Starting a Olympus C750UZ thread - on usage

• Thread starter Thread starter Den64
  • Start date Start date

Hi :) ,
Could any1 advise which dial mode to use in shooting lion dance performance? :embrass: I intend to go & shoot in the 10th Ngee Ann City National Lion Dance Championships 2004. THks. ;)

RGds

copy some1 setting n applied onto my cam. well seen to be working fine. ;p
P9090140.jpg
[/IMG]
P9090119.jpg
[/IMG]
P9110171.jpg
[/IMG]
P9110164.jpg
[/IMG]

free to comments...

this thread is like the stock market moving slowly... ;p
anyway thks for ur comments. :)
well... i'm aware of those photo that i have taken were not sharp n oso alot of noise reason i'm using highest ISO on my cam. if i use lower ISO, the lcd view were vli dark. :cry:

hope u dun mind i took the liberty to edit the first pic a little with some noise reduction done with neat image :)

P9090140_filtered.jpg

Hi again :) ,
Could any1 advise which dial mode to use in shooting dragon dance performance? :embrass: I intend to go & shoot in the National Dragon Dance Competition 2004 @ IMM. THks. ;)

RGds

thheng71 said:
well...is ok. :)
at least still have some1 appreciate my photos. ;p
if u want some more photo, u can logon to the below link
http://photobucket.com/albums/v417/thheng71/Lion Dance/
btw, do u know which is the best photo editor software. pls advise. thks.

Photoshop is good, juz familarise urself with it and it should meet most editing needs.

But its always gd to be using a variety of tools, no doubt u can do image processing in photoshop but sometimes using some automated tools can get job done much faster... e.g. for noise removal can try NEAT image noise removal

well... currently i'm using the camera software CAMEDIA Master 4.1 & Adobe Photoshop Elements 2.0 to edit some of my photos. but still have not familarise in using it. any faster ways to do photo editing? advise. thks. ;p

thheng71 said:
well... currently i'm using the camera software CAMEDIA Master 4.1 & Adobe Photoshop Elements 2.0 to edit some of my photos. but still have not familarise in using it. any faster ways to do photo editing? advise. thks. ;p

haha faster arh? practise more lor, the more you practise the more familiar u become n the edits become nicer too :)

thks for ur advise. :)
i'm a vli lazy person :blah: tat why i keep askin pple for advise(guideline). using pple preset setting so as i do not have to try so hard to get the results. ;p :bsmilie:

I just notice something strange on my 750, wonder is it normal? Any one can advise?

After I on the cam and play with it, I off it, change to a new set of batteries. When I on the cam again, all settings, including date, time are reset.

I did not experience this last time.

If I did not on the cam and play with it, just change the batteries, the settings remain.

I remember all settings like speed, focus, ... are reset if I set the 'reset' to on but not for date, time as well.

I also remember last time if I change batteries while shooting, the date, time did not reset.

Can any one advise? Or my memory has failed me?

Pls advise on the above mention. Thks.
I have been searching for a cheap & reliable external flash for my-750uz.

Have requested eQuote from camera dealer.
item#1. Vivitar285(quoted: $145 ~ $165) &
item#2. Achiever TZ250(quoted: $45 but reply equote model written as Achiever 260, initially I assume that is an typo error or they are refering to Achiever DZ260???) Juz receive from them saying that Achiever 260 is juz a cheap basis flash compatible for most models.

Before I made the order, would like to hear from pple out there. Thks

RGds

thheng71 said:
Pls advise on the above mention. Thks.
I have been searching for a cheap & reliable external flash for my-750uz.

Have requested eQuote from camera dealer.
item#1. Vivitar285(quoted: $145 ~ $165) &
item#2. Achiever TZ250(quoted: $45 but reply equote model written as Achiever 260, initially I assume that is an typo error or they are refering to Achiever DZ260???) Juz receive from them saying that Achiever 260 is juz a cheap basis flash compatible for most models.

Before I made the order, would like to hear from pple out there. Thks

RGds

A basic flash most likely do not offer TTL features. You will have to do your own judgement on the various setting of the camera for the correct exposures.
One of the things to note is the GN (Guide number) of the flash, I think to get an external flash, one should get one that offer higher guide number than the built-in flash.
ALso, do check the voltage of the flash, too high of a voltage may damage the camera.

Just my 2 cents worth., it all depends on individual need.
Raymond

Below the description of the flash.
260AF
Power and features combine to make this one of the most versatile dedicated autofocus flashguns. A bounce head with zoom action to cover lenses 28-85mm makes the most of flash lighting. Built in AF illuminator allows focus even in total darkness. Thyristor circuitry and exposure check indicator. Wide angle diffuser and filter set included. Range up to 17m / 57ft.
G/N: 26m / 86ft at ISO 100

http://www.achiever.com.hk/flash/auto.html

Camera dealer has juz call me up saying that Achiever 260 is not compatible for C-750uz. :(

i have a problem with c750 .. i dunno y my pics are blur when i took pics of celebrities.. isit my hand shaking problem or the lighting is bad there ? or my settings ? becos of this i tend to use auto usually but i juz dun like it... sorry i'm a noob .. hmm anyone can explain further ?

Marcus said:
i have a problem with c750 .. i dunno y my pics are blur when i took pics of celebrities.. isit my hand shaking problem or the lighting is bad there ? or my settings ? becos of this i tend to use auto usually but i juz dun like it... sorry i'm a noob .. hmm anyone can explain further ?

hi,
blur images usually are due to shaky hand, how u set ur cam setting & etc...
how far are u away from ur target? did u use tripod?
if u are only 1 ~ 2m away, u can try using the setting posted by the expert in the earlier thread(#34). :)
lastly, how familiar are u with ur cam. practice make perfect as wat the expert had say.... :D
rgds

Marcus said:

Hello.

Were the shots taken indoor? For indoor shots, most likely you will need the flash, especially so for subjects that move. The distant between your camera and the subjects will also affect the result. When they are far away from u, (say more than 10m), the subject will most likely be under-exposed. A more powerful external flash may help.

If flash is not allowed, or not available, may be you could set your ISO to 400 (max. for C750), and set the apeture to smallest number (widest). Your photo may turn out grainy, but u may be able to obtain sharper pictures.

Unless your hands are really shaky, tripot will only help if the subjects are static, or move very little.

Hope these help.
Raymond

thx for ur help .. i'm ard 5 - 6 metres away frm wat i'm shooting .. i noe c750 dun have stabiliser ... thus need tripod .. but hmm during those events ... difficult to set up tripod .. thats y i din use..

iso 400 .. the pic sure grainy.. thus not nice le ..

Marcus said:
thx for ur help .. i'm ard 5 - 6 metres away frm wat i'm shooting .. i noe c750 dun have stabiliser ... thus need tripod .. but hmm during those events ... difficult to set up tripod .. thats y i din use..

iso 400 .. the pic sure grainy.. thus not nice le ..

The way one holds the camera may also affect the result. If I want to minimise handshake, I will shoot with the view-finder instead of with the lcd. Holding the camera as close as possible to your body will increase the brace, and thus may reduce the shakiness.

BTW, what was your setting (speed, aperture, etc) for those shaky shots?

Raymond