[-= Sterebox & AngelZhou =-] A Photo A Day 2006

zaren said:
wah...a pic dedicated to me...thx!

i like this pic...it is paradoxical.
simple, yet mysterious
still, yet dynamic

evokes the feel of "Memoirs of an Angel", one senses that there is more than meets the eye, and that she is about to tell a story or make a confession.

thanks zaren. i like it somehow, but most people said it's a very so so picture. Yeah, that's all - so what? What's interesting about it?

Perhaps like stereobox put, sometimes i gave too much personal value on my work.

AngelZhou said:
thanks zaren. i like it somehow, but most people said it's a very so so picture. Yeah, that's all - so what? What's interesting about it?

Perhaps like stereobox put, sometimes i gave too much personal value on my work.

:nono: nono, u misquoted me.

there is perfectly nothing wrong to put personal values into your work.

perhaps i shall quote myself (wah..got such thing one ah)

Stereobox said:
perhaps it's also up to the individual to attach complexity to simplicity. this is different from 'hidden meaning' in 'apparently simple' objects.

i'm not saying the picture is 'simple'. i'm saying, what u are doing is attach something to something 'disconnected'. i understand your workflow enough to say this , u tried to interpret the picture to your current situation and attach a story to it after you shoot it.

also, emotional baggage is another thing. what's important and significant to you may not be apparently obvious or made known clearly to the outside viewer. this is where the language of photography comes in...how and what to communicate.

Stereobox said:
:nono: nono, u misquoted me.

there is perfectly nothing wrong to put personal values into your work.

perhaps i shall quote myself (wah..got such thing one ah)

i'm not saying the picture is 'simple'. i'm saying, what u are doing is attach something to something 'disconnected'. i understand your workflow enough to say this , u tried to interpret the picture to your current situation and attach a story to it after you shoot it.

also, emotional baggage is another thing. what's important and significant to you may not be apparently obvious or made known clearly to the outside viewer. this is where the language of photography comes in...how and what to communicate.

ok ok, apart from the 'disconnected' thingy, what you think of the pix?

AngelZhou said:
ok ok, apart from the 'disconnected' thingy, what you think of the pix?

i thought i already told you about the pictures, when we were in my room?

i don't want to think too much about something that have no 'connection' to me in the first place, in terms of connection to emotion, intellectual and visual stimulation.

sorry for the harsh comment :sweat:

i still love you very much honey :bsmilie:

Stereobox said:
i thought i already told you about the pictures, when we were in my room?

i don't want to think too much about something that have no 'connection' to me in the first place, in terms of connection to emotion, intellectual and visual stimulation.

sorry for the harsh comment :sweat:

i still love you very much honey :bsmilie:

it's not harsh lah but i find it a bit :bigeyes:

but anyway perhaps our way of doing things is somehow a bit contradictive

btw, guys a chinese new year greeting from me HERE

Theme of the week : Simplicity

"First Try"

simplicity1.jpg

zhang3feng said:
where's 2nd try? :thumbsup:

try harder :bsmilie:

what do you think of First Try? thanks in advance!

Stereobox said:
try harder :bsmilie:

what do you think of First Try? thanks in advance!

i think that the shadow can be abit darker and maybe can see some texture would be good:thumbsup:

zhang3feng said:
i think that the shadow can be abit darker and maybe can see some texture would be good:thumbsup:

idea~ thanks

i did try making the shadows denser, but i decided in comparison, it looked better this way.
i actually slightly dodged away some of the texture, leaving only a faint clue of an edge.

it's harder than i thought, doing a theme on simplicity :sweat:

As a respond this week theme: simplicity.

post-12-1136391281.jpg

There is a huge definition of what simplicity can be. As a starter I prefer to just use a very basic understanding of what simplicity could be. Simplicity is a straightforward thing we encounter in our daily activities.

This is a photograph of a leaf, as simple it is.

Somehow this image is a remembrance for me to be careful to deal with time, as time is unstoppable and unrepeatable. Getting older doesn’t means getting more mature.

One told me yesterday, “Be careful with every single decision you made. You are not getting any younger.”

StereoB&AZhou said:

post-12-1136391281.jpg

There is a huge definition of what simplicity can be. As a starter I prefer to just use a very basic understanding of what simplicity could be. Simplicity is a straightforward thing we encounter in our daily activities.

Somehow this image is a remembrance for me to be careful to deal with time, as time is unstoppable and unrepeatable. Getting older doesn’t means getting more mature.

One told me yesterday, “Be careful with every single decision you made. You are not getting any younger.”

looks like one of zaren's pic too...;p try increasing contrast for this pix.. it might turn out better:think:

zhang3feng said:
looks like one of zaren's pic too...;p try increasing contrast for this pix.. it might turn out better:think:

zaren's? lol

i tried to push the contrast higher than this and it doenst turn out allright leh :dunno:

zhang3feng said:

this pic looks way better than mine! :thumbsup:

i like ur "simplicity" theme.

zaren said:
this pic looks way better than mine! :thumbsup:

i like ur "simplicity" theme.

where got?! This kind of theme... abstract, street and candid, still life object... it's zaren's cup liao :bsmilie: angel definately cannot compare to you one.

StereoB&AZhou said:
Theme of the week : Simplicity

"First Try"

simplicity1.jpg
This pic reminds me of the "an qi" in Chinese pugilistic novels ;)

StereoB&AZhou said:

post-12-1136391281.jpg

This pic is simple, yet complex in it's own way :think: