom & IS so maybe I didn't notice.

Oh one thing, I tested it at night. Tried taking pics of the block opposite my flat. It wasn't total darkness but as expected, 50x or even 40x digital at night came out rather bad even with OIS on & me resting both elbows on a solid surface. At night I would say max you can go is 12.5x optical & I wouldn't recommend any digital zoom at all. But as you can see from my samples, during the day even 50x digital is pretty solid. Was most impressed by that boat I snapped. In real life it was so damn far I couldn't even see the markings.

Other TZ1 users post your pics leh.

Wife wants a camera that can stamp date on photo prints. Does TZ1 have that function? My present camera cannon A85 can only print date for the lowest resolution.