Total Eclipse July 22 2009 - The Eclipse of the Century

OMG..!!!!

Tomorrow weather forecast show will be rain here....(BTW not SG)..
Sian liao...!! :cry:

Buy an airticket from Chengdu to Wuhan around 8am... enjoy the longest duration more than 6 mins and nothing blocks you from the Eclipse;)

I'm not a die hard fan on Eclipse...

But I have a friend he is a hardcore Eclipse fan (I don't know how you name him)
he fly over to Shang Hai, just to see the Eclipse and the weather forecast show tomorrow is raining in Shang Hai too.... Pity for him now... :cry:

Probably a stupid question, but I don't have a solar filter, will a CPL suffice?

nope it wont help. try to dig for a diskette and remove the "black paper" inside. it'll help. thats what i did during the february solar..

Thanks for the tip.
Luckily I just found one remaining diskette in my whole house! :o

Hmm okay im growing a lil concern because im hearing warnings to not take apicture of a an eclipse with out the solar filter, so lets say I dont have one, and im on a Nikon DX...all i gotta do is use the black paper of the disket and place it infront of my lens? What will happen anyway to the camera if it doesnt have the solar filter?

I'm using a Nikon D40 and also concerned about that...which is why I plan to use a CPL in addition to the diskette film just in case.

and i also wanna know if i could shoot from water reflection?
There's a big 'pond' downstairs,tot wanna make use of it. Can or not huh?:think:

i tried shooting with just my lens witohut anything last february, wont be able to see the slor eclipse without the diskette cos too bright. or maybe becuase its a partial? anw, tmls is a partial one, wont see the full thing. so sad :(

and i also wanna know if i could shoot from water reflection?
There's a big 'pond' downstairs,tot wanna make use of it. Can or not huh?:think:

"Palanggana Method
Using a tub of water to reflect sunlight, even if the bottom is black, is not safe to observe the eclipse with. Water has a reflectivity of 5%. That is, it reflects 5% while allowing 95% to pass through. While this seems small, it is still 5000 times bigger than the 0.00001 considered to be safe for solar observation."

I guess the answer is no.

Also, the diskette film is a ring...guess I have some cutting to do, unless there's another way to work round this. :think:

i managed to see the total eclipse more than ten years ago in Sarawak.. very interesting.. Wondering when can view it again and took a great photo of it...

yaya....i remember about 10 years back i oso c the eclipse in sabah b4...tat time at sabah kudat a lot of ang mo go there n take photo..... and we as a normal people oso kepo lah....a lot of our kampong ppl use the used silm stack 4 to 5 pcs and view, for out family we use a piece of class which people burn those metal use to put on the mask 1, we use tat to view....is very nice ...tat time the eclipse take about halg hr to complete is i din remember wrongly....if use naked eye to c ah....really very eye pain oh....better dun, and eventhough use those used film or watever filter oso, try nt to c trhoug too long hours...nt good for the eyes....nt worth it lah....eyes are very precious to use...:nono:

Raining here in CLEMENTI/WEST COAST..
Time now is 6.30am.. :(

Hopes rain stop in time to see the eclipse..

Rainning and cloudly sky in Woodlands area.... luckily I didn't try to go and buy a ND filter for the event.

It is stil raining over here at Tuas , time 8.09am , every thing ready to go , just waiting for the main character to appear :bsmilie:

watch tv now..

china people they so free, maybe today is public holiday for them haha

Rainning and cloudly sky in Woodlands area.... luckily I didn't try to go and buy a ND filter for the event.

Woodlands cloudy and overcast (I'm at RP).. 8.52am..
Can't see eclipse.. :(

total washout in Singapore! :cry:
Hope our brothers and sisters are doing better in China and India ...