SB800 from AP

geoyip said:
Thanks All for the inputs,

Will go down AP and make some noise, hopefully they will make good.

This experience really sucks! :( Feel cheated and not to mention very unprofessional of them to do business this way.

Thanks again for the inputs!

Actually, go CP, for that extra bit of tens of dollars, you get namely

1) peace of mind
2) before sales service
3) after sales service
4) satisfaction
5) worry free.

Why do you think most of us shop at CP although the price sometimes *can* be slightly inconsistent and high? The pros outweigh the price con ;)

What about purchasing from Mr Nelson Tan(former owner of Photoguide) who is now works out of Konota?

His prices are usually less than CP's and his stock always come with agent warranties.

geoyip said:
Thanks All for the inputs,

Will go down AP and make some noise, hopefully they will make good.

This experience really sucks! :( Feel cheated and not to mention very unprofessional of them to do business this way.

Thanks again for the inputs!

Sorry to hear of your experience. AP is known for such "unprofessional" behaviour. That's why its better to go to CP.

fish47 said:
Surprisingly. I called up this shop in Orchard, and he quote me S$625 for the SB800. Why i called that shop is becos my friend bought a D70 from them at a price also lower than any of the "big brothers". :D Maybe you guys like to call up the shop. The name is "Lords Camera & Watches". Go to Yellowpages webpage and type in this name and you will see the number of the shop. :D

Just got mine from them. Yup, definitely better pricing with local warranty.

Nelson is alright... i believe he gets the stock from CP anyway.. just earning a smaller margin and better personal service

80% of my gears were purchased from CP, those 20% probably is the price factor that CP was too high and somewhere offered a much competitive pricing. In general CP is still a good place to go for it ... :D

Just to update you guys,

Went down to AP and they agreed to change my unit to a warrantied one.

Yes they have make good this incident, but AP would be my last choice on my shopping list. In my opinion again, this is should have never happen.

Hopefully AP is reading this board and would improve on their business methods, they should now by now the power of the internet.

jOhO said:
yeah, bought my 12-24dx there today!! :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

james seems like a nice guy ;)
Got my SB800 there. Very good service and competitive price.

arikevin said:
Got my SB800 there. Very good service and competitive price.

wow you got your SB800 liau ah ? :cool:

AP prices are creeping up - they couldn't beat some of the prices at CP - match only. They used to have the best prices last few years but this year they can't do it, even for point and shoots.

geoyip said:
Just to update you guys,

Went down to AP and they agreed to change my unit to a warrantied one.

Yes they have make good this incident, but AP would be my last choice on my shopping list. In my opinion again, this is should have never happen.

Hopefully AP is reading this board and would improve on their business methods, they should now by now the power of the internet.

I only buy from AP if I cannot get the price or the availability elsewhere.

The service is ...... non-existent, really

My ratings (I purchased from all these shops before)
Shop: Price, Service, Availability
CP: 3 stars, 3.5 stars, 4 stars
AP: 4 stars, 1 star, 4 stars (Disclaimer, AP gives good price for regulars, those who knows or appears to know the prices. In addition, you get good service if you look like and is a tourist)
MS: 3.5 stars, 4 stars, 3 stars
TkPhoto: 3.5 stars, 3.5 stars, 2.5 stars
TCW:2 stars (greys), 4 stars, 3 stars
SouthernCross: 3 stars, 4 stars (very good for a luckyplaza shop), 4 stars
J316: 3 stars, 3.5 stars (too crowded), 3.5 stars
Lords: 3-4 stars (depends on items),4 stars, 3 stars

Most of my stuff are from AP (esp the more $$ ones) and frankly I do not enjoy the purchase process. But I save considerably.

In addition, I am ;( about a certain pratice in one of the shop above. They will resell a "lemon" to customer as new. Yes, friends - i know many shops practie it but this is a popular shop and I'm very sure many guys fall victim to it - knowingly and unknowingly.

Just my opinion - nothing personal.

offspring said:
I only buy from AP if I cannot get the price or the availability elsewhere.

The service is ...... non-existent, really

My ratings (I purchased from all these shops before)
Shop: Price, Service, Availability
CP: 3 stars, 3.5 stars, 4 stars
AP: 4 stars, 1 star, 4 stars (Disclaimer, AP gives good price for regulars, those who knows or appears to know the prices. In addition, you get good service if you look like and is a tourist)
MS: 3.5 stars, 4 stars, 3 stars
TkPhoto: 3.5 stars, 3.5 stars, 2.5 stars
TCW:2 stars (greys), 4 stars, 3 stars
SouthernCross: 3 stars, 4 stars (very good for a luckyplaza shop), 4 stars
J316: 3 stars, 3.5 stars (too crowded), 3.5 stars
Lords: 3-4 stars (depends on items),4 stars, 3 stars

Most of my stuff are from AP (esp the more $$ ones) and frankly I do not enjoy the purchase process. But I save considerably.

In addition, I am ;( about a certain pratice in one of the shop above. They will resell a "lemon" to customer as new. Yes, friends - i know many shops practie it but this is a popular shop and I'm very sure many guys fall victim to it - knowingly and unknowingly.

Just my opinion - nothing personal.

My own experience with CP hasn't been all that great... but maybe that's just me. Shopped at AP with little complains. MS Colour, service-wise is alright, but for prices... not better than any of the rest. Lords' prices are rather competitive, and well or service, they gave me freebies to make me happy. :)

Hey, i noticed this too. AP could offer very good prices for p&s (With valid local warranty) and decent prices for glass. Bags and tripods are ok, can easily match with MS colour. But of late they seem to sell stuff more ex. Anyway, gotta do homework before you go AP. What i do is this. Eg, tamron 28-75 @ 650 at mscolour, you *QUOTE* them $600 w/GST at AP over the phone. They will surely say $610 or 620, then you ask for his name and you go down immediately. Most probably they won't lower the price as "agreed" earlier and then you suck some freebies from them. I usually get 2 pcs of their microfibre cloths worth $5 ea. :bsmilie: Win-win situation, i get $10 worth of stuff that i could use, but it costs them only like $5.

If they chut pattern like don't give you warranty, tell them that you are a local, mai pian lang lar. I mean, all this is street smart stuff. If no go, then no deal lor.........take bus down to CP Peninsular and buy, 2 bus stops only. All street smart stuff lar........ tio boh? ;) :cool: I mean, even if i buy TV/DVD or what from some neighbourhood store at a lower price compared to Courts, Best Denki, HN, i'd confirm that there is local warranty and delivery is included (not included, bargain for discount! :bsmilie: ). It's pretty much the same for lots of stuff.

If you like service, go mscolour or CP etc lor. Sim Lim is reknowned for 0 service anyway. If you want training, can go to Thailand, HK or Indonesia for some training to toughen up the skin first ....:bsmilie:

OF coz, no offence to anyone here. Just my 2 cents.

PageUp said:
Max Photo (Centrepoint)

There is another one at Pagoda Street. They were selling EN-EL3 for $110. I haggled to $80. Also got Ultra II 512MB at $250 (cheaper than AP by $10). Usually i find that it's better that you quote shops a price and see if they can match. Give examples like CP or AP (well known). Sometimes they can match. If no go, then thank them lor. If you let them quote you a price, 1/2 of the war is already lost. Try again another day with another salesperson. :D

retrok said:
My own experience with CP hasn't been all that great... but maybe that's just me. Shopped at AP with little complains. MS Colour, service-wise is alright, but for prices... not better than any of the rest. Lords' prices are rather competitive, and well or service, they gave me freebies to make me happy. :)

Lords confirm one of the best, i got my 300D and D70 there. plus accessaries.

brought my friends to buy 2 more canon P&S, as well as canon printers too.

received e-quote frm CP :

SB-800 = S$625.00 W/O gst ;p