Sensor cleaning for A850

Sigh..of cos.. a blower cant clean because it blows..

So, understanding how a blower can be used to remove dust is also important, not which blower will be better, because, under normal environmental condition, blowing will also stir up dust. I once said regarding cleaning sensor, " Step 1: Go to your bathroom, switch on the lights and turn your shower on for a minute....". Many laughed at my recommendation.

Anthony Lee said:
So, understanding how a blower can be used to remove dust is also important, not which blower will be better, because, under normal environmental condition, blowing will also stir up dust. I once said regarding cleaning sensor, " Step 1: Go to your bathroom, switch on the lights and turn your shower on for a minute....". Many laughed at my recommendation.

Yeah man..finally someone's making sense now..

Haiz... a static blower (anti-static blower) is a device that basically did the same thing as a normal rocket blower... it blow away the dust... what it did more was that it was more powerful then normal rocket blower and it prevent dust from gathering back on the sensor for a given period of time as it remove static electricity from the surface of the sensor. Static electricity would easily attract dust like magnet.

So if you do not have a static (anti-static) blower, a normal rocket blower will do too. And yes, when you blow in the chamber where your sensor is, you will stir up the dust. So you face the camera (and sensor) down to the ground, so that when you blow, the dust will drop down from your camera to the ground... that is what many of us was doing and it works fine. If there are stubborn dust that was somehow welded to the sensor or there are stain and stuff like that, a sensor swab came into play.

And for everyone who is interested, a rocket blower will made things worst, if you try to use it to clean the sensor... by rubbing that rubber thingy on the sensor.

so i've been doing it wrong all along! i won't rub that rubber tip on the sensor anymore!

GG...my blower tip is made of metal.. not rubber.. gosh!!

Hi, i suggest sending your camera to SSC to clean the sensor if there are stubborn dust on your sensor. After which, you may use a blower, etc rocket blower to blow any dust on the sensor after every shoot you made, this prevents those dust, especially those moist dust from sticking on the sensor. I am practicing this, so far it worked for me.

Eric

Some time is those nasty water stain on your sensor. I ever bring to CP, they use those magniftying glass to check, so many small spots! I then purchase the swab, so far so good. My prism is now having some nasty black spots. Will send in and see how technician can manage to get rid of them or not. :(

Did you sneeze while changing lens ? ;)

Ghostfit said:
Did you sneeze while changing lens ? ;)

For stubborn spots you need some moisture or solvent. Out in the open, dont be bashful to use spit.

LOL! You mean like as in "stick your tongue in the hole and lick the sensor" ? :bsmilie:

Ghostfit said:
LOL! You mean like as in "stick your tongue in the hole and lick the sensor" ? :bsmilie:

Should work but don't slurp. That would be bad manners.

Mickeyshane said:
Nonsense? Unless u bought it n tried it n it really dun work den it's nonsense..if u nv..den u dun say ppl post nonsense.. I've tried the normal **** rocket blower, it's useless.. Waste of time..
If the normal blower works, ts will not haf any problem Liao..
Dun try to b yaya n say ppl post nonsense..
Ts,
The 80 bucks blower can't remove smears,wet stains..but it truly does a 10x better job then the normal rubber blower on the normal dust..

You heard of this saying?

If you can't swim properly, don't blame your swimming trunks.

I was at oversea n the wind are strong. Therefore, tiny water stains on sensor. :(

Apologies for the laugh at your expense, it was all good natured :).
Looks like you got to invest in those sensor swipes with cleaning chemicals or send in to SSC.

Ghostfit said:
Apologies for the laugh at your expense, it was all good natured :).
Looks like you got to invest in those sensor swipes with cleaning chemicals or send in to SSC.

It's ok 1 la. I even brought swab to oversea recently. Just in case tio big water stain on it. Send to ssc for cleaning takes time, i diy faster.

Sorry for late reply.

For clarification, i am irritated by the dust when i shoot in studios or at above F8 and need to keep PP the dusts away from my pictures.

I figure I can either do my own sensor cleaning or bring in to SSC. The only issues i have are that DIY sensor cleaning - i have never done before and am worried of damaging it; bring to SSC - need to send in for at least a couple of days for simple job. So seeking advice on which will be better. :)

Interesting read though...

Anyone did any of the above option and any comments on the experience?

Sorry for late reply.

For clarification, i am irritated by the dust when i shoot in studios or at above F8 and need to keep PP the dusts away from my pictures.

I figure I can either do my own sensor cleaning or bring in to SSC. The only issues i have are that DIY sensor cleaning - i have never done before and am worried of damaging it; bring to SSC - need to send in for at least a couple of days for simple job. So seeking advice on which will be better. :)

Interesting read though...

Anyone did any of the above option and any comments on the experience?

I don't own a Sony camera... but I believe all interchangeable lens cameras are the same... so here is my experience with self cleaning of the sensor - I LOVE IT. In the beginning when my colleague told me to go DIY, I hesitate, thinking that I might scratch the sensor or things like that... but bringing it to the CSC (which was in harbourfront) is a hassle, so I take the plunge and get myself the swab and sensor cleaning chemical. It was extremely easy to use and so far my sensor is scratch free.

Btw... from what my colleagues say... "your sensor is not as weak a structure as you think it is."