SIGMA EF 500 SUPER DG (Minolta Mount) IS OUT!!!!!

roon2c

Hi guys,

This flash is on sale in Singapore. :rbounce:
FotoGuide are carrying them. I asked the uncle and he told me its SGD 330. Anyone planning to buy then?

Originally posted by roon2c
Hi guys,

This flash is on sale in Singapore. :rbounce:
FotoGuide are carrying them. I asked the uncle and he told me its SGD 330. Anyone planning to buy then?

IS this the 3600 or 5600 challenger ?

Originally posted by Snapper

IS this the 3600 or 5600 challenger ?

Yups. I've checked the price for 3600 is SGD 260 & the 5600 is ard SGD 550++. The Sigma Super can do nearly everything the 5600 + can do EVERTHING the 3600 can do and better than it and it's only priced at SGD 330.... to me it's the best deal of all :D
:rbounce: :rbounce: :rbounce:

Yep .. I think I read ... it has ADI etc etc ...

but do not know whether got compatibility problems.

Yep .. I think I read ... it has ADI etc etc ...

but do not know whether got compatibility problems.

if u read the official site in Sigma, it is stated tht it was designed to work with our cams as it was shown at Photokina last year :p

it can do offshoe wireless too? dun need master?
paiseh me not mino user...

Originally posted by denizenx
it can do offshoe wireless too? dun need master?
paiseh me not mino user...

yah... can do offshoe wireless. But i dun understand the definations over there. There's 2 mode for wireless if i not mistaken. I dun have wireless..... :p

offshoe wireless is in most mid-high SLR models? the Dynax 5 got right? the old 5xx also have right?
sigma also comes with optical slave usually (that's "wireless")

Originally posted by denizenx

offshoe wireless is in most mid-high SLR models? the Dynax 5 got right? the old 5xx also have right?
sigma also comes with optical slave usually (that's "wireless")

Dunno.... i dun shoot film... ask 9lives..... anyway, this is wat was writen in the chart.

It can go TTL Wireless but not Manual wireless on Minolta.
TTL and Manual onli available on Canon
TTL for Sigma and none on Nikon.

Haiyah... u go to the Sigma site see lor...... but i dunno watz the diff between Manual & TTL Wireless ler.. Anyone can enlighten me, pls? THank u.... :D

Someone in the Forum posted this before ... can't claim credit for this ... ;)

This site http://home.imcnet.net/~waltsman/flash.html

The guy is a professional photographer that uses 35 mm cams with Wireless Flashes from Minolta.

By the way, I am still learning an after the few couple of lines, I find myself confused and tired ... hee hee ... so have not gone too much into it.

Snapper>>> u interested in getting the flash?

Keen ... but really do not know if I need it ... but if the features are better then the 5600 .. quite keen ... but at this mood of eagerness ... I have already spent alot on my cam ... trying to hold up ... worried that it is not good ... the compatibility

Snapper: I might be getting one in March. Maybe we can buy together then might get a better price. hehehe

Can consider ... but worried abt compatibility. I think the Monolta 3600 would serve my needs ... but with less then a hundred more , could consider the Sigma as it is a 5600 Equivalent.

But I have over shot my budget ... filters, bags ... also looking for a good and sturdy Tripod.

BTW, is it cheaper to buy the 7 Series Cameras in Malaysia ? It is afterall made in Malaysia.

Nope. It's cheaper in Spore. Btw, it is not made in Malaysia, it is only assembled in Malaysia.

Intel & AMD cpus also assembled in Malaysia wat, but i dun see it cheaper here. :p

I'm planning to bring my cam to test it on the spot at the store in March. If everything goes right, I'll be getting it :D

Nope. It's cheaper in Spore. Btw, it is not made in Malaysia, it is only assembled in Malaysia.

Intel & AMD cpus also assembled in Malaysia wat, but i dun see it cheaper here. :p

I'm planning to bring my cam to test it on the spot at the store in March. If everything goes right, I'll be getting it :D

Thanks for the info ... you are in JB right ?

Anyway, I think the taxes are alittle higher on electronic goods in Malaysia.

Wah ... you already planning to get the flash already ? Let us know your plans and the outcome of the test ... there is this ich that actually makes me wanna get it but .... over spent already :embrass:

Thanks for the info ... you are in JB right ?

Anyway, I think the taxes are alittle higher on electronic goods in Malaysia.

Wah ... you already planning to get the flash already ? Let us know your plans and the outcome of the test ... there is this ich that actually makes me wanna get it but .... over spent already :embrass:

Yupz. I'm from JB.

Err.... I'm not too sure with the electronic goods tax in Malaysia. But if u r refering to computer devices, photographic equipments and watches..... it is definately tax free over here....

One of the reason y it is mroe xpensive over here is due to the exchange rate.

I've been waiting for the flash for a long time.... I can only find time to come after my finals until mid of march. I'm still waiting for the result posting by someone who've bought the flash... Personally, i'll be bring my cam to test the results from the flash before buying..... I want the 5600 but too expensive and over my budget.... the 3600 is within my budget but..... cannot swivel.... sigh.............

The only consideration I have is that the AF does not work .. It is important as during weddings or indoor shots, the AF would really help a lot.

Sad to say, it does not work for our Cam ... so ...

But I also notice that for indoor shots, the in built flash is really not enough ... I could wait a while more but ... photography is something like ... the equiptment should be available before taking the shot ...

But I do like the camera alot except for the Err problem ... do not know if it is becoz of the batteries.

tot roon2c is talking about IS lens. :(

Originally posted by ninelives
tot roon2c is talking about IS lens. :(

9lives>>> HUH???? All the while this whole thread's abt Sigma's new flash wat :p

Snapper>> wat ERR problem???