SBS Transit, SMRT ask to raise bus and train fares

prices have been going up year to year....
chron-june2007.gif

oil prices have risen > 1400% since 1999.
Has transport costs risen even 20% since 1999?
Where do you get the 1400% from :eek:

Oil is only one of the many contirbutions to the transport company expense.

:rolleyes:
What's with the graph at points at
year 1999
year 2002
year 2005
year after 2006
Just like the govn., only choose the one to signify the differences.

Seriously, i not even sure if the chart is the real chart and zhun or not. Will check out and get back :rolleyes:

prices have been going up year to year....
oil prices have risen > 1400% since 1999.
Has transport costs risen even 20% since 1999?

I don't know how you analyse your figures (mabbe an example of anyhow use numbers to prove a point).

Anyway here's an analysis that is official

http://www.singstat.gov.sg/pubn/papers/economy/ssnmar05-pg8-11.pdf

You can see that price hike in oil are mainly event driven.

whether there's a fare increase or no fare decrease... we are all screwed by living in a small country with monopolised transport industry.

so which urban areas are served by many many transport providers?

Where do you get the 1400% from :eek:

sorry, about 7 times.

Oil is only one of the many contirbutions to the transport company expense.

if you look at the income statement for SBS,
fuel costs take about 20% of their total costs.

so if they pass through the increase in fuel increases since 1999, they should have raised transport fees by 0.2 * 7 = 140%. Have transport prices risen 40% since 1999?

how many? which area?

tink no need to spoon feed you rite.

I gave you the answer to your question liao. It's up to you to prove mi wrong lah. Cannot prove mi wrong means I'm rite loh.

Seriously, i not even sure if the chart is the real chart and zhun or not. Will check out and get back :rolleyes:

waiting keenly for your analysis ...

um...whether event driven or not there's still a price hike...

the post is to challenge your 1400% lah... dun skip the issue. :sticktong

tink no need to spoon feed you rite.

I gave you the answer to your question liao. It's up to you to prove mi wrong lah. Cannot prove mi wrong means I'm rite loh.

you should back up your claims with evidence...come on, which part of HK? How many transport providers?

Read this, and the link inside the article.

Now, the ball is at your court. ;)

Read this, and the link inside the article.

Now, the ball is at your court. ;)

you're trying to back up your case with someone's "travel tips"???
I also write a review and post on website you accept or not?

and even that someone says there are only 3 bus companies in HK not "many many" that I asked for.

the post is to challenge your 1400% lah... dun skip the issue. :sticktong
That's why I don't quite like argue with him, being very selective reply on posting (ignore the part like public transport is for public, why now become a tool to benefit share holder and the govn), and view at very specific point, manipulative on usage of the highest and the lowest of the figures just to show a 7X increase in petro price, while compare a norm of US$25 to US$50~60 (peak at 70), that's only a 2~2.4x increase only.
average of 2.2x of 20% in the whole bulk increase is only a small increment.
Which work out around 24% increase in overall cost only (based on assumption that all other expenses are status que, which is unlikely though, but may be counter with new advertisement earning, more efficient engine to cut down diesel usage etc).

you're trying to back up your case with someone's "travel tips"???
I also write a review and post on website you accept or not?

and even that someone says there are only 3 bus companies in HK not "many many" that I asked for.

I'm onli holding back loh.. see if you wan to read a little more before anihow post again...haiz... realli have to grow out of your spoonfeeding thinking and "research" a little more before challenging data which are easily googled.

Official site

Wiki site

You wan more... google got 2.28mil returns... you can read all you wan from the links there. :devil:

That's why I don't quite like argue with him, being very selective reply on posting (ignore the part like public transport is for public, why now become a tool to benefit share holder and the govn), and view at very specific point, manipulative of the figures just to show a 7X increase in petro price, while compare a norm of US$25 to US$50~60 (peask at 70), that's only a 2~2.4x increase only.
Which work out around 24% increase in overall cost only (based on assumption that all other expenses are status que, which is unlikely though).

The current corporate entity SBS transit was formed in listed in 1997.
http://www.sbstransit.com.sg/about/corpprofile.aspx

To be fair must compare since late 1990s.

That's why I don't quite like argue with him, being very selective reply on posting (ignore the part like public transport is for public, why now become a tool to benefit share holder and the govn), and view at very specific point, manipulative on usage of the highest and the lowest of the figures just to show a 7X increase in petro price, while compare a norm of US$25 to US$50~60 (peask at 70), that's only a 2~2.4x increase only.
Which work out around 24% increase in overall cost only (based on assumption that all other expenses are status que, which is unlikely though, but may be counter with new advertisement earning, more efficient engine to cut down diesel usage etc).

He's juz discrediting himself only loh.