Tang Shooters C - TCSS Thread...

Hey guys, well I just got my o levels results and wish to seek consults from you all as you guys may in the workforce and seen quite alot. Anyway now I'm choosing between three courses that I'm very interested in. 1.) Chemical enginnering, 2.) Biomedical enginnering, 3.) Marketing. Well I just wanna find out which course will be more prefered and which cert will be more specialised and more value?

Biomedical will still be in for e next decade with more interest shown. Marketing I feel can pick up in own leisure time. Considering these 2 areas are totally different. It really depends on ur interest. Are u more inclined towards finance or engineering. It's easy to switch from engineering to financial but once u in the finance area, one would usually be in forever.

I will go for biomedical if it's between that 3 choices. But if u wan motivation to go school, I say take
Marketing. :bsmilie:

Biomedical will still be in for e next decade with more interest shown. Marketing I feel can pick up in own leisure time. Considering these 2 areas are totally different. It really depends on ur interest. Are u more inclined towards finance or engineering. It's easy to switch from engineering to financial but once u in the finance area, one would usually be in forever.

Actually the 2 enginnerings are considered as sciences instead as it is held in school of sciences. Hmmm actually to be frank, my sciences scored A2 and it was because of the theory part. My practical session totally **** up, so I scare if I join them then later all practical i die sia LOL

I will go for biomedical if it's between that 3 choices. But if u wan motivation to go school, I say take
Marketing. :bsmilie:

Why marketing will have more motivation? More meimei to see? Cos its in the business school LOL

all i can say, go study what ever you like in poly :3
Once u in the work force, the first thing they will ask how many years 's your experiences :(

Why marketing will have more motivation? More meimei to see? Cos its in the business school LOL
actually same wan la, u in poly alot of time off wan. Can walk from engineer block to business block to makan.

If you really want to know those business students (meimei :embrass:) join the poly students union alot of meimei to know wan..hehe

actually..... study and working has no direct relation.

I have friends study mechanical engineering and become a software programmer.
I have friends study electronics engineering and becomes an insurance agent.
I have a friend that study Biomedical engineering and ended up playing drums for a living.

And they are good people that earns quite a bit of money and living a good life now.

You see, you doesn't necessary need to do the things you study now. Studying is merely a foundation for you. It makes you think, train your analytical skills and the ability to study on your own, find your own answers and train you to overcome problems when you face one.

Its not easy to know what you really like doing. Some people took years to know that.

My wife was studying mechanical engineering. After she graduates from school, she went into SONY and becomes a technician in the company for about 5 years. She then realized that technical work is not suitable for her. So , she took up night courses on accounting and got her LCCI diploma in accountancy. And, she completely switch line from engineering to accountancy work, and she likes her new life very much.

The morale of the story is:

- if you like music, go learn music.
- if you like to cook , go learn to cook.
- go learn something you have interest in. Don't go study Bio-medical science just because people say it has a bright future. Because by the time you complete your studies, and serve your National Service, its a different world already.. :)

harnor harnor! alot study engineering all jump to finance sector riao

Hmm ok I think I will go for first choice Chemical and Pharmaceutical technology, second chemical engineering. What I heard from my aunt was that business courses are too general, which people can easily take up anytime they want. So after much considertation, I felt that I should take up a specialised course such as sciences, and futhermore I dun think science industry will ever fall until doomsday arrive as people will keep demand for new technologies and research outcomes.

Indescribable said:

I'm in the biomedical industry. If you're considering, you have to prepared to study all the way to a masters/phd and choose either the research or academic path. If you stop at a degree or diploma all that's avail is either as a lab assistant in a research lab/hospital or sales. There's money in it only if you're doing research as the head of a lab. In other words, if you stop at a diploma, you won't be paid alot at all compared to other diploma holders.

If you're not that interested in science at all then probably I'll advise you not to waste your life away.

As for me, I'm doing sales now. :) the money's good for now but in the long term I'm pretty much stuck.

Good luck! :D

I'm in the biomedical industry. If you're considering, you have to prepared to study all the way to a masters/phd and choose either the research or academic path. If you stop at a degree or diploma all that's avail is either as a lab assistant in a research lab/hospital or sales. There's money in it only if you're doing research as the head of a lab. In other words, if you stop at a diploma, you won't be paid alot at all compared to other diploma holders.

If you're not that interested in science at all then probably I'll advise you not to waste your life away.

As for me, I'm doing sales now. :) the money's good for now but in the long term I'm pretty much stuck.

:thumbsup: thanks for sharing.

Thanks for your words! Haha yup I'm quite interested in sciences, its my best subjects haha! Furthermore I took biology and chemistry, this gave me an edge above those who took physics instead (i guess?). I also intend to work hard and go into university to either carry on taking the course i took in poly, or take 'chemistry' as main subject, then become an employee of some independent school HAHA! :bsmilie:

Anyway, theres a new course call medicinal chemistry, and it did not state its cut off points as its a new 2011 course. Is it safe to put as first choice? I scare later many siao langs put that as their choice sia

Indescribable said:
Thanks for your words! Haha yup I'm quite interested in sciences, its my best subjects haha! Furthermore I took biology and chemistry, this gave me an edge above those who took physics instead (i guess?). I also intend to work hard and go into university to either carry on taking the course i took in poly, or take 'chemistry' as main subject, then become an employee of some independent school HAHA! :bsmilie:

Then it'll be a good choice if you considered biomedical science then! :D

I'll say go for it! :bsmilie:

my advise is - join a MNC and work office hours to get a fixed salary, and fixed CPF monthly. you get all the perks like medical coverage, insurance, paid leave, child care leave, maternity leave, etc....
And on the other hand, be your own boss, and earn your own bucks! Plan your own time, manage your own clients.

Huuaatttt arhhhh..........

my advise is - join a MNC and work office hours to get a fixed salary, and fixed CPF monthly. you get all the perks like medical coverage, insurance, paid leave, child care leave, maternity leave, etc....
And on the other hand, be your own boss, and earn your own bucks! Plan your own time, manage your own clients.

Huuaatttt arhhhh..........

有人出世著好命 阮是用命底打拚:bsmilie:

hanor...Philip Yeo say before: Basic Degree ish can wash test tubes nia...:confused: