Someone committed suicide near my place

Please observe the Kopitiam guidelines and refrain from discussing about religion and politics.

Thanks.

- Roy

May his soul rest in peace.:cry:

I think stress is bought upon by ourself. no one to blame. Why would you want to follow in what others are doing? One have to be contended with what you have. I always visualize the life in Utopia whenever i feel that I'm struggling to make ends meet. The vision of hungry children starving to death make me feel that no matter how bad a situation I'm in, I will never be as bad as those children. We are very fortunate that we are in this part of the world.

Without stress, the only other reason I can think of for suicide is Insanity.

Hello Sion,

"OT here my friends"...... I refrain from PM's if I can.

I have followed your posts for some time.

Your Avatar suits you.

An interesting frame of mind.

I enjoy your views :)

Is that Peter Seller? That oldies show 'Pink Panther' where Peter Seller was an investigator? Love to watch his movies. But he was long gone.:(
Sorry for the OT here. I shall stop for now.

I think whether or not he is a christian doesnt change the fact he is dead. Would really appreciate if Christians dont use this thread to spread their religion. Thank you.

IIRC i ever read about singapore has one of the highest suicide rates in the world... more the one person committing such act everyday...

Lots or most of it do not make the papers. I've heard that its not reported and played down because its been on the increase. Only the more 'dramatic' ones like the MRT jumpers make it into the papers, even then, they get just a small mention nowadays. HDB jumpers don't even make the news now

singapore is a safe country but its also a stressful one. gotta worry abt this and that and more to come... imagine one fine day when all singaporeans r gone and the ones left r the policy makers having a good time.

my younger cousin passed away due to falling from 9th or 10th stories high. police did classify it as unatural death but failed to give us a reasonable and valid explaination for his death up to now. it's been a few years already.

he was 18 and about 190+cm. it was just a day after mother's day and he's a straight A student in ACJC. we don't have any idea why he did it or even worse, was it possible that someone murdered him? but his wallets and everything was still intact.

we have no idea.
Probably the corridor railings are not high enough. It could really be misadventure because for his height, he ccould easily fall over the railings if he was just bending over and lost his balance.

my younger cousin passed away due to falling from 9th or 10th stories high. police did classify it as unatural death but failed to give us a reasonable and valid explaination for his death up to now. it's been a few years already.

he was 18 and about 190+cm. it was just a day after mother's day and he's a straight A student in ACJC. we don't have any idea why he did it or even worse, was it possible that someone murdered him? but his wallets and everything was still intact.

we have no idea.
Time to look beyond Straight As my friend.

Scoring a perfect 300 at PSLE, scoring 9pts taking 9 subjects at 'O' Levels & having perfect score for all subjects at 'A' levels ain't mean nothing.

I really do not understand why you people have to always bring GOD into the problem. God was never the problem and never will be the solution. People are! God(s) are just very convenient excuses that we use for our own selfish ends and gains.

Don't blame the government too cos, 66.6% of you voted for them!!!! You voted for them, that's what you get, comprehend? everytime you want to blame the policy changes making it tough for you or the living standards getting higher or someone else is snatching your job away, make sure you are not in the 66.6%! It's the reaping the seeds that the 66.6% sow
Great.

Who are u going to blame next for ur constipation problem? Singapore Govt? The ruiling incumbent? The lack of alternative parties? Ministry of Health? Ministry of Environment?

Its amusing ppl can just pin every damn thing on the govt simply becos, "We voted them in!" :think:

IIRC i ever read about singapore has one of the highest suicide rates in the world... more the one person committing such act everyday...
Try Japan.

So, I presume, Raymond, I have 2 questions for you.

Geez.... i counted 11 questions....;p

So I guess you believe its 2 questions but the reality is 11 questions. It takes a leap of faith to believe its really 2 questions. Just like a leap of faith to believe in evolution.

Anyway, the dead is gone and the living remains for now. Death comes to us all in good time. Its one of the great inevitable end. So keep an eye out for your relatives, friends, and colleagues; suicidal people tend to have some slight signs that something is wrong. Often they also want to be heard. :cry:

With the TWO CASINOS opening, we will break our very own record...

i've heard too many stories of ppl killing themselves over money. Refuse to face the music of bankruptcy, having relatives/work colleagues/ex-classmates laughing at them, they rather end it by killing themselves....and sadly, some of these who died were infact big achievers, just went into the wrong path....and i guess at the end of it, pride is just hard for them to swallow.

Life is precious, dun use it to exchange for money...you can always earn back the money, but you can't earn back your life once it's gone...

I believe the suicide rate in sg is pretty high.

there has been 2 suicide cases in my building in the past 3 months.
and the management try to hide the suicide thing. :think:

I believe the suicide rate in sg is pretty high.

there has been 2 suicide cases in my building in the past 3 months.
and the management try to hide the suicide thing. :think:
which building was that?

Nah, Japan is holding the world record for the highest suicide rate per day at the moment as of 2007 January.

Does Johannesburg still hold the record for highest crime rate?

Sorry to hear that. I am not being mean, but life is such that if you are a nobody, death means nothing to the garment. But if you are someone high calibre, kena bitten by mosquito will alert the whole SWAT team fogging the area. ;( Life is indeed getting very stressful, these are the signs or is it retribution, KARMA? Money makes the world go round not sympathy, sympathy shown and done only for economic reasons. Gek Sim

we have no idea.

I was heading to the hawker centre to have my breakfast/lunch when i passed by small pockets of people looking at the same direction.

Since someone relit this thread, I have only one thing to say : Most Singaporeans are bloody nosey parkers!
Accident/death/tree drop in the middle of the highway, all crowd around to see. And those driving must bloody slow down to see causing bloody jam on the already congested road!

And some kaypoh are worse! got nothing better to do, call the press/media to come cover the story (they hoping the press will acknowledge them on live tv/newspaper isit?). If they're calling to inform the radio station so that other drivers listening to the radio can avoid that location, all is fine. But what's the use of calling the newspaper? So that once the news get printed on papers, morrow morning you detour to that location to see if can find 4 digit ah? :angry: :angry: :angry: :angry:

Since someone relit this thread, I have only one thing to say : Most Singaporeans are bloody nosey parkers!
Accident/death/tree drop in the middle of the highway, all crowd around to see. And those driving must bloody slow down to see causing bloody jam on the already congested road!

And some kaypoh are worse! got nothing better to do, call the press/media to come cover the story (they hoping the press will acknowledge them on live tv/newspaper isit?). If they're calling to inform the radio station so that other drivers listening to the radio can avoid that location, all is fine. But what's the use of calling the newspaper? So that once the news get printed on papers, morrow morning you detour to that location to see if can find 4 digit ah? :angry: :angry:

gee, but i think it is more abnormal if they actually just drove past without giving much attention. if that day arrives, i believe sucide and accidents are a common thing in singapore. just like escalators. last time, the first escalator in singapore drew so much attention. dun think you'll stop for every escalator you see now.:bsmilie:

and about 4D digits................. ok lah, maybe singaporeans abit wierd in this sense.:bsmilie: blame it on SP for making it 4D rather than 5D or 6D. it is all part of SP's plan into making it a successful "donation pool". everyday, lot's of kind people throw in money one you know?:bsmilie: