Thinking of D30 and D60.

BirdRobin said:
main reason why ill go for d30 over d60 is the iso cap on the d60... anyone knows what autofocus module the d30 is using? compared to other models?

ah... IIRC, canon DSLRs dun name their AF modules like nikon. :think:

since D30 was canon's first DSLR, there wasn't any models to compare to too. still, from online reviews, i've read abt D30's slight problem focusing in low light (then again, so do most prosumer range of DSLRs... keke...).

haha you are right. btw, i dont really see 'cheap' semi wide angle lEF lenses for 1.6x canon dslrs... the only one i see cannot be used on the d30... the 18-55 EF-s... does anybody know of 18mm zooms that go cheap? 3rd party?

i dont intend to spend alot on lenses for the body, one will do.

just saw the thread on the affordable WA. i guess there are several choices...

1) Canon 10-22mm (blow budget)
2) Tokina 19-35mm (hmmmmm... sounds good at 160 2nd hand???)
3) Siggy 12-24mm (Sigma lens will peel???)

anymore recomendations?

BirdRobin said:

anymore recomendations?

Canon 10-22 is an EFS lens. It can only be used with 300D, 350D, 20D and 30D.
You can also consider Sigma's 18-55 F2.8, Tamron's 19-35 or 17-35 F2.8-4

BirdRobin said:

anymore recomendations?

ah... tokina 19-35 - aka the plastic fantastic! :bsmilie: had this lens when i used to have canon. eventually sold it off for the 17-40. cheap and good (for its price), if u can find it. :)

a more expensive one will be the tamron 17-35/2.8-4. this, i believe, got a few floating ard in B/S now. ;)

i think i am going for the plastic fantastic... 19x1.6= 30.4... not too bad.... my budget is only around 200 for lens sooooo.... :sweatsm:

shinken said:
If you can afford it, why not. I'd choose a 1Ds MkII over a 10D.

Haha obviously right?? But u also must be able to support the L lenses.

Snoweagle said:
Haha obviously right?? But u also must be able to support the L lenses.

Huh? Meaning that the only lenses 1 series bodies can use are L lenses? That's a first right?:bsmilie:

Reflection said:
Huh? Meaning that the only lenses 1 series bodies can use are L lenses? That's a first right?:bsmilie:

Cos usually a 1D series user will use L lenses for a pro body.

Snoweagle said:
Cos usually a 1D series user will use L lenses for a pro body.
errr....it dosent seem to link to post#27 to me.

birdrobin decided on a d60?
personally i think pros and cons
the d60 is not a bad choice if u can find a relative good bargain at 500+
however do be careful to select a well maintained set and take care of it since its an old model and repair would definitely cost you a bomb. Good thing is that the 2nd price probably alr drop till rock bottom and u wont lose even if u resell later.

I would advise you to AGAIN consider the 300d and 10d, though both are lacking in some ways, they are newer technology and you wont feel that you are lacking behind so much when you go shooting or discuss equipment with others. The 300d also allows you to try out EFS. I saw some people selling their 18-55 kit lens at about 50-60, since u jus want to try out canon system, why not get something like that? something closer to the newer canon technology.

Electronics are such u will never stop craving for the latest. From what i can see you do own a nikon D50, but why do you try to make it "near a D70" in your sig? Have you thot at some point that you might save up abit more for a d70? Why dont you recongnise the D50 as " a class of its own"... Ur budget definitely wont allow for 350D to 1Ds, but with abit more u can get 300d or 10d why not, since they r newer with later technology.

But its still skills over equipment, so go ahead, hav fun trying out.

Jus a thot ;)

shocky said:
however do be careful to select a well maintained set and take care of it since its an old model and repair would definitely cost you a bomb.

That is a good enough reason to get a 10D. Shutter change is a hundred plus, not too bad yet. But sensor replacement... hmm... At least 10D has a presumably longer life left.

shinken said:
That is a good enough reason to get a 10D. Shutter change is a hundred plus, not too bad yet. But sensor replacement... hmm... At least 10D has a presumably longer life left.

haiz... if sensor got hot pixels, jia lat liao lor... :what: wonder which cam did birdrobin get in the end?

BirdRobin said:
not too bad.... my budget is only around 200 for lens sooooo.... :sweatsm:

do u have budget for other accessories?
are you getting any other accessories besides the body and lens(18-55)?

shocky said:
birdrobin decided on a d60?
personally i think pros and cons
the d60 is not a bad choice if u can find a relative good bargain at 500+
however do be careful to select a well maintained set and take care of it since its an old model and repair would definitely cost you a bomb. Good thing is that the 2nd price probably alr drop till rock bottom and u wont lose even if u resell later.

I would advise you to AGAIN consider the 300d and 10d, though both are lacking in some ways, they are newer technology and you wont feel that you are lacking behind so much when you go shooting or discuss equipment with others. The 300d also allows you to try out EFS. I saw some people selling their 18-55 kit lens at about 50-60, since u jus want to try out canon system, why not get something like that? something closer to the newer canon technology.

Electronics are such u will never stop craving for the latest. From what i can see you do own a nikon D50, but why do you try to make it "near a D70" in your sig? Have you thot at some point that you might save up abit more for a d70? Why dont you recongnise the D50 as " a class of its own"... Ur budget definitely wont allow for 350D to 1Ds, but with abit more u can get 300d or 10d why not, since they r newer with later technology.

But its still skills over equipment, so go ahead, hav fun trying out.

Jus a thot ;)

oh haha i knew from the start D50 has atrributes the D70s doesnt have. (lower noise)

But people are still selling their 300Ds at 700-800++ =(

AReality said:
do u have budget for other accessories?
are you getting any other accessories besides the body and lens(18-55)?

nope just the body and lens. ;p

nightwolf75 said:
haiz... if sensor got hot pixels, jia lat liao lor... :what: wonder which cam did birdrobin get in the end?

1) D30 (300+) + Tokina plastic fantastic = 500+
2) 300D + 18-55mm EF-S = 700~800+
3) D60 (500+) + Tokina plastic fantastic = 700+

lol.

BirdRobin said:
1) D30 (300+) + Tokina plastic fantastic = 500+
2) 300D + 18-55mm EF-S = 700~800+
3) D60 (500+) + Tokina plastic fantastic = 700+

lol.

muaahaaaa.... decisions decisions... :bsmilie:

of course, if u really going budget, then the d30+plastic fantastic is a good start. however, if u got a bit more spare cash, the 300D kit set will last u longer. ;)

BirdRobin said:
haha you are right. btw, i dont really see 'cheap' semi wide angle lEF lenses for 1.6x canon dslrs... the only one i see cannot be used on the d30... the 18-55 EF-s... does anybody know of 18mm zooms that go cheap? 3rd party?

i dont intend to spend alot on lenses for the body, one will do.

Actually there are some modified ones that can be used on D30 and D60

There are also alternatives such as the relatively inexpensive sigma 18-55mm that no one has yet mentioned

IMO if you are just trying out the Canon system, getting the old cameras and outfitting it with a cheap kit lens is not going to give you a good impression of the Canon system.

Why not just loan one to try? Think someone here (believe it's Rockstar) rents the 30D out with a couple of good lenses at very good rates. That should give you a pretty good idea of the Canon system

BirdRobin said:
nope just the body and lens. ;p

if u can, spring for the 10D lah

build quality nice and robust. up to lots of usage as a daily beater

300d feels a bit too plasticky to me

d30/d60 a bit too old-skool too

my 2 cents

regards,
inf1d3l