Thinking of getting a Rangefinder

kree

I'm thinking of getting a rangefinder soon, but am quite confused about the system (currently a 35mm slr user)
Some Questions:
1. What's the price range like? Are all rangefinders expensive like Leicas? (To my knowledge, I only know of Nikon, Leica and Contax)
2. Are lenses interchangeable among rangefinders, or are the lenses system dependent?

I'm thinking of getting one for better portability, (for street photography and snapshots) so that I need not drag my SLR ard everywhere (it takes up quite some space in the bag)...

Thanx for any recommendations and help! :)

Hello,

You might like to check out this website with regards to what rangefinders you can get today.

http://www.photozone.de/2Equipment/range.htm

http://www.cmpsolv.com/cgi-bin/outp...+Lenses&Sort=1.+overall+Performance&x=99&y=10

The mother of all rangefinder websites.

http://cameraquest.com/index.html

And a little extra something if you want to see what old rangefinders there are available. Just use babel fish to translate what you can't read.

It might be a better idea to read up on what kind of rangefinders that are available before you ask any questions with regards to a rangefinder as it is a totaly different setup, and each brand offers something that the other brand does not offer.

Look for parlin44. He has wide range of russian rangefinder like FED, Kiev and others. His items are mostly of very good condition, and is a knowledgeable and honest seller. I got a FED 2 from him and never regret it.:D

How much on average does it cost to buy one of the Russian Leica copies in Singapore? I'm in UK right now before I go back in July and hope I can find a good price here. Actually, there is a website www.cameramate.com selling authentic Leica copies for US$125-135. It's expensive, but take a look at those cameras, man.....They look very real!

parlin44 has a wide range of bodies, with lots of lenses to choose from, in various condition. I think on average his price would start from abt S$120-? depending on how exotic you want your camera and lens. A user with clean glass? A specially painted limited one? Haha. Give him a call, and you will be amazed by his collection.( not taking commision from him!!! anyway)

Another cheap option is to get a Bessa R with the leica threat mount (LTM) and buy used russian rangefinder lenses that uses LTM which are much cheaper, if you juz want to try out.

Hmm...I'll give up the idea of buying it in UK!

kg_yew said:
Another cheap option is to get a Bessa R with the leica threat mount (LTM) and buy used russian rangefinder lenses that uses LTM which are much cheaper, if you juz want to try out.

Pulling up an old thread.... what's the key difference between the lenses using the Leica screw mount versus the (newer?) M mount? Will the rangefinder still be coupled?

alvin said:
Pulling up an old thread.... what's the key difference between the lenses using the Leica screw mount versus the (newer?) M mount? Will the rangefinder still be coupled?

Hi

u can get one of the adapters to mount the screw mount lenses onto the M mount bodies and the rangefinder will still couple perfectly. That is of course provided the lens is made to be coupled with the rangefinder. For example, the Voigtlander 24mm f4 color skopar will not couple, since it is a scale focused lens.

So you can use lenses that are made all the way back in the 1930s on today's newest M mount Leica bodies. Now that's backward compatibility! :)

Yashica Electro 35 GSN or GTN model.

a great and totally underated RF in my opinion. And way, way, way cheaper than a Leica or Bessa.

Thanks Red Dawn.
Is there an adaptor that does it the other way round? To allow M mount on a Bessa R? Bessa R2 costs quite a bit more...

Yashica GSN. Handled one just a few days back, nice, the rangefinder has parallex correction. Too bad the one I held was not working :( For the price of repair + purchase of the nonfunctional GSN i'm sure i could get a working GSN off ebay for much less.

alvin said:
Thanks Red Dawn.
Is there an adaptor that does it the other way round? To allow M mount on a Bessa R? Bessa R2 costs quite a bit more...

Yashica GSN. Handled one just a few days back, nice, the rangefinder has parallex correction. Too bad the one I held was not working :( For the price of repair + purchase of the nonfunctional GSN i'm sure i could get a working GSN off ebay for much less.

saw a few yashicas up for auction at auctions.yahoo.com.sg. You may want to check them out. ;)

sfhuang said:
saw a few yashicas up for auction at auctions.yahoo.com.sg. You may want to check them out. ;)

eh those mostly spoilt ones leh...

read their descriptions know liao...

bessa r would be a good choice to start with, if you looking for new ones, can go john 3:16 in funan it mall, they have quite a lot of bessa stuff

chyeo said:
eh those mostly spoilt ones leh...

read their descriptions know liao...

bessa r would be a good choice to start with, if you looking for new ones, can go john 3:16 in funan it mall, they have quite a lot of bessa stuff

spoilt meh? I don't know .... :embrass:

how's the bessa r? do you have one to sell? :think: :devil: :D

What's the difference between the mount of the Bessa R and R2? One is LTM another is the M mount right? What's the diff?

You can try Cash Converters for a used GSN or GTN. Though some of the units can be spoilt, they're dirt cheap about $12 to $18, good for parts. Those that are "working" are about $50.00. Most if not all of them require a good clean, light seal replacement and fresh batteries.

if you just want to try RFs, suggest you start cheaply. And if you're not happy, at least the hole in your pocket won't hurt so much. Or you can sell them to me. hahaha :D

alvin said:
What's the difference between the mount of the Bessa R and R2? One is LTM another is the M mount right? What's the diff?

It's like comparing pentax M42 screwmount (spotmatic era) and Pentax PK (K1000, MZ-N etc.) Or Canon FD vs Canon EOS.

Same company, different era.

I've used an assortment of rangefinders i.e. Zorki 4, 4k , Bessa L, Bessa R, Canon IVL, Canon 7.

My advice is spend a bit more and get the newer Bessa-R. They go for about US$245 +shipping from cameraquest. Technology makes everything easier to use i.e. more accurate meter, brighter focus , lighter/smaller.

My favourite travel combo is:

Voigtlander 15/4.5
Color-skopar 35/2.5
Leica Elmar 9cm f4

And if I have additional space I will also carry:
jupiter-8, 50/2
Orion 28/6.3

The body + 3 lenses fits nicely in a lowepro field pack no bigger than a waistpouch. The results from these lenses are stunning.

Th R2 using M-mount lenses will be somewhat more expensive to upkeep since M-mount stuff is still pretty pricey ... though you get nicer glass available if you can afford it e.g. nokton 35/1.2, leica ASPH 35/1.4, 50/1.0 , 80/1.4 etc.

Keltzar: thanks! Been seeking difference between the 2 mounts, finally got an answer =)

Q: Are there any russian optics that can provide a 24mm slr-equivalent focal length? I use mainly 50mm and the wide end of my 28-70 zoom. Thanks!