Toa Payoh / Bishan / Ang Mo Kio Shooters

Ah... nevermind my question. I'll go first hand instead. After-sales service would be very useful for a newbie like myself. Also, I just checked ou the DSLR prices in this forum. MS Color sells a 40D kit I at 1535 only inclusive of GST. Its still too expensive for me. I'll go for a 450D with a grip. I guess its better I save this money for a lens.

One more question. Should I get the kit lens? Or should I get the body only and get a lens seperately?

Which lens is most suitable for a beginner? I read that EF 50mm f/1.8 II is a great prime lens for a beginner. Is that true?
I dun like the idea of anyone new going straight into prime lens... reason is... if you have a tele (say 17-85mm) you can play abit before determining which end u commonly shot with. If u have an inclination towards 17mm, or a downright landscape person... u know what lens u need lah (surely not the 50mm F1.8)

Kit I is not too bad... 18-55mm right? But I prefer the 17-85mm IS USM. Have not tried the 18-200mm but sure sounds tempting.

I have used the 18-55mm kit lens before. (Strictly) personal opinion is, not quite sharp. Haven't tried the 2 other kit lenses though. Then again, maybe it's just me, cos I am mostly a macro shooter.

Which lens is most suitable for a beginner? I read that EF 50mm f/1.8 II is a great prime lens for a beginner. Is that true?

EF 50mm f/1.8 II on a 450D is not of a "standard" focal length, it's a medium tele at 80mm. I think regardless of which kit lens you choose it is always good to have this little gem. Cheap, fast and very sharp. A good portrait lens.

I have used the 18-55mm kit lens before. (Strictly) personal opinion is, not quite sharp. Haven't tried the 2 other kit lenses though. Then again, maybe it's just me, cos I am mostly a macro shooter.

Thanks for your input! :thumbsup: In that case, which zoom lens would you recommend, that's sharp and yet as versatile? No point spending $200 on something I'm not going to like.

I dun like the idea of anyone new going straight into prime lens... reason is... if you have a tele (say 17-85mm) you can play abit before determining which end u commonly shot with. If u have an inclination towards 17mm, or a downright landscape person... u know what lens u need lah (surely not the 50mm F1.8)

Kit I is not too bad... 18-55mm right? But I prefer the 17-85mm IS USM. Have not tried the 18-200mm but sure sounds tempting.

I see. Thanks for the advice! You seem to not like the 50mm F1.8 quite a lot. :think: Any particular reason?

Dun get me wrong.. I have a 50mm F1.4 (thou not a F1.8)

Prime has its power.. but like what u said yourself, why should u waste $200 on something u do not like. But prior to that, how do u gauge if u would like that kinda focusing length. So a kit lens is somethings that you won't waste too much while in your primary trials. kit do not make u feel tat they worth 500 bucks or more but.. they allow u an exploration to understand yourself...

I wont brush some lens off as no good - for each lens has a character to explore. You do not want to have sharp images all the time (else there would not be soft focusing lens or filters). I am simply saying that after u play with the kit.. u decide then which prime is in best suit to your needs.

Cheerios.

hi all,

i also from ang mo kio too, hope to join in for some outing soon. :)

regards,
Chee Yong

Dun get me wrong.. I have a 50mm F1.4 (thou not a F1.8)

Prime has its power.. but like what u said yourself, why should u waste $200 on something u do not like. But prior to that, how do u gauge if u would like that kinda focusing length. So a kit lens is somethings that you won't waste too much while in your primary trials. kit do not make u feel tat they worth 500 bucks or more but.. they allow u an exploration to understand yourself...

I wont brush some lens off as no good - for each lens has a character to explore. You do not want to have sharp images all the time (else there would not be soft focusing lens or filters). I am simply saying that after u play with the kit.. u decide then which prime is in best suit to your needs.

Cheerios.

Alrighty. I get your point loud and clear. :) Shall stick to the kit lens for a start. Maybe get a 50mm or 100mm macro after some time. I love macos :D

Anyway, thanks for your time bro. Hope to learn more from you in time to come. :thumbsup:

hi all,

regards,
Chee Yong

Hi chee yong, you're in clubsnap too! And you stay in AMK! Cool. I saw your flower shots in aquaticquotient. Maybe some day we can arrange for some fish photography.:)

Alrighty. I get your point loud and clear. :) Shall stick to the kit lens for a start. Maybe get a 50mm or 100mm macro after some time. I love macos :D

Anyway, thanks for your time bro. Hope to learn more from you in time to come. :thumbsup:

Ha.. dun mean any confusion... hope it helps.

hi all,

regards,
Chee Yong

See u in a shoot soon. :)

Hi chee yong, you're in clubsnap too! And you stay in AMK! Cool. I saw your flower shots in aquaticquotient. Maybe some day we can arrange for some fish photography.:)

Hi, oh you in aquatic quotient too ? i haven't been maintaining my fish tank for quite awhile.

See u in a shoot soon. :)

Yup. :)

Any shoot on Saturday morning???

3046019292_0eae357737.jpg

We have plenty awaiting us near home or in the nature reserve.

Just to suggest a couple:-

1. Sungei Buloh Reserve
2. Venus Drive
3. Bishan Park
4. Lower Pierce Reservior
5. Ponggol Beach Sunrise...

toss in your idea buddies... site rest sometime liao.. :)

1. Sungei Buloh Reserve
2. Venus Drive
3. Bishan Park

Hi

Me gg to Sungei Buloh with 2 Jiao frens at 7am on Sat...
but me do macro.... no long lens lar...

Hey guys any shoots going on???

I haven't been to Sungei Buloh before. Will want to try that place. Then again for Venus, do u guys drive all the way in? The last few times I went there with Lotus, ONB and The Pro, we were at the Pavillion only.

3046019292_0eae357737.jpg

1. Sungei Buloh Reserve
2. Venus Drive
3. Bishan Park

Hi

Me gg to Sungei Buloh with 2 Jiao frens at 7am on Sat...
but me do macro.... no long lens lar...

when we went that time was at the carpark that area walk in

proposing ...
Orchard christmas lighting?
date : 30 nov 08
time : meet for dinner then proceed to shoot christmas lighting

1.bluspoon

i need to go walking in nature...not shooting...:what: