Third party wide angle zoom lens that is sharp at f2.8

Oooo D3X huh?

yaa... ppl at dpreview are waiting for KRW's review too.

KRW said the D200 'supercede' D2X mah and thus D2X is obsolete. Nikon is set to announce the D3X soon. now everyone is waiting for our CS idol, KRW, to do a hands-on review.

can't hardly wait! ;p

go kenny boy go go go!!

Cheesecake said:
yaa... ppl at dpreview are waiting for KRW's review too.

KRW said the D200 'supercede' D2X mah and thus D2X is obsolete. Nikon is set to announce the D3X soon. now everyone is waiting for our CS idol, KRW, to do a hands-on review.

can't hardly wait! ;p

go kenny boy go go go!!
Like that D200 will be obselete?

Walao.. buy too early liao lah.. :( Dun buy dun buy.. D3X come out will be obsolete again when Nikon come out with D4X...

It's about 8 years between the flagships for film, then digital become shorter and shorter...

F - 1962
F2 - 1971
F3 - 1980
F4 - 1988
F5 - 1996
F6 - 2004

D1 - 1999
D1x - 2001
D2H - 2003
D2X - 2004

Only 3 years between the D1X and D2X.... D3X will probably debut next year.. 2007? :(( Think shuold go back to film, cheaper.. caress more.. shoot less..

dunno abt D200 or F6 or D3X la...

KRW never mentioned abt D200 being obsolete as of yet.
but am waiting for his review on the D3X!;p

Cheesecake said:
dunno abt D200 or F6 or D3X la...

KRW never mentioned abt D200 being obsolete as of yet.
but am waiting for his review on the D3X!;p
Maybe it's F7? F8?

KRW knows best. by the way, still no D3X review. i jus checked. fans of Mr.Nikon, pls be patient.

jus re-read his fantastic in-depth review on the wide lenses comparison.

Nikkor AFS12-24 is tops. i nearly fell off my chair when he said that the Canon's 10-22 is a beta buy.

dang! gotta find an adaptor to mount the EOS lens onto my Fuji S2!

if ken says its good enough for his professional use, it sure is enough for my newbie use!:thumbsup:

Cheesecake said:
i nearly fell off my chair when he said that the Canon's 10-22 is a beta buy.

ya, bcoz of that statement it got someone in the C camp or rather someone who is working in C all happy & excited.

oh u use S2 one ah? how is the DR? :bsmilie:

Cheesecake said:
if its AFS Nikkor, and topped with a pro body, the focusing will be faster.

don't understand ur meaning of 'fast' in this instance.
f2.8-4 seems pretty good to me. for use in an event, ISO400 or 800, with aperture at f5.6 or f4, i think pretty good for wide angle coverage.

AFS17-55 f2.8 is considered a professional grade lens. it is fast, f2.8, and focusing is really dependent on body used.

i think u might be ill-informed on the term 'fast'. or perhaps ur understanding of 'fast' is totally different from some of us here.

Is the lens sharp at f2.8, for the Sigma 17-35mm f2.8-4?

keany said:
is the lens focusing fast enough under low light?
Yes it is. I am using it with my D2X and it is pretty fast. It will of course be slightly slower than shooting in daylight but it is still fast enough for all the shoots that I have done. I have no problems whatsoever in shooting with this lens in low light but not with it's competition brand. Even on my D100 it still focuses fast, just that the D100 autofocus sensor tend to miss focus more often under low lighting.

markccm said:
ya, bcoz of that statement it got someone in the C camp or rather someone who is working in C all happy & excited.

oh u use S2 one ah? how is the DR? :bsmilie:
ya, i'm very excited too. i'm searching for the adaptor to mount on Nikon!
dare i say it, i'm even going to K-Thirteen to get the adaptor! i'd be shot!

hehehe

S2 is fantastic! DR is out of this world! but KRW says it sux so i'm upgrading to D200, the new Nikon flagship cammie.:thumbsup:

KRW go go go!

Andy Ho said:
Yes it is. I am using it with my D2X and it is pretty fast. It will of course be slightly slower than shooting in daylight but it is still fast enough for all the shoots that I have done. I have no problems whatsoever in shooting with this lens in low light but not with it's competition brand. Even on my D100 it still focuses fast, just that the D100 autofocus sensor tend to miss focus more often under low lighting.
wa seh andy, like tat cannot leh...

any lens is faster and beta on the D2X!!! :bsmilie:
the AFS17-55 is 100% sharper than the Tamron 17-35 f2.8-4. otherwise, how to justify the price tag?

only the Tamron 28-75 is good, if u manage to get a good copy. u can consider this lens and get the Nikkor 12-24.

Cheesecake said:
wa seh andy, like tat cannot leh...

any lens is faster and beta on the D2X!!! :bsmilie:
the AFS17-55 is 100% sharper than the Tamron 17-35 f2.8-4. otherwise, how to justify the price tag?

only the Tamron 28-75 is good, if u manage to get a good copy. u can consider this lens and get the Nikkor 12-24.
If it's fast on D2X, it'd be faster on D200, cos KRW says D200 obseletes D2X!!! D200 rulez! :thumbsup:

every D2X owner mux upgrade to a D200. :thumbsup: heheeee

2100 said:
It's usually the longer end that is not as sharp. Eg my tamron 28-75 is pretty sharp at f2.8 for 28mm, i blew several up to 12 by 18 for demo to my wedding clients, D200 10MP. Individual strands of the hair of the couples (taken full length portrait) still can be seen and made out. Contrast sucks a bit, but with a little PP, as long as the end result looks nice, they won't care lar.

But 75mm sucks (still ok for 4R). heh....

Just think about it and it makes sense.

But my Tm28-75 seems to be very, very sharp even at the long end, at 75 leh. So sharp that I don't want to do any USM on the image. Much sharper than I expect. After taking the portrait, I showed the model, she was so surprised to see every flaw she has on the face! I told her not to worry - I will soften it a wee bit in PS.

Cheesecake said:
every D2X owner mux upgrade to a D200. :thumbsup: heheeee
But I don't have D2X!!! How???? I cannot upgrade to D200??? :(

smallaperture said:
But my Tm28-75 seems to be very, very sharp even at the long end, at 75 leh. So sharp that I don't want to do any USM on the image. Much sharper than I expect. After taking the portrait, I showed the model, she was so surprised to see every flaw she has on the face! I told her not to worry - I will soften it a wee bit in PS.
u've gotten a very good copy. congrats!

but wait till u tried a Angenieux AF28-70 f2.6. :thumbsup:

But I don't have D2X!!! How???? I cannot upgrade to D200??? :(
nvm,
dun buy dun upgrade. wait for the D3X liao la. Nikon goin to release is soon and KRW yet to give his greenlight on the D3X.
i'm waiting for his review! :thumbsup:

KRW... rocks!

Cheesecake said:
nvm,
dun buy dun upgrade. wait for the D3X liao la. Nikon goin to release is soon and KRW yet to give his greenlight on the D3X.
i'm waiting for his review! :thumbsup:

KRW... rocks!
But what if D200 still wins D3X???? :dunno: Then I forever no need to upgrade :cry:

Cheesecake said:
u've gotten a very good copy. congrats!

but wait till u tried a Angenieux AF28-70 f2.6. :thumbsup:

Angenieux - sounds like Frenchie - I love anything Frenchie, becos I learnt how to make love in France. :bsmilie: Understand that Tokina copied that design, dunno how true that is. If I ever can try it and get it, sure I will. Anyhow, I am very, very happy with my Tm28-75, except for the stupid focusing ring that turns during AF - a somewhat ancient design.

smallaperture said:
Angenieux - sounds like Frenchie - I love anything Frenchie, becos I learnt how to make love in France. :bsmilie: Understand that Tokina copied that design, dunno how true that is. If I ever can try it and get it, sure I will. Anyhow, I am very, very happy with my Tm28-75, except for the stupid focusing ring that turns during AF - a somewhat ancient design.

Angenieux is a french brand and it used to make top lenses for Leica mounts and this Nikon Fmount AF lens. Tokina's version... yes, they bought the design over. but they never really did re-produce it as good as the Angenieux's. maybe only the AF28-70 f2.6-2.8 is worth any mentioning as it is the direct copy of the Angenieux. still... it falls quite a way behind the Angenieux.

keep ur tamron. not many like urs. :thumbsup: