Sentosa Thread XII (May The Guru Force Be With You.......)

CYRN said:
250G x3 in RAID 5 config... but still cant get it working.

:bigeyes: :bigeyes: :faint: :faint:

been building for damn long? .... :think: strange..

Time to go Zzz~

Final pic of e day (dun say i NPNT) :sticktong

IMG_7194e.jpg

Taken today at ssf, haven had time to filter thro all, tot this one not bad, so.. :D

good morning guys and gals ... time to get on bed ...

KNIGHT ONG said:
good morning guys and gals ... time to get on bed ...
.... and recharge.....

heeeehehhehehhehehhehehehhehhehehee :bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

dEthANGeL said:
:bigeyes: :bigeyes: :faint: :faint:

been building for damn long? .... :think: strange..

yeah... that why I'm puzzeled... do I need to format the HDD seperately or the RAID will "format" it during it's building up.

Wah, just offline for a while only start new thread liao :(

CYRN said:
yeah... that why I'm puzzeled... do I need to format the HDD seperately or the RAID will "format" it during it's building up.

Its kinda weird.... but for 250GB x 3 .. :think: i'm not sure ... my RAID 5 array array on my old Pentium Pro HP Netserver ... are just 4.3GB HDDs .. x 4 ... they took around 3-4 hours to format. But i don't think it'll take that long for IDE ... :think:

CYRN said:

if I remember correctly, the raid is suppose to format and build up the array.. if u r using raid 5, it shld take quite long as it uses some mathematical method to compute the missing info i think..

quite different from mirroring, which basically juz copy data from 1 hdd to another...

juz leave it running and see how loh.. ;p

Ashleyy said:
if I remember correctly, the raid is suppose to format and build up the array.. if u r using raid 5, it shld take quite long as it uses some mathematical method to compute the missing info i think..

quite different from mirroring, which basically juz copy data from 1 hdd to another...

juz leave it running and see how loh.. ;p

but can't be that long also right? .. even if its using some form of mathematical method to compute .. its the onboard processor that handles it.. :think: ... i'm running scsi ... cyrn using IDE .. format wise should not be that big a difference right?

dEthANGeL said:
but can't be that long also right? .. even if its using some form of mathematical method to compute .. its the onboard processor that handles it.. :think: ... i'm running scsi ... cyrn using IDE .. format wise should not be that big a difference right?

yeah... from calculation should be about 2 days max... but... :dunno: :dunno: looks like I need to bring it back.

Anyway, I bought this Accusys ACS 7630 with 3 Hitachi HDD... initially tested with 250G Seagate in shop and found not working... changed to 250G Hitachi and warning buzzer stops.

I think it's the redundancy that's taking up the clock cycles, let it run more and see how? I don't think it's that fast lor.

okie loh...

1 more question... what if I off the power halfway... start all over again? :sweat: cuz I juz off juz now to look see look see. :(

dEthANGeL said:
hulloz!! depends on wad scsi u running lah!! u so fast forget abt the different scsi transfer rate as well as the IDE ones??? if u using ultra wide scsi II for example, of cos faster loh... =p

IDE is still running 33/66/100/133 only and sata at 150... :sticktong

morning.... rainy day ahead! :o

Morning everyone~

Its raining at west side here... why am i awake..? :eek:

morning guys and gals.....another day in the battlefield starts....

:heart: FB :heart:

nikonsiao :kok: :kok:

:nono: