Some old photos - Ang Chew Ling

How? How? I also don't know how...

Again, when I post this thread, I have no intention of re-organising for her. If there is enough interest, I may just bring up the topic to her and see loh...wish me luck hoh...:embrass:

Ashleyy said:
Mmm.. are we seeing the potiential of a super long queue like last time again?? :bigeyes:

Bro Virgo, how?? ;p

Yah...nice and big eyes. Mesmorizing...Thanks for the compliment bro.

philliptan said:
:lovegrin: Such beautiful eyes...

Thanks. I hope you've seen her entire series here.

I still got pics of her which I haven't process. ;p

kelccm said:
Cute model:thumbsup:

Great series of portraits shots too:thumbsup: :)

Bro, I am the first one the list if there is one :bsmilie:

You fly back from Jp? Or you in SG already? :bsmilie:

TMC said:
Bro, I am the first one the list if there is one :bsmilie:

i think he will fly back.. ;p

wah.. i also want... ~arcanic~ do tell me if have, and if you got join... i always wanted to shoot chewling and haley... btw i saw someone that looks like chewling at republic poly... dunno if its her.. wanna ask but i :embrass: heh heh... :cool:

Yes, I think you've bumped into her. She was with her sis today at RP. :bsmilie:

littledigitalartist said:
wah.. i also want... ~arcanic~ do tell me if have, and if you got join... i always wanted to shoot chewling and haley... btw i saw someone that looks like chewling at republic poly... dunno if its her.. wanna ask but i :embrass: heh heh... :cool:

Virgo said:
Sure or not? TMC? ;p

Wah!! so rich!! fly back just to shoot model and then fly back!! wow!! :bigeyes:

Virgo must be berry happy to hear this!! :bsmilie:

Might as well fly back with some Jap models! :bsmilie:

Happy also no use. Must the model nod her head then can! ;p

Ashleyy said:
Wah!! so rich!! fly back just to shoot model and then fly back!! wow!! :bigeyes:

Virgo must be berry happy to hear this!! :bsmilie:

well I did ask Shiho when she can go to SG. but then her schedule is filled :(

I will be around for about 3 weeks this month. Hurry up and arrange something. :bsmilie:

TMC said:

I will be around for about 3 weeks this month. Hurry up and arrange something. :bsmilie:

U mean u coming back with some Jap models? then u shoot CL and we shoot jap models?? ;p
:lovegrin:

I thought you MIA liao...:bsmilie:

Shiho!!! You better bring her back by hook or by crook bro!

I try my best to apply some pressure on her lah...wish me luck...;)

TMC said:

Hi Virgo,

I'm not going to tell you Chew Ling is beautiful but I'm going to tell you why.

If you haven't extensively altered her appearance with Photoshop, she seems to have equally sized big eyes, double eyelids (though lacking long eyelashes which you could put fake ones on), a fairly sharp nose (for a Chinese), well shaped lips, straight and white teeth, and above all, although I'm no face expert, has symmetrical facial features. (Psychological studies have found that symmetrical features tend to be more attractive.) In addition, she has long straight hair, fair skin (both desirable in Asian societies), good complexion (who doesn't like that?), and is built into a socially-ideal size 8 (may be slightly off with size estimation).

Moreover, she has a child-like face, and in her images, appears capable of exuding child-like innocence, and these qualities are well-liked by many in Asia.

(In the western world which serves its own preferred flavour, women are often portrayed almost as hormonally-charged sexually-assertive nyphomaniacs, such as what you see in FHM or Maxim, even in Singapore editions. This flavour, though appearing to gain acceptance and popularity in Asia, doesn't swallow well with the more conservative Asian women.)

If I may say so, our world is cruelly unfair. The majority of people are average-looking or ugly, and a minority are blessed with attractive faces. With all brutal honesty, successful modeling is not for the majority.

There is no severe shortage of good-looking people (guys and gals) on the streets who didn't think of themselves as models and aren't motivated to become models. Some of these street-walking mall-roaming guys and gals may actually look much better than the ones who think of themselves as models and are motivated to become models. In my opinion and experience, there are pretty treasures to be found on the streets and in the malls although the ones who really sparkle are less than very few.

In all my correspondence with you by e-mail, I understand that Chew Ling is not managed by an agency, is represented by you, and I assume that you found her yourself. If you indeed found her, you found yourself a sparkling gem.

According to my not-famous theory which you don't have to subcribe to, I feel that having an attractive face in portrait images easily wins a photographer 50% of a 100-mark score. (Some people may violently object this but hey, I said I'm a nobody and you don't have to subcribe to my lousy theory.) The remaining 50% is scored by the photographer for his ideas, art-direction, styling, camera skills, etc.

Chew Ling (and her 50% score aside), you have also made excellent 50% contribution to the images. Although her images tend to be that overdone (what I call) pretty-girl-smiling-in-the-park-wearing-fashion theme, they exhibit (what I feel is) good styling. The choice of clothes and their colours seem to suggest that some considerable effort was applied. They are simple, classic but effective (as it usually should in images), such as in her Debut Shoot outfit 1 and outfit 3, and Third Official Shoot. The prettiest was the light blue dress and tiara/crown on her head with her hair was plaited. Someone did her styling, you or herself? Where did the clothes and accessories come from?

If you have and maintain a printed portfolio like I do, have you noticed how some photos are quickly replaced by something else newer and better than some others? The photos which persist to remain are true keepers, and I'm sure Chew Ling's would be keepers, hence my interest in photographing her.

As much as we photographers like to show (or show off) our work, I would recommend that you watermark your images. Not to sound pessimistic but while we would like to think that ClubSnap members are respectful photographers, we really don't live in a perfect world, and we never have total control over others. Leeching is not the only problem. Cyber impersonation, especially of a pretty girl, is a greater worry, and I know of female friends who have suffered this problem caused by the socially inept.

PS: I believe compliments should be awarded when they are deserved, and it would be great if Chew Ling read them.

Faintz!! so cheam..

To me, pretty is pretty, beautiful is beautiful... I dun think I wan to understand why...
My poor brains cannot take it.. lolx ;p

I cant, havent seen her since the MotorShow in Tokyo. Now dunno where she disappeared to, got TV spot as well so I guess she is not free anytime soon.

Virgo: You also by hook or by crook get CL out for a shoot.

Wow Jemapela, what a list of compliments for Chew Ling. I MUST TELL her to come and see what you've written for her, not forgetting to ask her to come into organised shoots again!

Well, getting to know her is purely by chance, as I got to know her friend; and yes, she's indeed a gem! However, because of her height, she may not be suitable for catwalk modelling. However, I would definitely say she's more than suitable to become a photographic model. The thing is, she needs to get her directions right, what she wanted to do in the near future, which is what she's going through now.

Thanks to the suggestion on the water-marking. When I decided to release the pics of Chew Ling, I already have made the assumption that the photos WILL be leeched. Anyway, it's just a showcase of what I've done for her. I'm sure hundreds, if no thousands, have already seen the pics; and any form of impersonation will be recognised by one of us immediately. I'm also sure that Chew Ling will simply laughed it off, knowing her outgoing and cheerful character.

Once again, I thank you for the compliments. I hope I'll be able to persuade her in doing shoots again. If you're back to Singapore again, do give me a call, and we'll work from there. Wish me luck. May the force be with me!

Jemapela said:
Hi Virgo,

I'm not going to tell you Chew Ling is beautiful but I'm going to tell you why.

If you haven't extensively altered her appearance with Photoshop, she seems to have equally sized big eyes, double eyelids (though lacking long eyelashes which you could put fake ones on), a fairly sharp nose (for a Chinese), well shaped lips, straight and white teeth, and above all, although I'm no face expert, has symmetrical facial features. (Psychological studies have found that symmetrical features tend to be more attractive.) In addition, she has long straight hair, fair skin (both desirable in Asian societies), good complexion (who doesn't like that?), and is built into a socially-ideal size 8 (may be slightly off with size estimation).

Moreover, she has a child-like face, and in her images, appears capable of exuding child-like innocence, and these qualities are well-liked by many in Asia.

(In the western world which serves its own preferred flavour, women are often portrayed almost as hormonally-charged sexually-assertive nyphomaniacs, such as what you see in FHM or Maxim, even in Singapore editions. This flavour, though appearing to gain acceptance and popularity in Asia, doesn't swallow well with the more conservative Asian women.)

If I may say so, our world is cruelly unfair. The majority of people are average-looking or ugly, and a minority are blessed with attractive faces. With all brutal honesty, successful modeling is not for the majority.

There is no severe shortage of good-looking people (guys and gals) on the streets who didn't think of themselves as models and aren't motivated to become models. Some of these street-walking mall-roaming guys and gals may actually look much better than the ones who think of themselves as models and are motivated to become models. In my opinion and experience, there are pretty treasures to be found on the streets and in the malls although the ones who really sparkle are less than very few.

In all my correspondence with you by e-mail, I understand that Chew Ling is not managed by an agency, is represented by you, and I assume that you found her yourself. If you indeed found her, you found yourself a sparkling gem.

According to my not-famous theory which you don't have to subcribe to, I feel that having an attractive face in portrait images easily wins a photographer 50% of a 100-mark score. (Some people may violently object this but hey, I said I'm a nobody and you don't have to subcribe to my lousy theory.) The remaining 50% is scored by the photographer for his ideas, art-direction, styling, camera skills, etc.

Chew Ling (and her 50% score aside), you have also made excellent 50% contribution to the images. Although her images tend to be that overdone (what I call) pretty-girl-smiling-in-the-park-wearing-fashion theme, they exhibit (what I feel is) good styling. The choice of clothes and their colours seem to suggest that some considerable effort was applied. They are simple, classic but effective (as it usually should in images), such as in her Debut Shoot outfit 1 and outfit 3, and Third Official Shoot. The prettiest was the light blue dress and tiara/crown on her head with her hair was plaited. Someone did her styling, you or herself? Where did the clothes and accessories come from?

If you have and maintain a printed portfolio like I do, have you noticed how some photos are quickly replaced by something else newer and better than some others? The photos which persist to remain are true keepers, and I'm sure Chew Ling's would be keepers, hence my interest in photographing her.

As much as we photographers like to show (or show off) our work, I would recommend that you watermark your images. Not to sound pessimistic but while we would like to think that ClubSnap members are respectful photographers, we really don't live in a perfect world, and we never have total control over others. Leeching is not the only problem. Cyber impersonation, especially of a pretty girl, is a greater worry, and I know of female friends who have suffered this problem caused by the socially inept.

PS: I believe compliments should be awarded when they are deserved, and it would be great if Chew Ling read them.

OK ladies and gentlemen, a show of hands who's interested in shooting CL again? I need to justify the number first.

Please continue the number if necessary. Thanks. :)

Virgo said:
Wow Jemapela, what a list of compliments for Chew Ling. I MUST TELL her to come and see what you've written for her, not forgetting to ask her to come into organised shoots again!

Well, getting to know her is purely by chance, as I got to know her friend; and yes, she's indeed a gem! However, because of her height, she may not be suitable for catwalk modelling. However, I would definitely say she's more than suitable to become a photographic model. The thing is, she needs to get her directions right, what she wanted to do in the near future, which is what she's going through now.

Thanks to the suggestion on the water-marking. When I decided to release the pics of Chew Ling, I already have made the assumption that the photos WILL be leeched. Anyway, it's just a showcase of what I've done for her. I'm sure hundreds, if no thousands, have already seen the pics; and any form of impersonation will be recognised by one of us immediately. I'm also sure that Chew Ling will simply laughed it off, knowing her outgoing and cheerful character.

Once again, I thank you for the compliments. I hope I'll be able to persuade her in doing shoots again. If you're back to Singapore again, do give me a call, and we'll work from there. Wish me luck. May the force be with me!

You're most welcome. Also remember that I've complimented you on your execution of such images though I wished I knew who styled her on your shoots.

Good luck to you.

I'm not keen on group shoots. I would prefer doing a solo shoot, or a joint effort with you (as I sometimes do with another close and skillful friend). Being in Australia, I'm able to provide some clothes/costumes/accessories not easily found in S'pore.