Seeking advise - deal

Thanks everyone for your inputs and thoughts about the matter. appreciate it!

Yup its true that i told the buyer the estimated SC was 30k +/- cause seriously i don't keep track since i have two other DSLR cameras with me.
Plus i dont burst on the 1D thats for sure.
knowing that the actual SC was more than that, and without any doubt about it, I still replied with an apology and offered a small amount refund.
but I just couldn't accept a full refund of the camera body to me, and i have to return at least 4k back to him.
given the time period of 1week, a rental of 1D from reputable places will already cost at least 1,300 bucks.
and how am i going to sell the returned 1D?
I have been flexible from the start of the deal, giving in to the buyer's requested price, and even gave a lower price to the buyer since i couldn't include the neck-strap, without him having to ask me and traveling to his place from west to east to deal.

When such situation happened, I was quite tired to deal with it, yet i still replied.

Not in anyway related to either of you, one way out, which might be reasonable:

Accept the body back at: $4170-$1300 (thus assume it was rental)
Before taking the body back, send to Canon for servicing just in case though!
After that, sell the 1d4 now for 2,870, it should be a bargain if the original selling price was 4170 and it sold? (apologies I am a Nikon user, I don't know the Canon prices)

Just my thoughts, not advice or anything.

Come on, it's just shutter count

I don't know how much the cost to replace the shutter locally, just take estimation of S$400 from ebay and expected shutter life of 300k click from yrh0413
CANON EOS 1D MARK IV SHUTTER UNIT REPLACEMENT SERVICE | eBay
post8100708

90k-30k = 60k
60k/300k x S$400 = S$80

just refund him S$80

or can call canon service centre first to ask for better quotation

link: http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/consumers-corner/177602-much-change-1d-shutter.html

Someone posted in year 2006; change of shutter for 1D Mark II is $550. Maybe TS can call up CSC and check what is the cost of replacing the shutter, then both parties bear half the cost? Benefit both sides; TS don't have to do full refund, buyer gets spanking new shutter with zero shutter count.

knn after 1week than check? u dun find weird meh?

maybe after 1 week of doiing stop motion film he wanna return.

ask him go fly kite la

Hello to all,
Seeking for some advise concerning about a recent deal.

Recently sold off my canon 1dmkiV camera for $4170.
Did not have an exact shutter count and given is my 2nd body, and 1D has a long life span
I gave a rough estimate of 25-30k.
Besides that, there was no problem with the camera.

After one week of deal, buyer suddenly sent me a pic of the shutter count (using eos count program) of 87k.
Knowing that I did not give a exact count, I replied him that I will refund him a small amount to offset it.
Buyer's initial suggestion was to return the cam back to me and I refund him $4150.

Please advise and suggest.
Thank you all.
dont have to always be a gentleman.

ignore him..

It is all about money.

Assume a fictitious situation where you told me the shutter count was 10 and you sold me the 1DMk4 for $200.

Now if I bother to check the shutter count and it is actually 87,000. Would I want to return the camera and ask for refund?

I think there are programs out there that can change shutter count in cameras. You can decrease it or increase it according to what scheme you have in mind.

For example, if this is possible, then one can buy a camera, increase the shutter count by 100,000 then demand for a big refund or discount. It is a scam.

Of course sellers can also scam buyers by reducing the shutter count.

Shutter count may not be a reliable gauge anymore.

BnS mostly is "as-is" condition. One hand passes the goods, the other hand passes the $ (literal translation from Chinese).

Both party must check $ and goods before departing...

It is all about money.

Assume a fictitious situation where you told me the shutter count was 10 and you sold me the 1DMk4 for $200.

Now if I bother to check the shutter count and it is actually 87,000. Would I want to return the camera and ask for refund?

I think there are programs out there that can change shutter count in cameras. You can decrease it or increase it according to what scheme you have in mind.

For example, if this is possible, then one can buy a camera, increase the shutter count by 100,000 then demand for a big refund or discount. It is a scam.

Of course sellers can also scam buyers by reducing the shutter count.

Shutter count may not be a reliable gauge anymore.

I tot only car mileage could be manupulated by second hand car dealers. So, dSLR shutter count could be the done the same.

BnS mostly is "as-is" condition. One hand passes the goods, the other hand passes the $ (literal translation from Chinese).

Both party must check $ and goods before departing...

BnS - there is certain amount of risk to take in the part of the buyer. Just got to buy in good faith and hope that you dun get a "lemon". I guess the Lemon law doesn't apply here.

BTW, there is no written contract in this kind of transaction. Just a simple exchange of goods and cash with no strings attached.