[ Sample Images/New Product ] - E5 Pre-production Unit Images

E-3, E-5, shooting against light, spot metering at building, gradation normal,WB should be custom using grey card
5024850659_400110a1d5_z.jpg
5025467064_1f442e983e_z.jpg

E-3, E-5, shooting against light, spot metering at building, gradation Auto, WB should be custom using grey card
5024850821_7e3b65fe0b_z.jpg
5025467232_c76a2a2130_z.jpg
E-3 better highlight control than the E-5? I mean this is really extreme though.

Too extreme.

This one even medium format also epic fail.

It was actually 1 or 2 plus,lol, hard to be accurate since I had to take time to change lens and to mount on tripod and check settings, best is lab test which I have no idea how to do,lol, probably a more accurate test would be to mount to lens and shoot,but since I don't have 2 focal range exactly the same,I can't do it

Eh hallo.

Singapore time is one hour ahead of its proper geographical time, so 1pm is high noon.

You see clock i see shadow.

Shadow more zhun. :angel:

Eh hallo.

Singapore time is one hour ahead of its proper geographical time, so 1pm is high noon.

You see clock i see shadow.

Shadow more zhun. :angel:

sorly la unker, peepol in sch arh... neber learn 2 read the shardow arh, teacher teach us read clock one :bsmilie:

Let's do it this saturday!
we both have the 7-14, 14-54 and 50-200 (mine's swd though)!

Hahaha,see how lor,if E-5 can come out then say lor lol

I can chip in with my 50-200 SWD... ;p

Spidey... might be a good idea to do a reference with E1 as well... I still cannot understand what's so good about it, colour-wise...

Sounds fun, we're gonna be making a comparison "against all odds" (literally, E1, E3, E5...) :bsmilie:

Its kinda hard for me to explain lol, compare with the E-3,hahahhaha
Wah,all flagships against each other?Unfair for E-1 lor :bsmilie: Old man already E-1

Matt shot the playground at high noon - not exactly the best time to judge blown clouds.

He should be eating lunch, not shooting - too hot la.

Comparison definitely have to be on the same default for both cameras. All i am saying is the default would be the basis in which optimised settings could be based upon, which is what i am recommending.

Only the brightness level is :dunno:.

1st thing 1st, thousand apologies to spidey for hijacking his pics for "regurgitation" purpose. :p Hope u dun mind as the aim is to help more people to view the samples

I see... then it seems like both cameras are still not perfect... ha ha ha...

But regardless, I think there are some tweaks in the E5 that seems to hint that the colors are deeper, but that is something quite easily achieved in Silkypix isn't it? Probably be getting the E5 for its ability to shoot video, and nothing else. Sigh...

Of cos no perfect cam in this world. For everyone out there still hunting for that perfect cam... here's one for u... "for i still haven't found what i'm looking for...." (U2) HAHAHA!!

What if users dun use Silkypix or dun like Silkypix? How easy/diff to reproduce deeper colours with other software like Capture or Bibble or GIMP? Think Oly is trying very hard to have the E1 look by tweaking it as such. Lets see how the sheen factor turns out :angel: Need someone's bald head to model for testing HAHAHAHA!!!

Matt shot the playground at high noon - not exactly the best time to judge blown clouds.

He should be eating lunch, not shooting - too hot la.

The consoling thing i see is (be positive), even at harsh noon lighting, E5 can render a nice hue, thats a good sign. :cool:

He didn't tell u he's on special diet? Next time u see him, he's very macho liao :bsmilie:

Comparison definitely have to be on the same default for both cameras. All i am saying is the default would be the basis in which optimised settings could be based upon, which is what i am recommending.

Only the brightness level is :dunno:.

Darn... I keep forgetting to say,everything is at default level,contrast etc all set at 0

The consoling thing i see is (be positive), even at harsh noon lighting, E5 can render a nice hue, thats a good sign. :cool:

He didn't tell u he's on special diet? Next time u see him, he's very macho liao :bsmilie:

Hahaha ;)

I somewhat find that the blue hue in the sky is about the same,just that the colour render especially in the light tones of the buildings,the E-5 is deeper

E-3 better highlight control than the E-5? I mean this is really extreme though.

In this Russian review, using a Kodak Gray Scale, the E-3 has better dynamic range at ISO 100 only slightly (1 stop), and E-5 is like E-P1. At ISO 200, E-5 is much broader, not slightly.

Their sharpness record holder for Olympus cameras is the E-PL1. According to them E-5 is only slightly better, not significantly better. But their comparison image seems to be shot at different lighting and distance, so verdict is still out for me.

And more other interesting thoughts ... It is cute how Google translates the E-P1 as "firstborn Pen" :). Just another pre-production test, which makes it at best only an interesting teaser and to be taken with a grain of salt ...

http://translate.google.com/transla...us.ourlife.ru/forum/index.php?showtopic=15909

I somewhat find that the blue hue in the sky is about the same,just that the colour render especially in the light tones of the buildings,the E-5 is deeper

There's still some difference in the blue. But the big qn remains. How do u get deeper colour in PP from other models as easy as E5?

Its nice to have a deeper colour renditon for the NMOS sensors, but will that be winning the hearts of old & new users is a different matter altogether. If/when Oly put the same kind of rendering into the next PEN3, then the E5 or 43 market will shrink even further. :sweat:

There's still some difference in the blue. But the big qn remains. How do u get deeper colour in PP from other models as easy as E5?

Its nice to have a deeper colour renditon for the NMOS sensors, but will that be winning the hearts of old & new users is a different matter altogether. If/when Oly put the same kind of rendering into the next PEN3, then the E5 or 43 market will shrink even further. :sweat:

There is a difference here in thoughts.

First, I need a camera that REPRODUCES colors and contrast faithfully first. And with a couple of tweaks in the settings allowing me to capture deeper colors. If a camera only shoots deeper colors and cannot faithfully repoduce the original colors and contrast, that is a lousy engine it has.

Because when one decides to shoot other styles like high key, or high contrast black and whites, etc... you have no good base to start from.

So that would be my consideration.