SBS Transit, SMRT ask to raise bus and train fares

Cor, you're disappointing. Really thought you had a little more about you than stooping to that.

well... he did nothing wrong... he is just being honest... i (don't - deleted) find it nothing wrong with it...

(corrected) -> well... he did nothing wrong... he is just being honest... i find it nothing wrong with it... :embrass:

which year are you talking about that oil prices went down?

please.... Virgo mention fluctuates... do you know what fluctuates mean... please please please.... Oh my goodness.....

Dear Datan:

We will try to work out some figures for you.

Can you please provide us the electricity charges (High Tension Cable) for year 1980.

SMRT owns two lines: North-South and East-West
The total traveling time for one way is 60min for each line.
The average waiting time is 5 min. Therefore, there should be 48 trains on the track at anytime.
Each train operates for 18hrs (6am-12mid night). Therefore, total train hour is 864 hrs per day.
An electrical train with 4000 horse power can provide traction up to a speed of 65 mph.
We assume full power for acceleration and the duration is 10% of the 864hrs = 87 hrs at 4000 hp
We assume 1400 hp to maintain the cruising speed. 777hrs at 1400 hp.
Total hp = (87 x 4000) + (777 x 1400) = 1,435,800 hp = 1,071,106 kw per day

You give the electrical charges and we see how it compares between the 80’s and now.

Oh come on... they just don't understand it at all..... :bsmilie:

please.... Virgo mention fluctuates... do you know what fluctuates mean... please please please.... Oh my goodness.....

:bsmilie: :bsmilie:

That's why i dun even bother to reply.

It like asking which year STI index drop :sweatsm:

:bsmilie: :bsmilie:

That's why i dun even bother to reply.

It like asking which year STI index drop :sweatsm:

There is this thing called Sticky Price.
when the oil prices come down, you have to write black and white on a A4 paper, photostat both sides, and it takes three working days to process and it takes another three weeks to reach a conclusion.
This is only level one, there is many levels to go before the bill will be passed in the parliament.
By that time the energy prices has went up again.
SO LPPL. :D

I guess if they cut the bonuses of the few top man in SMRT, they can easily cover any increases in energy prices.

I am not arm chair critics, I have a solution to the energy crisis!:bigeyes:
Go and buy pertrol from our northern neigbours, at half price only!

Oh come on... they just don't understand it at all..... :bsmilie:

so difficult to understand meh?:think:

Just take the differences in fare price (80's vs now) and multiply by the number of riderships, then minus the increase in cost of the electricity comsumed, we will know how much went into the black hole liao.

wow...

like i said, vote em all out

and as for capping profits, every business is in business to make money. i think the bus company is smart for raising fares...it's business and besides everyone knows singaporeans will complain and grumble but will never do anything and end up taking it up the kalamazoo.
if you get mad at me for saying that, i'm sorry but is true. nothing personal but everyone here is afraid to do anything about anything and everyone knows it...so, jack up the cost of everything...why not, i mean what ya gonna do huh?
if you not happy all this complaining and statistics does you no good, complain with your vote n change things n stop accepting things like a measly gst offset when others are getting millions...hehe i dunno but i think you guys are directing your frustration in all the wrong places :dunno:

the busfare raise is but one small part of the big picture...i dunno,maybe i see things differently but i wish you guys all the best mostly because i'm stuck in this mess with you also..hehe, have a good day n quit putting 20 cent coins in the shopping cart lock at the grocery in great world city. aunty is grumbling when she take back the cart only have 20 cents instead of $1 coin :)

peace!

wow...

like i said, vote em all out

and as for capping profits, every business is in business to make money. i think the bus company is smart for raising fares...it's business and besides everyone knows singaporeans will complain and grumble but will never do anything and end up taking it up the kalamazoo.
if you get mad at me for saying that, i'm sorry but is true. nothing personal but everyone here is afraid to do anything about anything and everyone knows it...so, jack up the cost of everything...why not, i mean what ya gonna do huh?
if you not happy all this complaining and statistics does you no good, complain with your vote n change things n stop accepting things like a measly gst offset when others are getting millions...hehe i dunno but i think you guys are directing your frustration in all the wrong places :dunno:

the busfare raise is but one small part of the big picture...i dunno,maybe i see things differently but i wish you guys all the best mostly because i'm stuck in this mess with you also..hehe, have a good day n quit putting 20 cent coins in the shopping cart lock at the grocery in great world city. aunty is grumbling when she take back the cart only have 20 cents instead of $1 coin :)

peace!

hahaha:bsmilie::bsmilie:
According to some Mad Monkey, if there is no street protest outside the parliament house, that means people is happy about it.

Next on the line to increase price is Postage Stamps, then Ultilities, and Taxi then the cycle repeats itself, when will we learn?:( Becos there is no competition for public buses they keep increasing price.

one chinese word 2 mouths

so difficult to understand meh?:think:

Just take the differences in fare price (80's vs now) and multiply by the number of riderships, then minus the increase in cost of the electricity comsumed, we will know how much went into the black hole liao.

you can read the previous post... the answers of some of the question they asked are already posted and they keep asking for answers of that some questions... so you think they understand? :think:

I guess if they cut the bonuses of the few top man in SMRT, they can easily cover any increases in energy prices.

I am not arm chair critics, I have a solution to the energy crisis!:bigeyes:
Go and buy pertrol from our northern neigbours, at half price only!

and also repair the bus roof top..... they leaks whenever there is a big rain... :embrass:

Next on the line to increase price is Postage Stamps, then Ultilities, and Taxi then the cycle repeats itself, when will we learn?:( Becos there is no competition for public buses they keep increasing price.

thats why the old folks keep mentioning it is better to "go early" cos by the time we retired... we won't have much savings to live for another 5-10 years...

2 days ago i was having a chat with an american who have been staying here for 5 past years.... we were chatting on this and he agree that the cost of living here is scary, it has been rising steadily and this worries him a lot...... :bsmilie:

hahaha:bsmilie::bsmilie:
According to some Mad Monkey, if there is no street protest outside the parliament house, that means people is happy about it.

:o
Mr muscle will be there to stop u

Dear Datan:

We will try to work out some figures for you.

Can you please provide us the electricity charges (High Tension Cable) for year 1980.

SMRT owns two lines: North-South and East-West
The total traveling time for one way is 60min for each line.
The average waiting time is 5 min. Therefore, there should be 48 trains on the track at anytime.
Each train operates for 18hrs (6am-12mid night). Therefore, total train hour is 864 hrs per day.
An electrical train with 4000 horse power can provide traction up to a speed of 65 mph.
We assume full power for acceleration and the duration is 10% of the 864hrs = 87 hrs at 4000 hp
We assume 1400 hp to maintain the cruising speed. 777hrs at 1400 hp.
Total hp = (87 x 4000) + (777 x 1400) = 1,435,800 hp = 1,071,106 kw per day

You give the electrical charges and we see how it compares between the 80’s and now.

not sure what electrical charges in 1980 have anything to do with the discussion when there were no MRT trains at that time.

transport providers only allowed to raise rates once a year. hence to be fair we should compare the year-to-year change in oil prices.

so once again, which year did oil prices go down?