Sony W5

Well if you think think it's worth it. :confused:

hjx said:
i got one who is willing to charge me $600 for the Camera with sony 512mb MS .. but i think no case/ lcd protector ... what u think ???

any comments on this ... Thanks

Mmm, just thinking:

why not T3 but rather W5?
ok, batteries are different and MS Duo more ex.
And ok, slightly more $$. :-)

But T3 much more portable.
Also got bracketing.

hjx said:
i got one who is willing to charge me $600 for the Camera with sony 512mb MS .. but i think no case/ lcd protector ... what u think ???

any comments on this ... Thanks

Are you sure that its a Sony MS and not other brands like Sandisk or Lexar? If its a Sony one, then I think it is worth it. That damn thing cost hundreds of dollars where a Lexar/Sandisk one only cost $138+++

$500 with 256 unkown brand card.
$600 with 512 Sony card.

Maybe should get the $500 with 256 one. The prices tend to drop for these memory cards. I bought my Sandisk 512 at Sitex last year for $159.

jpcc said:
Mmm, just thinking:

why not T3 but rather W5?
ok, batteries are different and MS Duo more ex.
And ok, slightly more $$. :-)

But T3 much more portable.
Also got bracketing.

Oooohh thats a different class liao. Wah T3.....i'm in love! :lovegrin:

yes he gave me a email confirmation that all memory stick are SONY brand ..

I'm interested in getting W5 also leh..

Any1 wan to buy together? can get cheaper i guess... :D

Pte msg me your contact details. With you I got 3 on my list, 1 unconfirmed.

louisoh said:
I'm interested in getting W5 also leh..

Any1 wan to buy together? can get cheaper i guess... :D

mageditor said:
Pte msg me your contact details. With you I got 3 on my list, 1 unconfirmed.
Pte msg liao... :)

er so what price range are we expected to get ???

mageditor said:

Lexar Media 512mb $199.00
SanDisk 512mb $199.00

Crazy price.

FlashCard

Sony Pro MagicGte 1gb $300
SanDisk Duo Pro MagicGate $135 (5 years Warranty)

Check my post few day ago but not sure if it got Magicgate
http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?p=1150963#post1150963

andyhsl said:
Hi guys, today went SLS and saw Best Bargin's (#04-75) pricelist, their Sandisk MS Duo Pro 512mb is going at $110 and Sony MS Pro 1GB is $199 :o

umbrage said:
hope sony will do sumthing to deal with the blur problem commonly associated with the w1. with that problem eradicated, i think the w5 will be my ideal cam with its mammoth 2.5" lcd screen and the manual controls.

so, what's this 'blur problem' and can anyone confirm if it's now been eradicated in W5?

i;' thinking of getting the W5 also. but how's the quality of the cam...?

pop said:
so, what's this 'blur problem' and can anyone confirm if it's now been eradicated in W5?

concerned aboout this "Blur" thing too .. is it real ???

hjx said:
concerned aboout this "Blur" thing too .. is it real ???

What blur problem in W1? I did not encounter such a thing with my set. Of course, with night shots, you need a tripod.

umbrage said:
hmm the blur problem i was talking about is the incessant complaints about the w1's inability to produce sharp pictures. there were also complaints that the pictures w1 took tend to have a bluish tint in them. visit the forums in www.imaging-resource.com www.steves-digicams.com www.dpreview.com and u will understand my concerns. :)

I never heard of these problems from the W1 owners in the forums. The only problem with the W1 is the little soft picture quality in auto mode. But it can be fixed using the P or M mode to sharpen the pics.

Those are Amercian users with american sets with amercian sites and reviewers. :) Actually, the reviews are very good but its only some users encountered the blur problems as highlighted. I've read these reviews BEFORE buying my set too. But they dun concern me.

Got my Cam last week...for $520 from alan, 256mb was island wide promo, managed to squeeze a free lcd protector. So far using the camera is a breeze Pictures are vibrant true colours. manual mode is limited but still wonderful. Love the my W5 !!! Woo Hoo :D

I got the same quote from Alan too.

Wait till the end of March and see if got more response. I am aiming not to pay more than $520 with the 256mb for 1 set. We may explore other options like 512mb MS, case, screen protector thrown in or top up. ;p

See how first. :D Wat we are aiming for is an easy to use camera with a nice lens plus a big screen with an attitude. Best it runs on rechargable than Sony-issued prop. batteries. :what:

Todate we have about 4 parties including myself: Mok (stipe), Louis (louisoh), Ang (hjx) and myself. Another colleague's friend is pending.

Keep you guys posted via sms or pte msg. Thanks for the support and patience. :thumbsup:

I had a traumatic experience using Fujifilm digital cameras. My first 2 models were from this brand. Wouldnt advise you to go thru my ordeal.

Either you stick to Canon or Sony. They have better service facilities.

Mockngbrd said:
Sony W5 VS Fuji E510?