Test drive a LOMO-LCA

YOL925

First shot with a 20-years-old LOMO-LCA (intended as a gift, so test to make sure it works). PnS (w/o looking thru' the VF), set at abt 2m. BTW, this guy was watching TV at kopi tiam:

2077252429_c8f02b124d_o.jpg

Does this pix show typical LOMO characteristics? (thot it should look blur blur, no?)

YOL

yar, blur blur what.. :)

it is very lomo

Not talking about the 'blur' look on his face ;)

Another hip shot. about 1m. It's too sharp to be a LOMO shot. I must be getting a defective copy don't u think?

2079217995_556f70eff7_o.jpg

YOL

what film speed are u using?

i dont think it's 'suppposed' to be blur. no optics are designed to be blur. you can get sharp images from the lca.

getting the cult 'lomo' look depends on anything and everything; type of film you use (between c41 and e6 film), the subjects you shoot and the lighting conditions etc.

i dont think you can just point and shoot and expect it to have the so called 'lomo feel'.
it's not a miracle camera.

just my couple cents.

from what ive seen, if you use negs on LCA, it will take quite sharp images.

btw, why are you so worried about the sharpness? ("defective copy" lol)
lomo is all about just shoot, dunt think(bout the outcome).

Do u want to swap yr LCA with mine? :bsmilie:

sharp?

no la, not very sharp la, cannot compare to dslr with proper focus :devil:

shoot near near (~0.5m) also like dat. Haiz!

2080542204_2ebaefe3de_o.jpg

So I should shoot with slide??

actually i dont see what the fuss is about. there's nothing wrong with your lca.

from what i see, it is a good copy. i'm not sure what you want the lca to give you but, like i said before, it's not a miracle camera; not all shots that come out from the camera will have the lomo look.

the chance of yielding a higher possibility of getting that 'lomo' look is to cross process your slides.

Does this pix show typical LOMO characteristics? (thot it should look blur blur, no?)

i dont really think 'look(ing) blur blur' is a typical lomo characteristic.

if what's supposed to be sharp, turns out to be blur, than i guess it's a 'defective copy'.

take a simple search on flickr and you may be able to see that there's nothing blur about the lomographs.

http://www.flickr.com/search/?q=lca&s=int

it can be as sharp (definitely not very sharp) as any other photograph shot thru great lens on a dslr or a rangefinder.

i;m not trying to be an a-hole here but i'm just perplexed by your silly fuss. hope you dont mind my views.

i guess you'll learn more as you shoot more with your fine copy of the lca, along with various films and scenarios.

don't think, just shoot.

Yep I think it is defective. But I can take it off your hands if you want to get rid of your defective lca

OT, but the first photo was taken below (sort of) my house! Hahah.

orhh...block 3 there :bsmilie:

try closing the light meter with your fingers and when you shoot, shake the camera a bit. confirm you'll get the blurry look. hehehe.

actually very LOMO what the picture

u all never notice the vignetting?

apparently someone didnt

In fact I had figured that this L-CA has NO problem (problem was silly mi, leaving the settings at f8 and 2m, and shooting every shot at 1/60 sec:lovegrin:)
BTW, I posted last nite about this bummer but it is gone now... strange, dun really like to re-post liao.

Anyway, the vignetting is quite obvious, even in good day light, like the one shown below. I also notice that the color (esp. red) is very saturated (velvia like).
A real fun camera to play.

2086630352_0b0e09a4a5_o.jpg

(haha.. another "sharp" LOMO shot.)