Sellers of new D300 out in force

I got my D300 in Jan and up to now... no problems... except my learning curve problems. I used to own a D200, so how bad can the learning curve be, right? But when I started to shoot, I realized I could not reproduce what I used to get with my D200... and definately frustrated... but as I read up and experimented more... now I am enjoying the D300 lots! :thumbsup: It is one awesome piece of equipment.

I can understand if some finds the learning curve steep... but once you learn it... you will find it a joy to use.

As for the battery... I tried a 3rd party batt that worked on the D200 on my D300 and it could not work... so from then... I just decided to use the original Nikon batts... once again... no problem.

In every production line... there will bound to be a lemon somewhere... and it becomes unfortunate to the person who gets it... but it does not mean that the product is bad. If there are accidents on the road, does it mean that we should not drive or walk on the streets?

Whether a person decides to use Canon or Nikon or Fuji or Pentax or Olympus or Sony or Leica... or whatever other brand... it is the choice of the individual, but every brand will have lemons and problem... but it does not deter people from still using the equipment. I read up on problems that others encounter not to be fearful that my equipment will fail, but to arm myself with the knowledge that if something goes wrong, I know what the next course of action is.

As for the D300... I give it my two thumbs up! :thumbsup: :thumbsup: (and my two big toes too!)

I have owned the D40x and D200... and have used my fren's D70 and D80... and the D300 exceeds in what the other 4 cameras I've used can do.

Geraldkhoo's lengthy input shld give the TS a reassurance.
I personally also do not think the selling is because of faults ( or even if so they wouldn't have declared either erh .. )

I see the BBB starting to kick in :bsmilie: i will probably work my D80 to death before getting a new body. By then probably there will be more FF options. lumcm you should balance on what you need. Of course if you got the pockets, the decision is a little easier.

Ryan

Geraldkhoo's lengthy input shld give the TS a reassurance.
I personally also do not think the selling is because of faults ( or even if so they wouldn't have declared either erh .. )

I see the BBB starting to kick in :bsmilie: i will probably work my D80 to death before getting a new body. By then probably there will be more FF options. lumcm you should balance on what you need. Of course if you got the pockets, the decision is a little easier.

Ryan

Bro, buy la.:devil:

:bsmilie::bsmilie::bsmilie:

Bro, buy la.:devil:

:bsmilie::bsmilie::bsmilie:

I went thru a long thinking process and managed to curb the lust before it hit the credit card haha. I am at peace with my D80, we are zen

Ryan

Ok, i guess on top of my OT, i should give my view as well.

I feel the reason for the recent sharp increase sales in new D300 is not due to functional problems.

No doubt there were recently cases of D300 having some problems etc, but this happens to all the other model as well. As what geraldkhoo bro said, such things happen in any products. It's really a matter of luck, i feel, when you purchased the D300 from your camera shop.

The main reason i feel, is too much consideration that leads to "purchase-paranoid" (*NOTE: I DON'T MEAN ALL SELLERS, i meant SOME :)). I guess most people, before they buy expensive items (can be anything ranging from a 100 bucks bag to a car), they will consider a lot. And out of the batch, there are bound to be some who tends to consider even after they have bought and brought the items home.

Questions like
"Hmm, do i need such an high end stuff?"
"Am i overspending? I am not a pro, why do i need such lens/bodies?"
"Will i use it often?"
and the list will go on.
And you may not get the answer you want.

I'll be frank here. This happens to me when i have my 105mm Macro VR and the recent purchase of 70-200VR f2.8. You can take a look at the thread i open on selling them in BnS. And i closed them without selling any of the above lenses.

Cos after much consideration, i feel, since i bought it, i might as well keep them even though they may be sitting in my dry cabi most of the time compared to my other lenses. This is inevitable if you are using dSLR unless you prefer to bring all your lenses out when you go shooting.

And if i feel uneasy, then i will jolly well bring out the lenses and shoot! I bought my macro 105 out for some shoot recently and well, though the results are not that good or pro, i enjoy the process!

Ok, back to D300. My view is, D300 is a rock solid camera. It is definitely a good buy if you intend to really upgrade your skills without the BBB virus of getting new bodies in the next 1-2 years.

However, it is subjective. Some may prefer the light weight of other models, some may prefer to go for lower end models to see if photography suits their interest and will jump to high end models when they feel they are ready for it, some may just follow the trend and the list goes on...

Ultimately, it is YOU who can only answer what you really NEED or WANT!:devil:

I went thru a long thinking process and managed to curb the lust before it hit the credit card haha. I am at peace with my D80, we are zen

Ryan

Hehe, let's wait, bro~ We see what Nikon has to offer~ And what sellers have to offer!!! :bsmilie:

Sell Sell Sell!:devil:

There's also a possibillity that people are letting go of the D300 in anticipation of Sony's FF camera that is coming out soon.

Hmm...:think:

This letting go means the whole system goes man...:sweat:

Haha, i work in Sony but i never follow Sony dSLR news.. hehehe.;p

I wanted to get a D3 in Jan this year. I went to CP thinking they should have the stock. However, I was wrong. In order not to disappoint myself, I bought the D300. By April, D3 was widely available! I was at one stage considering selling my D300 for a D3 as my shooting are mainly indoor and high ISO will greatly help! On the other hand, after using the D300 for a few months, I am beginning to like... love:heart: my D300. I have therefore decided to keep the D300 and keep my extra money.

So, this is how I nearly put up my D300 on sales at clubsnap!

one of my fren sold coz he dropped it. then buy new again....
so even if its mint.... better to buy new....

:bigeyes::bigeyes::bigeyes:

OMG .. sympathies to the buyer . I would not think he was informed ... :nono:

like that also can :nono:

Ya lor.. This makes SSS more Evil than BBB...:devil:

I don't condone such behavior... but in reality, I believe your fren is not alone. Sometimes in B&S, you meet great people (which I have), and sometimes, you meet encounter some characters who are... :think:

I've bought a lens from a great guy some time back, and when I hit some trouble... he was very patient and kind to help me troubleshoot... and for this case... it was my ignorance. But from there, I made a fren... and know that he is not one of those sell and run kind of people.

Well... I believe that what a person sows is what he will reap in the future ;)

Hmmm.... did your friend declare to the buyer?
hopefully that unit does not have "internal injury".

but again... not all seller sell because of problem or issue as such...

Oh just to addon, if budget permit, buy new set... if not you just have to check before take over the system.

cheers

That's why my wife never give approval for buying used ! :bsmilie:

I guess in BnS, you never know what you are going to get. It may not even be 2nd hand in the first place. could be 10th, 20th, 30th hand and so on. Main thing is, if the price is good and you are ok after viewing the lens, just buy and shoot with it. If unsure, don't buy. :)

I even suspect there are some sellers who buy old lenses with unfilled warranty, then got lobang to find new dated receipt and sell as new.

一个愿打,一个愿挨。:dunno:

That's why my wife never give approval for buying used ! :bsmilie:

Hehe... my wife also dun like me buying 2nd hand, esp. when the price difference is not that much. She would rather me pay $200 more to get something new than 2nd hand. It is for a peace of mind thing... but for me, I would rather buy some stuff 2nd hand, e.g. AFD lenses... but other stuff, I would get new, e.g. flash.

Hehe, my philosophy.

Anything below 1k, 2nd hand is ok if price is good and condition is good.

Anything above 1k, buy new. And dun sell it cos the depreciation is so much higher.

But i tried to sell above 1k lens last time due to "purchase-paranoid". But then, held back cos of the depreciation i gonna face and no point selling top lenses. Wahaha. :bsmilie: