Testing the Nikon V1

And here all you need to do!

6805566250_8e514e5431_b.jpg

A strip of common masking tape was used to hold the aperture open to max. Another strip of masking tape is used to block out the rightmost two contacts of the lens. And that was all to it!

And the result?

Here is the shot taken of the logo on the Toa Payoh HDB Hub (see my earlier post on the context of the photo and where it is zoomed in to). Do bear in mind that the shot was taken during failing lights (at 6.30pm):

6805579168_8d398c8a13_b.jpg

CA? Yes, but ok in my opinion. Soft? A little... but 500mm x 2.7x x 1.4x x 2x = 3780mm focus distance!!!

Happy day...

Okay... the moon with pure 500mm with J1.
500mm no crop
Moon_500mm_DSC0643.jpg

500mm with 50% crop
Moon_500mm_50_DSC0643.jpg

500mm with 100% crop
Moon_500mm_100_DSC0643.jpg

I did not sharpen the image. All from raw convert to jpg and then crop using photoshop

Okay... the moon with pure 500mm with J1.
500mm no crop
Moon_500mm_DSC0643.jpg

500mm with 50% crop
Moon_500mm_50_DSC0643.jpg

500mm with 100% crop
Moon_500mm_100_DSC0643.jpg

I did not sharpen the image. All from raw convert to jpg and then crop using photoshop

Thanks Reno!

From what I can see on my screen, with or without the TC looks about as sharp. You have the full size originals. How do they compare on your screen?

Also, there seems to be some CA on the grey patch, no?

Sharper without TC, about to retain more details.

Another test...

V1 + FT1 + reverse mounted 20mm f3.5:
6814621584_ae69d7f24b_b.jpg

Given that the sensor is 9mm on the shorter side, and that I got 3mm of my metallic Vernier calipers, this is about 3x magnification. Working distance is 5-10cm which is not bad. Razor thin DOF. I used a simple table lamp to light it so the lighting is not pleasing. But I like the sharpness.

The moon last night... FT1 + Kenko 2x TC + 1.4x TC + Nikon 300mm f4:

6960781863_ac4a7c5e8d_b.jpg

Got home too late and the moon was almost vertical. Could not do the Siggy (not enough arm muscle). Took this no VR no tripod. Supported the camera on a chair and nearly twisted my neck to get the focus as correct as possible. Did some PP as the original was underexposed so that I can get at least 1/200 sec shutter. Got f5.6 out of the rig (assuming the EXIF is correct). Best effort... sorry...

Not bad... results would be better if you uses a tripod... lol...

Thanks Reno... unfortunately, my apartment is faced such that the moon is visible only through a side window in my bedroom and it is between two tall buildings. Use of tripod not physically possible given the position. May try a monopod though. Tonight the moon is behind thick clouds. Oh well...

That's great work from you, appreciate the effort you took to show us what the v1 can do:)

this thread is starting to poison me :sweat:

Thanks Reno... unfortunately, my apartment is faced such that the moon is visible only through a side window in my bedroom and it is between two tall buildings. Use of tripod not physically possible given the position. May try a monopod though. Tonight the moon is behind thick clouds. Oh well...

bring tripod down to carpark or open space to shoot.... don't be lazy.... hahaha

When you lau kok kok like me with a commander-in-chief at home then you know...

Alamak.... you really Lau kok kok meh? Don't believe. Ask your commander-in-chief to go with you ah... hahaha.. she can help you carry tripod...

More birding shots... no PP... V1 + FT1 + 55-300mm. Most of the successful ones were using Manual Focus - coz AF hunts way too much and even after extensive hunting, may still not focus.

Pink neck green pigeon. ISO 280, f5.6, 1/250 sec, +0 EV.
6966358769_1328a9f9ba_b.jpg

Collared kingfisher. ISO 100, f5.6, 1/250 sec, +0 EV.
6820218148_15a9e0b87b_b.jpg

Birds in flight. OK, in this department, it doesn't do too well, esp. since you have to MF and AF sucks.

Here is what I managed to get. No PP. Would like folks to form their own opinion. Caveat: I am new to birding and generally don't do well with BIF shots.

A beautiful bird in flight (sorry, not able to id it yet).
6820211782_34b6a84088_b.jpg

Another shot at the same bird:
6966331001_aa884e6483_b.jpg

Caught this Brahmany kite vertical dive-bombing a crow:
6820207570_50238fa281_b.jpg

Alamak! Uncle, thats a collar kingfisher ah. Lol. The Unknown BIF bird is blue tailed bee eater. Lol... Shooting BIF is not easy, need a lot of practice and waste a lot of shutter counts too.

Paiseh... thanks for the correction. Yes, practice, practice, practice...

Wow guys... the moon and macro shots are AWESOME!

Can you advise where to get the FT1 at best price?

Happy shooting... Cheers!