Tang Shooters LIX - TCSS Thread...

B59D4815.jpg

canon 70-200mm F2.8 ( no IS ),
shot at f=200mm, aperture = F2.8, shutter = 1/500 sec.

:bigeyes: that ish some awesome action shuut.Bokeh ish bery swee too.chiu has make so tempted for F2.8L...kekekekeke :thumbsup:

:bsmilie: I a bit huo lian here only lah..

I must agree with juste, portraits are normally taken with PRIME big glass ( F1.4, like 85mm ) will be ideal. Normally, the background should be as blur or creamy as possible. The face or model should be as sharp as possible. A big aperture prime will be a good choice, if you can afford canon 85mm F1.2 or Zeiss 85mm F1.4 that will be the best liao. haha

I use this 70-200 F2.8 for macro ( extension tube ), and sports ( with tele converters ) too. and of course, sometimes portraits.... no choice, limited $$$.

hello butties,want some advice from chiu all who are jedi.I ish planning to buy lens soon.Got 2 options to consider so need chiu all for pointerz

1. 70-200 F4L (NON-IS) + 85 F1.8 prime lens = $1200-1250 2nd hand budget
or
2.70-200 F2.8L (NON-IS) = $1200-1300 2nd hand budget

i ish more into taking portraits for the use of these lens.:)

General speaking... (though some use lens rather creatively different), UWA lens is less critical to have the big apertures... Zoom lens in the 180mm onwards, suffers from shakes greater so its impt to have the IS if aperture not that big in the region of F2.8 or better...

"General speaking" is not a good measure for you. You have to indicate you shooting style... so my guess is that your preference inclines towards portraiture... my bet for you is on the option 1. Haa.... Juste gave very good suggestions i must say.. 50mm F1.4 is a must to try if u do consider 85mm at F1.8...

Billy would be in absolute right if u do more event or clubbing shoot. :)

NPNT.. the picture below belong to a series with very grainy pics.. cos i took in low lights and high ISO (@6400) which I tested the 5D with 70-200mm F2.8... I would say it would not be possible if I was shooting with the F4... so does your needs inspire you shoot or does your shoots need to inspies.. your take :)

3206890218_2f55c814c4.jpg

portraits normally shoot w prime lens

I must agree with juste, portraits are normally taken with PRIME big glass ( F1.4, like 85mm ) will be ideal. Normally, the background should be as blur or creamy as possible. The face or model should be as sharp as possible. A big aperture prime will be a good choice, if you can afford canon 85mm F1.2 or Zeiss 85mm F1.4 that will be the best liao. haha

I use this 70-200 F2.8 for macro ( extension tube ), and sports ( with tele converters ) too. and of course, sometimes portraits.... no choice, limited $$$.

Yesh chiu butties are right with d usage of prime.I ish also like chiu lkkang.Want to have multipurpose zoom lens for "I use this 70-200 F2.8 for macro ( extension tube ), and sports ( with tele converters ) too. and of course, sometimes portraits.... no choice, limited $$$":bsmilie:

Thanks 4 de pointers guys.Appreciated.:thumbsup:

Keke... bokeh from a zoom... say a 400mm F5.6 and that from a 50mm F1.4 has a different feel.... so if cannot decided on a prime yet.. a tele can be less disturbing. :)

General speaking... (though some use lens rather creatively different), UWA lens is less critical to have the big apertures... Zoom lens in the 180mm onwards, suffers from shakes greater so its impt to have the IS if aperture not that big in the region of F2.8 or better...

"General speaking" is not a good measure for you. You have to indicate you shooting style... so my guess is that your preference inclines towards portraiture... my bet for you is on the option 1. Haa.... Juste gave very good suggestions i must say.. 50mm F1.4 is a must to try if u do consider 85mm at F1.8...

Billy would be in absolute right if u do more event or clubbing shoot. :)

3206890218_2f55c814c4.jpg

Chiu given some guut examples.Ysh i temp ish in a budget.i probably get the 70-200 F2.8 1st then got extra $$$.then buy a guut prime lens.Thanks for the input.:thumbsup:

You are welcome....

New Jedi Apprentice....
3287808972_42a5cb3304.jpg

You are welcome....

New Jedi Apprentice....
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3664/3287808972_42a5cb3304.jpg[/QUOTE]

SO CUTE! nice shot ! :thumbsup:

Yesh chiu butties are right with d usage of prime.I ish also like chiu lkkang.Want to have multipurpose zoom lens for "I use this 70-200 F2.8 for macro ( extension tube ), and sports ( with tele converters ) too. and of course, sometimes portraits.... no choice, limited $$$":bsmilie:

Thanks 4 de pointers guys.Appreciated.:thumbsup:

then u should go for zoom lense...
1. 16-35mm
2. 24-70mm
3. 70-200mm

You all inflicting poison on michael sia. lol

aiyoh... lens no need so great one
3187159413_21baae0d8b.jpg

Camera: Canon EOS 20D
Exposure:
0.003 sec (1/400)
Aperture: