Singapore Motorshow

Galdor

Hi fellow Minoltians,

sorry to trouble you guys again. I intend to go visit the Motorshow sometime this week with my wife and thinking of taking some pictures. This is the first time i'm attempting to take pictures with a DSLR in a Motorshow. Just to confirm if my set up is sufficient and what do i need to look out for. I intend to use the following for the shoot

KM7D
KM 18-70mm Kit Lens
Tamron 28-300mm
3600HS

Please comment & advise.

Thanks. :thumbsup:

im worried abt using those lens indoors, but i guess the flash shd be ok to cover the slow lens aperture

Hi fellow Minoltians,

sorry to trouble you guys again. I intend to go visit the Motorshow sometime this week with my wife and thinking of taking some pictures. This is the first time i'm attempting to take pictures with a DSLR in a Motorshow. Just to confirm if my set up is sufficient and what do i need to look out for. I intend to use the following for the shoot

KM7D
KM 18-70mm Kit Lens
Tamron 28-300mm
3600HS

Please comment & advise.

eh, got time we go together, but only free on sunday... too bad...

Will it help if I shoot with a 50mm f1.7 or at ISO 800? Heard that a lot of fellow CSers suffered from off WB also. :( Hopefully my pictures will turn out fine.

eh, got time we go together, but only free on sunday... too bad...

It's my wife's birthday on Friday and the last time we went together was like more than 7 years ago (on her birthday also) when she was still expecting our first child. So we are thinking of reviving that memory. :bsmilie:

u so old liao ar... :think:

7 years ago u shoot film, now u relieve by shooting digital? :bsmilie:

50mm usually is a better choice for low lighting condition, probably bring the light kit lens along to cover the wide range. 28-300mm is more for the head shots.

Is it a good ideal to bring wife along and shoot the models in the car show :sweat: ?

u so old liao ar... :think:

7 years ago u shoot film, now u relieve by shooting digital? :bsmilie:

Ha...ha. :bsmilie: Ya lor, I old man already. But new to digital & photography. :bsmilie:

50mm usually is a better choice for low lighting condition, probably bring the light kit lens along to cover the wide range. 28-300mm is more for the head shots.

Is it a good ideal to bring wife along and shoot the models in the car show :sweat: ?

Thanks for the advise bro.

Aiyah, my wife quite ok one lah. Old couple already mah. :bsmilie:

Galdor,

In all honesty, my answer will be depend on what you want to get.... Portrait of the cars? then 18-70 is more than enough.

Try not to use flash.. turn to Manual mode and shoot with manual for better control over the exposure (darn super reflective area). TTL metering is easily fool by those extreme reflective index.

Use tripod or monopod if you can, if not, try to lean yourself on something if you are taking low light, also rate your ISO to ISO800 or so... and try to overexpose 1/3 stop more.

All the best and just enjoy the shoot... Post some shots when you come back...

Hart

I'm planning to go there this saturday..
I'm hoping my 28/2.8 and 90/2.8 will perform well for such lighting condition,
it'll be my first time taking those lens for a real show-event.

If you do use 50mm at f1.7 the DOF is shallow, watch where your focus is.

If shooting car only, bring tripod (not sure if this is allowed). Can try circular polarizer as well to reduce highly reflective part.

Where's EOW, been very quiet ? He shoot motor show before can ask for his guidance.

Thanks bro. Will take note.

If you do use 50mm at f1.7 the DOF is shallow, watch where your focus is.

If shooting car only, bring tripod (not sure if this is allowed). Can try circular polarizer as well to reduce highly reflective part.

Where's EOW, been very quiet ? He shoot motor show before can ask for his guidance.
He is reservicing in AU.

I'm really confused now, don't know what to bring for the shoot. Can any bros help me on this please? Please pardon me as I'm a poor man who can only afford cheap lens :embrass: and here is my line up:

Minolta 28-80 f3.5-5.6
Minolta 28-105 f3.5-4.5
Minolta 18-70 f3.5-5.6
Minolta 75-300 f4.5-5.6
Tamron 28-300 f3.5-6.3
Sigma 17-35 f2.8-4
Sigma 21-35 f3.5-4.2
Sigma 70-300(APO) f4-5.6
Tokina 28-210 f3.5-5.6

Thanks

Hmm.. I think this combination should be good enough.
Tokina 28-210 f3.5-5.6
and
Sigma 17-35 f2.8-4

For me, if I'm going, I'll be using these 2 lens: KM 28-75 f2.8 and KM 135mm f2.8. ;)

I think 28mm should be wide enough to capture the whole car. :sweat:

I'm really confused now, don't know what to bring for the shoot. Can any bros help me on this please? Please pardon me as I'm a poor man who can only afford cheap lens :embrass: and here is my line up:

Minolta 28-80 f3.5-5.6
Minolta 28-105 f3.5-4.5
Minolta 18-70 f3.5-5.6
Minolta 75-300 f4.5-5.6
Tamron 28-300 f3.5-6.3
Sigma 17-35 f2.8-4
Sigma 21-35 f3.5-4.2
Sigma 70-300(APO) f4-5.6
Tokina 28-210 f3.5-5.6

Thanks

If you want to get the full car, go with the 17-35mm. starting with a 28mm may not get you the full car, depending on the working space you have based on the crowd. Would be even harder if you want to get the model in too.

If you are taking portrait pics with the model, anything to cover 50mm would be good. The 28-105mm would be good. At the Lambo booth, the models often sit in the car, which is about 3-7m (depending on where you are standing) from the barrier.

Just some examples to share:

Shot of the :ambo Gallardo, shooting at 40mm
p1051815697-3.jpg

Shot of the LP460, shooting at 70mm (this car is in the centre of the whole display)
p1065277403-3.jpg

Shot of the Ferrari F1, at 28mm, right behind the car
p554108227-3.jpg

Hmm.. I think this combination should be good enough.
Tokina 28-210 f3.5-5.6
and
Sigma 17-35 f2.8-4

For me, if I'm going, I'll be using these 2 lens: KM 28-75 f2.8 and KM 135mm f2.8. ;)

I think 28mm should be wide enough to capture the whole car. :sweat:

Hi fellow Minoltians,

KM7D
KM 18-70mm Kit Lens
Tamron 28-300mm
3600HS

Please comment & advise.

The kit lens and flash is everything I need to bring for the motorshow.
With everything setup and strap on neck, my camera bag will be very light and will not be a burden when photographing.

If u have a choice between a Sigma 18-50 f2.8 and the CZ 16-80, which one would u choose to use at such event as the motorshow?

I intend to get the Sigma even though the CZ lens is coming.

Having had the chance to handle the CZ 135mm, I would choose the CZ 16-80. But bear in mine that you lose out on the f-stop (in comparision to Sigma you mentioned). In the context of shooting cars at a motorshow, it would still be ok since you wouldn't want the DOF to be too shallow anyway.

If u have a choice between a Sigma 18-50 f2.8 and the CZ 16-80, which one would u choose to use at such event as the motorshow?

I intend to get the Sigma even though the CZ lens is coming.