Shop opposite John 3:16

I have been going shop-to-shop personally for the past 2 weeks for lenses and camera bag. Thanks to this thread, I learnt of SLR Revo (across J316) and add it to my visits.
My opinions of these shops:

Cathay @Peninsula:
Service: OK, never outstanding (maybe not for regulars)
Quotation: Always the highest but one can use visa with no additional charge
Product range: Good, need no introduction.
Item bought recently: Manfrotto 190CX3 in Oct 2009 because of special offer.

Orients (Sim Lim)
Service: The fair complexion young man is good but not the other guy with short hair. Talking loudly to his 2 regulars or friend to help look out for anyone trying to steal when I was next to them. WTF.
Quotation: Average, cheap but not the cheapest for the item that I am look for.
Range of products: Good variety of camera bags.
Item bought recently: Nearly buy from them but decided against it after hearing the comment from the GI boy. Too bad.

Alan Photo (Sim Lim):
Service: Used to be good but has seen declined.
Quotation: Quotation never consistent, especially recent years. If not careful, one may be 'knocked'.
Item bought: Panasonic FZ10 and 2 PnS Digital cameras in the past.

John 316:
Service: Very good, especially Samuel. Good product knowledge and very willing to let customers (first-timer like me) to test out high-end lenses.
Quotation: Definitely better than Cathay but not flexible at time in price negotiation. Only accept cash, pay more for Visa. No Net payment.
Item bought recently: Would very much love to buy my L lens from them but quotation is higher by tens of dollar. Should their drop their price by $5, I am happy to buy the Lowepro bag from them even though I got a cheaper quote from MS Color by another $5.

SLR Revo (opp J316):
Service: Very good. Very willing to let customers try out their L lenses. Technical knowledge, so so.
Quotation: BEST IN CLASS. Quotation (cash) not negotiable but irresistible.
Product range: Normal. Some selections of bags.
Item bought recently: Canon 70-200 L lens, Hoya HD UV filter and a Lowepro Fastpack in Nov 2009.

I have been going shop-to-shop personally for the past 2 weeks for lenses and camera bag. Thanks to this thread, I learnt of SLR Revo (across J316) and add it to my visits.
My opinions of these shops:

Cathay @Peninsula:
Service: OK, never outstanding (maybe not for regulars)
Quotation: Always the highest but one can use visa with no additional charge
Item bought recently: Manfrotto 190CX3 in Oct 2009 because of special offer.

Orients (Sim Lim)
Service: The fair complexion young man is good but not the other guy with short hair. Talking loudly to his 2 regulars or friend to help look out for anyone trying to steal when I was next to them. WTF.
Quotation: Average, cheap but not the cheapest for the item that I am look for.
Range of products: Good variety of camera bags.
Item bought recently: Nearly buy from them but decided against it after hearing the comment from the GI boy. Too bad.

Alan Photo (Sim Lim):
Service: Used to be good but has seen declined.
Quotation: Quotation never consistent, especially recent years. If not careful, one may be 'knocked'.
Item bought: Panasonic FZ10 and 2 PnS Digital cameras in the past.

John 316:
Service: Very good, especially Samuel. Good product knowledge and very willing to let customers (first-timer like me) to test out high-end lenses.
Quotation: Definitely better than Cathay but not flexible at time in price negotiation. Only accept cash, pay more for Visa. No Net payment.
Item bought recently: Would very much love to buy my L lens from them but quotation is higher by tens of dollar. Should their drop their price by $5, I am happy to buy the Lowepro bag from them even though I got a cheaper quote from MS Color by another $5.

SLR Revo (opp J316):
Service: Very good. Very willing to let customers try out their L lenses. Technical knowledge, so so.
Quotation: BEST IN CLASS. Quotation (cash) not negotiable but irresistible.
Product range: Normal. Some selections of bags.
Item bought recently: Canon 70-200 L lens, Hoya HD UV filter and a Lowepro Fastpack in Nov 2009.

hi,
does any of these shops provide installment plan?

I work just above there (i.e. Challenger).

Went today at lunch, was fairly busy but they still attend to me within a minute of me entering the shop. Got quoted a price of $190 for the Sony 50mm f1.8. Went to Alan Photo to ask, but what a turn-off, go there they see me like small kid, don't want to entertain me. When I asked them just one word reply, lol. Can't remember who I talked to, but I remember he was quite heavyset.

Most probably going to end up buying from them due to sheer convenience, great service and very competitive pricing. Going to ask them about original battery once I remember what battery my camera uses.

Feel a bit paiseh though, keep on go in ask for prices of stuff but end up not buying due to lack of funds. Had I known that this place sold things so cheap, I wouldn't have gone to Harvey Norman and kena 'chop' with RRP. Haha.

Well, I set Jason to get an e-quote on Thursday, but until today (Saturday) I never got a reply.

Oh well . . . . back to the usual shops then . . . . :dunno:

I called him on his day-off. Said he will call back, and sure he called back about 2 hours later. No stock but still quote me the price. :thumbsup::thumbsup:

Went to the shop today to look-see, very fast service, altho the guy who attended to me was not too familiar with the bags. But really no issue as can't expect them to know all

AP-Funan has really rubbish service. If you ask the bald guy for the price of an item, he'll just tell you the price without looking at you. Totally no mood to buy after experiencing this level of service:thumbsd:

Well at least he helps you to save money:thumbsup:

Agree! AP-Funan has rubbish service.

Just sent an E-quote request to SLR Revo-Jason, hope to get a favorable reply :)

I hope everyone just dont keep asking for lower price if they give already low px... they need to earn money also.. let's not make them to lower their service when they hv to thin down their profit...

be a bit like angmo... service good=pay bit more ... then everyone happy.

Yes SLR has lowepro bags and tripods. i have seen them in the shop.

But please compare them with Vanguard bags that are hanging just next to Lowepro....

Vanguard maybe a better choice.

oh yes! i ended with Vangard while shopping for lowepro

"hi,
does any of these shops provide installment plan?"

Did not ask but installment payment thru Visa card should be common with major bank like UOB and Std Chart. When I was at SLR Revo, I believe another customer in the shop was paying by Visa installment. But be prepared to pay 2-3% more for payment by Visa.

I hope everyone just dont keep asking for lower price if they give already low px... they need to earn money also.. let's not make them to lower their service when they hv to thin down their profit...

be a bit like angmo... service good=pay bit more ... then everyone happy.

Don't think it is going to happen in Singapore. Most people will walk 3 blocks if they can buy something $5 cheaper and that is the reality. People can talk about good service all day, but when that service costs them extra cents, they will say thank you and go somewhere else which offer lousy service but lower price. And then, they come to CS to whine...

that is a sad truth.. and problem is, this seem to be happening more in SG .. when i was in HK.. if one shop give crap service .. no one will go back no matter how cheap. Which is why i think over there cannot survive if service is below par (this is after 1997 ofcos)

for me.. for an item costing $1000 .. i dont mind paying 20-30 more.. meaning to say ard 2.5% more only.. which to the shop means quite a fair bit esp they sell volumn.

So as a reminder guys... pls dont be some cheapskate and hammer down every cents, demand freebies and drive out all the good shops to make them turn to be those typical SLS shop.. if service good, pay for it and be a good consumer. If service bad, pls just walk off..

that is a sad truth.. and problem is, this seem to be happening more in SG .. when i was in HK.. if one shop give crap service .. no one will go back no matter how cheap. Which is why i think over there cannot survive if service is below par (this is after 1997 ofcos)

for me.. for an item costing $1000 .. i dont mind paying 20-30 more.. meaning to say ard 2.5% more only.. which to the shop means quite a fair bit esp they sell volumn.

So as a reminder guys... pls dont be some cheapskate and hammer down every cents, demand freebies and drive out all the good shops to make them turn to be those typical SLS shop.. if service good, pay for it and be a good consumer. If service bad, pls just walk off..

:thumbsup: u got $! shops love u...

its not got money or not.. i definitely dont hv.. i only uses basic SLR with kit lens.. and hoping to hv more !

but seriously if the shop service good.. don't go and give them a miss if they are a bit more expensive... where u go and support a shop with bad service simply they are $20 cheaper..

I agree. I don't mind paying a little bit more for quality service rather than having a bad taste in my mouth for cheaper products.

From what I observed, the SLR Revo staff are pretty friendly, and not pushy for sales. Considering actually getting all my stuff (which is basically for now, a Sony 50mm f1.8 and a flash) from them since it's so convenient for me.

Went by on a sunday when most of the other cam shops were closed, and was greeted with smiles, quoted some prices with smiles, left without buying and when I turned back, they didn't look glum at all. Good.

agreed, and at sam's shop you'd never get a glum face for sure.

it's open on a sunday. the best thing about it thus far :think:

Yeah. At least there's somewhere decent to go to at city hall area when we really need to buy something urgently on a sunday.

Yeah, can go down when I don't have work also. Good move by them imo.

I saw them when they were still renovating, heh.

Dunno leh, I feel kinda paiseh when I keep asking for price of stuff but end up never buy (because need to know how much to save mah).

I try my best to support a more expensive joint if price difference is not too big because
(1) people already spend time and effort to sell product, if consumers do not support then these shops will close shop already
(2) time and $$ spent to hunt for the elusive small discount - just not worth it.

this applies for face to face contact, if you get quote online then of course no brainer lowest offer should generally prevail.

i personally don't believe in the type a, type b camera shop theory. a gd salesman must know how to pitch products correctly to the audience, not the other way round.

i've had good experiences with CP, JO316, OP, TK. Parisilk pricing seems to be alright but you need to know what you want.

anyway good to know of yet another shop with good reviews

:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:
Very good customer service! Very good price! Jason makes you feel like a friend. Answers all my newbie questions no matter how irritating they might be.