Slik Sprint Pro GM Tripod for $95

Anyone has any idea what the max load this tripod can hold?

it's for digital and compact cameras, so prob can't tahan too much weight

Originally posted by Juvelyn
it's for digital and compact cameras, so prob can't tahan too much weight

Yes, but how much exactly?

actually went down to CP yesterday to have a look at it......

it's only for small cameras...... dun think SLRs are recommended to be used on it.....

really small when everything is kept <-- very portable and rather lightweight
leg extends to 4 sections <-- makes it more un-steady
taller than me when fully extended <-- i'm around 1.7m
small ballhead <-- can't take much weight
removable ballhead <-- can change to something sturdier if you want

these are my impressions after 3 min with the tripod. :)

didn't get it in the end.

good for consumer/prosumer digital camera users....ball head is much easier to handle than a 2-axis head IMO...

but if u are going to upgrade to SLR/DSLR soon....then u will need a stronger one...

so desmondwong, do you think the g3 would fit fine with the tripod? would it be stable enuf?

just wanna know cuz i'm a newbie at this and not too sure whether i can judge myself when i bring my cam down to test...

Originally posted by mrbunglez
so desmondwong, do you think the g3 would fit fine with the tripod? would it be stable enuf?

just wanna know cuz i'm a newbie at this and not too sure whether i can judge myself when i bring my cam down to test...

Sure can! Have been using it for a few weeks oreadi, and i m using a 717 which is heavier than a G3. Very cool tripod indeed, luv it. Go AP and get it, they selling bout $78 now.

Should I get the Slik Sprint Pro GM or the Slik U6600 for my S45?
Any comments or recommendations?

Thanks in advance. :)

are you guys using the tripod as-is without a quick release? would buying a quick release make it weird or anything? tot maybe i'll get some cheap taiwanese quick release and attach it to the sprint pro gm la..

mrbunglez, why don't you make the trip down to CP to have a feel/look of the tripod.

IMHO, the stock ball head is really tiny but that fits the tripod just fine. if you're intending to change the ball head to something with a quick release, like the Manfrotto 352RC which is like one of the smaller ballheads CP has, it's gonna be a bit funny coz it'll make the whole setup lopsided ie top-heavy and might make it unstable.

actually i have been down to CP to check it out.. but didn't have my camera with me to test la.. IMO the original head it has on will be quite leceh cuz have to screwe and unscrewe my camera over and over... so actually the quick release thing was recommended by a CP person... but i'm not too familiar with quick releases.. ehhe.. so tot i'd just ask around... thanks for the quick response though! :)

think it can support a c2100uz?

quite interested in it leh.

oh i think i will sell the crumpler bag away if i get it.

cuz the bag too small for my camera..

the crumpler bag is really damn small man.. its actually quite useless... the sprint GM can gotten for about $80 elsewhere.. so the extra $15 is for the crumpler bag.. hahha.. i think they trying to clear stock. hehhe..

tried de tripod on my 717 yesterday at cathay photo; feels quite good. thinking of getting it. where to get it cheaper? AP? where is it huh? sorry i quite newbie. wats de best price u can get for it? broke my old tripod so thinking of gettin a new one;broke 2 tripods oredi!!!! any good recommendations??

thanks

Originally posted by z122
tried de tripod on my 717 yesterday at cathay photo; feels quite good. thinking of getting it. where to get it cheaper? AP? where is it huh? sorry i quite newbie. wats de best price u can get for it? broke my old tripod so thinking of gettin a new one;broke 2 tripods oredi!!!! any good recommendations??

thanks

Hi Z122, u can get it from AP or Ms Colour at $75-$78.

okie. thanks. think will go down later wif my cam n try it out again... yippeee...new tripod!!

Would a Minolta 7hi be too big for it?