Should I buy or wait

Buy or Wait

Bro,

I've been eyeing that lens for sometime too (about a year) but ended up throwing all my yen to the 5Dmk2. But since then I am pretty happy with my current 24-70/5Dmk2 set up for most of the weddings, street and misc pictures and 35L for controlled environments. Figured out that there are not many nice streets here I need to "snipe" lens food :)

IMHO, this lens is superb and with all these huge events coming up, you WILL need the reach and 2.8 since getting to the front might be impossible. But the street price of it is going up and you just missed the B&H rebate for the lens.

I will go chk out the events so if it's possible I might come down to join you and "solicit" your new lens if you do buy it...;)

hello, i personally own a 70-200 F4 non IS lens,
great lens to have not exactly very heavy as compared to the f2.8.
the problem with this lens is that u don't really use it very often(at least for my case).
although u might get great photos off the lens u must consider how often do u use it.
u're spending 2-3k for the lens and if u use it just for the few events, i suggest u just rent it no point buying it. although u might think that the renting fees might cover like 10% of the cost of the lens but its still better than buying it and using it for few times and keeping it in the dry cabi.
thats just my personal opinion u might think differently.

In this case... I would like to know the meaning of ''Often''
How often will be consider often?

As many ppl did mentioned lens is a long term investment.
meaning you can use it for many many years if you maintaining well and good.

so if the usage is may be 3 to 4 times per months or may be lower....
but you'll be owning the lens for many years.....So that will make it that you use it often....
am I correct.....????

For myself I never think of selling any lens yet...
Cos I felt I'll use it for long.....no matter how is usage is high or low.

But I don't really understand is...
ppl keep saying that they didn't use it often, so they would like to sell it..
and they could buy other lens that would use it more often compare to the previous owned lens.....
So what is the real meaning of using it more often???

Like what ppl said... some lens is for different usage.
so that may not apply for some usage.....

I also saw some thread complaint abt DSLR is so heavy and dont want to bring out for holiday trips and just bring a Pro P&S... So what is the meaning of getting a DSLR in the first place?

For me buying this lens in already in my shopping list...
I will buy it... Just a matter of time when to get it.....

P/S : This is my point of view only....

I've been saving up to get this Lens.
and finally I'm ready to get this lens 70-200mm F2.8L IS USM.

For the past few months been reading many good review on this lens and also rumors also...
Rumors or predication said another new version will in releasing soon for this lens.
A new hybrid IS for this lens.....

So now should I wait a bit more or just buy...

From canon rumors...
http://www.canonrumors.com/2009/08/upcoming-releases-cr3/

It seems there is a possibility there won't be a new 70-200 f2.8 with hybrid IS..
So you may purchased now?

In this case... I would like to know the meaning of ''Often''
How often will be consider often?

so if the usage is may be 3 to 4 times per months or may be lower....
but you'll be owning the lens for many years.....So that will make it that you use it often....
am I correct.....????

For myself I never think of selling any lens yet...
Cos I felt I'll use it for long.....no matter how is usage is high or low.

But I don't really understand is...
ppl keep saying that they didn't use it often, so they would like to sell it..
and they could buy other lens that would use it more often compare to the previous owned lens.....
So what is the real meaning of using it more often???

Like what ppl said... some lens is for different usage.
so that may not apply for some usage.....

I also saw some thread complaint abt DSLR is so heavy and dont want to bring out for holiday trips and just bring a Pro P&S... So what is the meaning of getting a DSLR in the first place?

For me buying this lens in already in my shopping list...
I will buy it... Just a matter of time when to get it.....

P/S : This is my point of view only....

TS, if you have already made up your mind. Go get it. After getting the system, you can re-evaluate your needs and wants. For my case, I got the lens based on the many recommendations and reviews. I also feel at that time that this one lens will be cheaper than buying multiple primes from 85 - 200mm. It is a great lens to own. My views start to change after getting and using it.

Bringing it out locally, not an issue coz I drive. But bringing it for travel especially backpack or non-photography trips, big problem. Reason is every gram counts and this is not the only lens I am bringing along. The size and bulk of this lens with hood and tripod collar is also not convenient. You leave it on camera, too heavy for neck. You leave it on belt, hinders movement. You keep it in bag, quite inconvenient to change lens. And you can't like leave it behind as you move from place to place.

As to the issue of how often is often, this is subjective. For me, this lens has been sitting in my dry cab for the past 6 months. I would not consider mounting it for my normal usage coz of the weight. Since I am not going to be using it at all, I might as well consider selling it away. If you are going to use it 3-4 times a month, I think that is quite ok, isn't it?

If you can accept the weight and works with this focal length most of the time, this would be a great lens to have.

Just sharing my experience.

Bro,

I've been eyeing that lens for sometime too (about a year) but ended up throwing all my yen to the 5Dmk2. But since then I am pretty happy with my current 24-70/5Dmk2 set up for most of the weddings, street and misc pictures and 35L for controlled environments. Figured out that there are not many nice streets here I need to "snipe" lens food :)

IMHO, this lens is superb and with all these huge events coming up, you WILL need the reach and 2.8 since getting to the front might be impossible. But the street price of it is going up and you just missed the B&H rebate for the lens.

I will go chk out the events so if it's possible I might come down to join you and "solicit" your new lens if you do buy it...;)

Hello Bro..!!!
Finally see you in CS…!! I mean see your Nick in CS....wah wah wah…

Oh I wasn't aware that you also eyeing on this lens too..
But I felt you did a right choice upgraded to 5D MKii.

I think for you, while shooting with ur 5D mounted with 24-70mm and 580Ex. I think the weight is almost the same as 50D mounted with 70-200mm f2.8L IS USM… If I’m correct.
I felt so far you are still managing well bcos till today I have not hear any complaint from you abt the weight……

Don’t said that… everywhere there are many interesting pix to shots..
Just need to be at the right time at the right place.
I saw many magazine in Japan, they published all those nice photos in Nagano and
Guess what..!!! most of the pix is using 70-200mm..!!!:bigeyes:

Yes, this lens is good and everyone know it
But most of the ppl just turn off due to the weight….
There are so many event going now… the problem is whether I have the time or not…. Not the problem can I bring my lens out or not..

Saw the rebated has ended..!!! couple of days back I was banging my head..!!!! ;(

"solicit" meaning physically or financially support me???
Or you become my tripods holding my lens while I’m shooting….???? Hee hee hee..

Once again bro… thanks for the advice….!!! ;)

TS, if you have already made up your mind. Go get it. After getting the system, you can re-evaluate your needs and wants. For my case, I got the lens based on the many recommendations and reviews. I also feel at that time that this one lens will be cheaper than buying multiple primes from 85 - 200mm. It is a great lens to own. My views start to change after getting and using it.

Bringing it out locally, not an issue coz I drive. But bringing it for travel especially backpack or non-photography trips, big problem. Reason is every gram counts and this is not the only lens I am bringing along. The size and bulk of this lens with hood and tripod collar is also not convenient. You leave it on camera, too heavy for neck. You leave it on belt, hinders movement. You keep it in bag, quite inconvenient to change lens. And you can't like leave it behind as you move from place to place.

As to the issue of how often is often, this is subjective. For me, this lens has been sitting in my dry cab for the past 6 months. I would not consider mounting it for my normal usage coz of the weight. Since I am not going to be using it at all, I might as well consider selling it away. If you are going to use it 3-4 times a month, I think that is quite ok, isn't it?

If you can accept the weight and works with this focal length most of the time, this would be a great lens to have.

Just sharing my experience.

Yes, I’m already decided to get this lens.
Now is just the timing issue…….ahhhhh….

I have the same impression from you too.
Reading all the reviews and recommendations

Prime lens is good but I don’t think I willing to carry so many prime lens.
The weight will be much heavy to manage compare to this lens.

Anyway in japan, I saw many ppl carry heavy equipments on their back or shoulder.
Took the public transports going from places to places or other prefecture for shooting and events.

I did visited many events in Japan, saw many ppl using this lens or bigger lens and some mounted with flash.
But some of them are not pro or paid photographer as they just doing it for hobby.
When I saw them doing that, I really wanted to knee down on them. (Not real just a shock expression)

Overall thank you so much for sharing your experience.
I will take note of all these points.

Hello Bro..!!!
Finally see you in CS…!! I mean see your Nick in CS....wah wah wah…

Oh I wasn't aware that you also eyeing on this lens too..
But I felt you did a right choice upgraded to 5D MKii.

I think for you, while shooting with ur 5D mounted with 24-70mm and 580Ex. I think the weight is almost the same as 50D mounted with 70-200mm f2.8L IS USM… If I’m correct.
I felt so far you are still managing well bcos till today I have not hear any complaint from you abt the weight……

Don’t said that… everywhere there are many interesting pix to shots..
Just need to be at the right time at the right place.
I saw many magazine in Japan, they published all those nice photos in Nagano and
Guess what..!!! most of the pix is using 70-200mm..!!!:bigeyes:

Yes, this lens is good and everyone know it
But most of the ppl just turn off due to the weight….
There are so many event going now… the problem is whether I have the time or not…. Not the problem can I bring my lens out or not..

Saw the rebated has ended..!!! couple of days back I was banging my head..!!!! ;(

"solicit" meaning physically or financially support me???
Or you become my tripods holding my lens while I’m shooting….???? Hee hee hee..

Once again bro… thanks for the advice….!!! ;)

Hey no prob...

Not sure but there seems to be rumors that the Japanese keep the Japan Domestic Models (JDM) ones which are better for the local market and export the rest out so you are still safe getting one in Japan. But then again these are just rumors...:dunno:

Here in Nagano, famous sceneries are good for UWA like the lush fields and mountains...not sure about using the 70-200 here unless you are into birds and stuffs.

The weight of the 5D2 / 24-70 combo still manageable since I don't hang them on my neck. I think most people here are put off by 70-200's weight, size, storage and amount of usage. Unless photography is raking in the money as a profession, hobby photogs are usually not willing to subject themselves to these factors.

IMHO, photography FOR ME is about the spontaneous capture of fleeting moments of daily life so it's better to have it than need it and not have it. That aside, you might want to "hide" the 70-200 when you are walking around since it's pretty menacing and bright. Will also attract a lot of attention as well unless you don't mind. Don't worry I am damn sure you will love this lens and bring it out for walks every now and then.

Solicit I mean "seduce" your big white to my 5D2 ;p

Hey no prob...

Not sure but there seems to be rumors that the Japanese keep the Japan Domestic Models (JDM) ones which are better for the local market and export the rest out so you are still safe getting one in Japan. But then again these are just rumors...

Here in Nagano, famous sceneries are good for UWA like the lush fields and mountains...not sure about using the 70-200 here unless you are into birds and stuffs.

The weight of the 5D2 / 24-70 combo still manageable since I don't hang them on my neck. I think most people here are put off by 70-200's weight, size, storage and amount of usage. Unless photography is raking in the money as a profession, hobby photogs are usually not willing to subject themselves to these factors.

IMHO, photography FOR ME is about the spontaneous capture of fleeting moments of daily life so it's better to have it than need it and not have it. That aside, you might want to "hide" the 70-200 when you are walking around since it's pretty menacing and bright. Will also attract a lot of attention as well unless you don't mind. Don't worry I am damn sure you will love this lens and bring it out for walks every now and then.

Solicit I mean "seduce" your big white to my 5D2 ;p

Hmmmmm.......... Thanks for the rumors...
Like that you are making me.. wanted to get it in Japan more than export from USA.. :think:

Ya..you should get a UWA lens....;)

Is still depending on individual interest lor....

Last time I visited one of the indoor event and using 24-105mm
Due to the poor lighting... most of my pix is turn badly...
So I felt getting a bigger LENS will help for my shooting..
esp the on-coming Tokyo Motor Show in Nov 2009. You want to join me???

Dont worries abt attract attention in japan..
I felt Tokyo ppl they dont really care at all...
They only bother themselves more rather than other ppl...
I think the attention will be those tourist that visiting here.....
But I also dont care.....If I really want to avoid it...
I think should camouflage with lens coat.... :bsmilie:

OK... come over and see whether this big white elephant will jump over to your 5DMkii or not...:sweatsm:

If you will use it, get it now and don't look back.
If you don't need it, rent it instead of letting a new set look pretty in yr dry-cab.
Spend $$$ on CS4 and a Wacom :thumbsup:

Hmmmmm.......... Thanks for the rumors...
Like that you are making me.. wanted to get it in Japan more than export from USA.. :think:

Ya..you should get a UWA lens....

Is still depending on individual interest lor....

Last time I visited one of the indoor event and using 24-105mm
Due to the poor lighting... most of my pix is turn badly...
So I felt getting a bigger LENS will help for my shooting..
esp the on-coming Tokyo Motor Show in Nov 2009. You want to join me???

Dont worries abt attract attention in japan..
I felt Tokyo ppl they dont really care at all...
They only bother themselves more rather than other ppl...
I think the attention will be those tourist that visiting here.....
But I also dont care.....If I really want to avoid it...
I think should camouflage with lens coat.... :bsmilie:

OK... come over and see whether this big white elephant will jump over to your 5DMkii or not...:sweatsm:

And that was the main reason why I chose the 24-70 over the 24-105 just for the 2.8 in low light without flash conditions. Weight was never the issue with the 24-70 even till now...I will always bring my 35L just incase I need to go lower than 2.8. ;p

Indoor event not sure if you have enuff space to use for the 70-200...

Tokyo Car show sounds fun...fill me in on the details and pls make it to the Samurai event in Oct.

Hmmm :think: I will definitely want to "man handle" your big white elephant maybe for covert sniper videos...

If you will use it, get it now and don't look back.
If you don't need it, rent it instead of letting a new set look pretty in yr dry-cab.
Spend $$$ on CS4 and a Wacom :thumbsup:

Thank for the advice..!!

Yes, I will use it...
simply in Japan I can use it for street shooting.... Here they are many interesting shots.
That is the reason why I want to buy this lens. and also I can bring it out for events shots too.
and F2.8 will help me if the lighting condition is poor.

I'm not a PRO taking photos to earn as a living, So I'll pass CS4 and Wacom. :sweatsm:

And that was the main reason why I chose the 24-70 over the 24-105 just for the 2.8 in low light without flash conditions. Weight was never the issue with the 24-70 even till now...I will always bring my 35L just incase I need to go lower than 2.8. ;p

Indoor event not sure if you have enuff space to use for the 70-200...

Tokyo Car show sounds fun...fill me in on the details and pls make it to the Samurai event in Oct.

Hmmm :think: I will definitely want to "man handle" your big white elephant maybe for covert sniper videos...

I also thinking of getting this lens too..But I think will use it for indoor usage or low light condition.
But 24-105 I mainly use it for walk about lens for me. but in low light is doesn't doing well.
have to pump up ISO.
So 24-70mm will be night use and 24-105mm for day usage.

Sure no problem I'll keep you posted...
For the Samurai event... Let me check my schedule again...

I dont think this lens will jump or fly over to my 5D MKii...bcos is to fat..

OK, Coming back to the lens again...
I think 100% sure I'll go for this lens....now is just timing issue..;(

I also thinking of getting this lens too..But I think will use it for indoor usage or low light condition.
But 24-105 I mainly use it for walk about lens for me. but in low light is doesn't doing well.
have to pump up ISO.
So 24-70mm will be night use and 24-105mm for day usage.

Sure no problem I'll keep you posted...
For the Samurai event... Let me check my schedule again...

I dont think this lens will jump or fly over to my 5D MKii...bcos is to fat..

OK, Coming back to the lens again...
I think 100% sure I'll go for this lens....now is just timing issue..;(

If there is no hurry I say wait until at least the Canon Sept announcement then decide...the street price for this lens is slowly picking up but I don't know what's the force behind it.

If you really need it like right now then no choice...:)

If there is no hurry I say wait until at least the Canon Sept announcement then decide...the street price for this lens is slowly picking up but I don't know what's the force behind it.

If you really need it like right now then no choice...:)

yes, really don't understand why the price went up.
Don't really see any reason for that.
Now the market is still recovering and ppl holding back on their
purchasing. Yet the pricing still going up.... Sian...

I also thinking of wait until sept since is just a few days left.
So just hold on for a few days first...
Since I already been waited for couple months.
Why not just wait for another few more days :angel:

Thanks for e advice!!!!

Thank for the advice..!!

Yes, I will use it...
simply in Japan I can use it for street shooting.... Here they are many interesting shots.
That is the reason why I want to buy this lens. and also I can bring it out for events shots too.
and F2.8 will help me if the lighting condition is poor.

I'm not a PRO taking photos to earn as a living, So I'll pass CS4 and Wacom. :sweatsm:

The key decision for me to get the 24-70 was the advantage to shoot in low light conditions

Bro,

Second that, 5D2 with the 24-70 can cover almost anything :D but i choose to bring my 70-200mm around all the time too

Dear TS, I think you should buy the lens and enjoy it. Life is short. Do what you love with passion.

One other thing though, please avoid thinking that buying cameras or camera lenses are good investments. They are not. Lenses and cameras depreciate in value. That in itself makes it a lousy investment. Only in some rare instances do old lenses appreciate in value and I doubt that will happen to any modern Canon or Nikon lenses.

why not just wait for a couple of weeks. dun think the lens price will shoot rocket high unless EOL...

Second that, 5D2 with the 24-70 can cover almost anything :D but i choose to bring my 70-200mm around all the time too

24-70mm is in my shopping list....
thanks for the advice....

Dear TS, I think you should buy the lens and enjoy it. Life is short. Do what you love with passion.

One other thing though, please avoid thinking that buying cameras or camera lenses are good investments. They are not. Lenses and cameras depreciate in value. That in itself makes it a lousy investment. Only in some rare instances do old lenses appreciate in value and I doubt that will happen to any modern Canon or Nikon lenses.

Yes, I know that too..
PASSION is the word..!!!! :)

NO NO....:nono: I never think of that..
Buying lens or camera is never a investment. In term of resale value and there isn't at all...

Thanks for the advice...!!!

why not just wait for a couple of weeks. dun think the lens price will shoot rocket high unless EOL...

Yes, I hold it now... and wait for a while first....
Thanks..!!!