Tamron SP AF70-200mm F/2.8 Di LD (IF) Macro

Comparision of the Cannon, Tamron & Sigma 70-200mm out.
Cannon still unbeatable.
In chinese.
http://review.fengniao.com/89/891322.html

from what I understand here

http://review.fengniao.com/89/891363.html
at 70mm, the tamron is sharpest at center and corner wide open.

at 135mm and 200m, canon is overall winner but tamron is not that far off, with sigma being the softest.

given double the price tag, it is no surprise to see canon still comes out top.
Then again, at 1/2 the price, and having at least 85% performance of the canon L glass, it's already a steal. Not to mention it's lighter, and has closest min. focusing distance too yumm

Anyone knows if the canon mount is available here in Sg?

Is there an email address that I can correspond with them before heading down to HK? I dun wish to save up $$$ then go down there and find the lens out of stock - and worse - the stock arriving on the day i depart from HK.....(although my wife will have a different outlook on this matter...) :think:

wish to get this lens too......

OH... I hope Bluebull have already passed you the contact!

I just got back from HK this morning. Managed to get the lens from them for HKD5,800. On Saturday, they are left with 2, I took one... so one left

My impression:

1. The build is pretty good (Dont compare with the canon L lens lah). I expect nothing less from a made in japan lens

2. Focusing is quite fast, not much significant difference with my 17-85 IS USM (note: more like I do not feel that it is an issue under my circumstances in shooting street photos and some bird photos at Kowloon Park). The lens managed to focus on the bird following it's every move (walking/running on floor)

3. Pretty sharp. Will try to post some of the test shots when I have time.

Overall I'm pretty happy with this lens (maybe I have a very low treshold.. haha)

from what I understand here

http://review.fengniao.com/89/891363.html
at 70mm, the tamron is sharpest at center and corner wide open.

at 135mm and 200m, canon is overall winner but tamron is not that far off, with sigma being the softest.

given double the price tag, it is no surprise to see canon still comes out top.
Then again, at 1/2 the price, and having at least 85% performance of the canon L glass, it's already a steal. Not to mention it's lighter, and has closest min. focusing distance too yumm

Yeah, according to Hong Kong photographers, the 70-200 F2.8L IS USM is termed '镜皇' aka King of lenses, so as the price

I just got back from HK this morning. Managed to get the lens from them for HKD5,800. On Saturday, they are left with 2, I took one... so one left

My impression:

1. The build is pretty good (Dont compare with the canon L lens lah). I expect nothing less from a made in japan lens

2. Focusing is quite fast, not much significant difference with my 17-85 IS USM (note: more like I do not feel that it is an issue under my circumstances in shooting street photos and some bird photos at Kowloon Park). The lens managed to focus on the bird following it's every move (walking/running on floor)

Overall I'm pretty happy with this lens (maybe I have a very low treshold.. haha)

congrats! show us some shots please!
just hoping now that they will have stock when i am there in 2 weeks....

My impression:

Yup. I got the email address. But I am waiting for the Sony/KM mount......:(

hi guys

just tried this lens out at B&H today.

its 699USD after tax its around 757USD

i was using it the shop thus the low light. at F2.8 ISO1600
on my 350D i think the details suffered quite a bit.
For the AF i think it would be like a 50mm F1.8 in good lighting. but i still think the canon 70-200F4 L's USM is still faster and quieter.
and its very much lighter then the canon 70-200F2.8 L!!!;)

Look like it is a lense that will give Sigma and Tokina a run for their money.
Good to see that Tamron have step up to the challenge at the much popular 70-200 range of lenses... it will benefit us more... :bsmilie:

Anybody knows if the NIKON mount is available in Singapore? or when?

Cheers!:)

can't wait for nikon ver.. sian.. wait so long liao
:(

How does it compare with the Nikon 80-200?

Seems like its still a close fight between this and the Sigma.

Just came back from Hong Kong... teh Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 is no where to be found, at least at the popular camera shops, wing shing, ting cheung, etc. Was told stocks will be in end of June hopefully.

In the end, bought a Sigma 70-200mm f2.8 instead. Damn, the focusing is fast thanks to the HSM.

Just came back from Hong Kong... teh Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 is no where to be found, at least at the popular camera shops, wing shing, ting cheung, etc. Was told stocks will be in end of June hopefully.

In the end, bought a Sigma 70-200mm f2.8 instead. Damn, the focusing is fast thanks to the HSM.

how much you paid for the sigma wor??

Around SGD1020.

erm, i think dun talk too much about the SIgma in this thread. OT leh. Stick to the Tamron here.

I was at MS Color 2 days back and I asked about the Tamron. I was told that Tithes Marketing (the Tamron distro) has stopped bringing in new Tamron lenses because they have some problems of their own.

Anyway, the MS Color staff said that he had no idea when new Tamron lenses will come in, and that they are waiting for a new distro to be announced.

Looks like it's a long wait for the 70-200 :(

I was at MS Color 2 days back and I asked about the Tamron. I was told that Tithes Marketing (the Tamron distro) has stopped bringing in new Tamron lenses because they have some problems of their own.

Anyway, the MS Color staff said that he had no idea when new Tamron lenses will come in, and that they are waiting for a new distro to be announced.

Looks like it's a long wait for the 70-200 :(

some problems of their own? oh my sounds bad...

aviva_062008_p29.jpg

here are some of the pictures taken with the new tamron 70-200mm f2.8 lens, canon mount.
most of the pcitures are zoom to the max at 200mm
http://www.badminton-network.com/allphoto.php