Strobe Rental - how much would you pay?

Strobes - how much would you pay for a weekend rental?

kthan

Hi

Since we have a number of queries on renting of underwater strobes, I am just wondering how much would you pay for a weekend rental of a strobe (Ikelite DS50, S&S DX90 or Inon D180), arms and tray. Please kindly vote on the poll. What is the max you are willing to pay for such rental? Of course a collateral of some kind has to be pledged but that would be another discussion headache so let's just keep to the cost of rental.

Note: this is just a fun exercise. But I am sure some of you will try and read between the lines. :D

Eric

the moment i see the thread starter name... i definitely read between the lines.. :D

seems like you set the limit to min SGD40 ya? haha. I guess you would limit the strobe to one with arm and tray?

definitely worth renting if going on a good trip.

being rather stingy ( :p ) , i would be willing to pay about SGD100 for a long and good trip to rent the strobes, say, for 6 days. SGD40 for a weekend trip is reasonably inexpensive.

beivied said:
the moment i see the thread starter name... i definitely read between the lines.. :D

seems like you set the limit to min SGD40 ya? haha. I guess you would limit the strobe to one with arm and tray?

definitely worth renting if going on a good trip.

being rather stingy ( :p ) , i would be willing to pay about SGD100 for a long and good trip to rent the strobes, say, for 6 days. SGD40 for a weekend trip is reasonably inexpensive.

if u equate 1 wk = 2.5 weekends, that would be a reasonable conversion.....no intention to rent out for now, but then I have plenty of equipment sitting around doing ntg....

Agree that $40 for a weekend is a reasonable price. Probably could form a pool of "renters".

I have definately a few potential "customers" available - including myself. :)

Do factor in transportation time. Some form of non-dive transportation time should be included FOC for the collection and return of the equipment, e.g. 1 day before to collect and 1 day after to return.

kthan said:
if u equate 1 wk = 2.5 weekends, that would be a reasonable conversion.....no intention to rent out for now, but then I have plenty of equipment sitting around doing ntg....

one week is 7 days leh ... sgd40 for two days per day is sgd20, so works out to be sgd140 for 7 days wo.. unless minimum rental sgd40 for two days, every subsequent day is sgd12 then you can sgd100 for 7 days... like eastgear lo, rental of x drive minimum sgd30 for a weekend, subsequent additional day sgd5/10 per day ...

sorry ah, typical accounting person :D

how many strobes do you have hah?

pit said:
Agree that $40 for a weekend is a reasonable price. Probably could form a pool of "renters".

I have definately a few potential "customers" available - including myself. :)

Do factor in transportation time. Some form of non-dive transportation time should be included FOC for the collection and return of the equipment, e.g. 1 day before to collect and 1 day after to return.

u got your strobe yet, Peter?

beivied said:
one week is 7 days leh ... sgd40 for two days per day is sgd20, so works out to be sgd140 for 7 days wo.. unless minimum rental sgd40 for two days, every subsequent day is sgd12 then you can sgd100 for 7 days... like eastgear lo, rental of x drive minimum sgd30 for a weekend, subsequent additional day sgd5/10 per day ...

sorry ah, typical accounting person :D

how many strobes do you have hah?

X-Drive Pro I also have leh.....maybe can rent that out too.

Strobes for digital camera - 3. but not renting hor........yet

then you renting what strobe? need to be usable by us leh..

Given that the strobe setup is typically over $1k, $70 wld be a reasonable price for a 2.5 day weekend rental. This compares favourably with rental rate (based on price) of other items such as dive computers, bcds etc, somemore computers & bcds have lesser damage/flooding risk compared to a strobe.

Just my $0.02. ;p

beivied said:
then you renting what strobe? need to be usable by us leh..

i repeat ....not renting out yet hor

so let's just do this poll for fun.

that's my "public" stance.

oh cheh .. i thought you meant you have digital strobes and non digital ones... i wont be going on trips, let alone good enough trips that would make me wanna rent strobe :( hai

kng said:
Given that the strobe setup is typically over $1k, $70 wld be a reasonable price for a 2.5 day weekend rental. This compares favourably with rental rate (based on price) of other items such as dive computers, bcds etc, somemore computers & bcds have lesser damage/flooding risk compared to a strobe.

Just my $0.02. ;p

hmm, for dive computers, if you go puerto galera it is usd2/day. according to waisj, manado is free.

coming back to strobes, if you h ave a good setup of course you can charge more la. but i would feel if charge too high less people would wanna rent lo. depends on yourself if you wanna help other divers have a feel of strobed photography and make full use of the trip while you get some money from it, or you just wanna get money from it by renting to higher end divers.

cannot consider as 2.5 day rental la, since friday you cannot use the strobes what, it is travelling time.

i think 10-20bucks a day would be quite reasonable for a min of 3 days.
most trips are 3 days anyway
and if full week $100 bucks lor

i do think it is a good idea lo, if there are strobes for rental. would benefit people like myself who gets too broke to buy strobes and gear and go for trips all together. i really really really broke liaoi, so die die cannot go on seven skies with you people.. :cry:

and i am tooootttaaaally helpless when it comes to strobes, basically the theory that you people have been talking about la. just reading it makes my head spin, haha. if able to rent a set to try, at least may be able to really understand what you guys mean.

and if there are different strobes of different brands, new user can also rent and try out to see which is more suitable.

but must buy equipment insurance first, before renting... :sweat:

lovells19 said:
i think 10-20bucks a day would be quite reasonable for a min of 3 days.
most trips are 3 days anyway
and if full week $100 bucks lor

hmmm... not a bad idea....
can consider renting my out to cover some cost.... but hor... must put deposit hor... haha... and garrantor too!

Goondoo said:
hmmm... not a bad idea....
can consider renting my out to cover some cost.... but hor... must put deposit hor... haha... and garrantor too!

on ah! waisj shall be my guarantor and siaoon help me pay deposit :D

jokes aside, paying a deposit sounds reasonable to me, but not too big a sum hor.... :sweat:

beivied said:
on ah! waisj shall be my guarantor and siaoon help me pay deposit :D

jokes aside, paying a deposit sounds reasonable to me, but not too big a sum hor.... :sweat:

but how much? 50% of the strobe? actually an agreement would be good enough..

lovells19 said:
but how much? 50% of the strobe? actually an agreement would be good enough..

errr... an agreement without a lawyer's endorsement is as good as waste paper...

legally i meant, thou those loan sharks still adhere by it... :D

Goondoo said:
errr... an agreement without a lawyer's endorsement is as good as waste paper...

legally i meant, thou those loan sharks still adhere by it... :D

is it?.. then i think better only rent to ppl whom you know lor..
if not take and run you LL leh

ya lo, unless you are doing a business and buy commercial insurance, if not only for people whom you know and fairly trustable.. i believe kthan do not intend to just rent it out any oh how.. IF he does rent. ;)