[ Sample Images/New Product ] - E5 Pre-production Unit Images

Becos E5 said to have 5 stops. E3 has 4, so this is a job for SUPER SPIDEY!! HAHAHAHA!! :bsmilie:

In fact, its good to test out other aspect of the cam to see how overall it works. Eg, is the metering as acccurate or better? Focus accuracy compared to E3? etc.... Things like that is good to look into to see what other improvements is made inside the shell besides the obvious extras. Video? Anyone tested that feature? :lovegrin:

I thought the E-3 also have 5 stops? In any case, its a bit hard to test out the IS since maybe hand holding 50-200 i can hold say 1/40 whereas someone else can hold 1/60? So probably won't be testing but it works just as well as the E-3, that much I can say for sure, probably tomorrow will test other stuff out

I think the more matured shooters are totally uninterested in Art Filters. We do a million times better on Photoshop. I do want to see how the E5 performs on normal images. Its dynamic range, ISO performance in different lighting conditions, etc.

That kind of defeat the purpose of having Art Filters in the first place right? It is supposed to make life easier for the photographers. The initial set of Art Filters on the E-P1 were easy to use and manipulate. Trust the engineers at Olympus to overdo things.

Three letter word... PUI! :thumbsd:

Think i am not mature! :bsmilie:

I am becoming more and more lazy and therefore if i can skip post processing then it would be for the better. So much so that almost 95% of my pics now are PP (pre-processing in-camera using art filters).

Definitely, i would not care much about the art filters if i am using for a job when the ability to quickly switch settings might be pain in the butt. But since i am using this as a platform for my laziness while going for photo outings or travels...... hey it helps.

Just like when others said liveview is gimmicky when oly first came out with it and now? Almost all cameras got it as a default. I wouldnt see why this type of art filters wouldnt be included in future generations of other brands' models. In fact, i would be asking where is that HDR scene mode like the one G12 has.

Have is still better than dont have.

Think i am not mature! :bsmilie:

I am becoming more and more lazy and therefore if i can skip post processing then it would be for the better. So much so that almost 95% of my pics now are PP (pre-processing in-camera using art filters).

Definitely, i would not care much about the art filters if i am using for a job when the ability to quickly switch settings might be pain in the butt. But since i am using this as a platform for my laziness while going for photo outings or travels...... hey it helps.

Just like when others said liveview is gimmicky when oly first came out with it and now? Almost all cameras got it as a default. I wouldnt see why this type of art filters wouldnt be included in future generations of other brands' models. In fact, i would be asking where is that HDR scene mode like the one G12 has.

Have is still better than dont have.

That is why, when they create hard to master Art Filters... for what? Things should be made as easy as possible. Art Filters can be controlled using exposure compensation buttons and on some models of cameras, playing with the dials can give you some interesting differences (maybe due to firmware bug?).

There are quite a lot of these little "easter eggs" out there to discover. If you like Art Filters then you should go explore.

I would prefer my flagship to use all the processing power to do something else... killer image processing. Leave the toys in Pens.

Aiyo bro, why so emo??? Its juz a cam la, its a thing only, no need emotional attachment :angel:

No leh, I have no problem with the cam. It is the people at Olympus that I am pissed off about. You never read my post properly... E-System good, Olympus bad. Olympus is made up of people... so PUI!

disclaimer : Nothing to do with anyone from sales in Olympus. Just the person who call the shots on the finalization of a design and what to be released. Most likely someone in Japan and the US. Pui! pui! Pui!!!

No leh, I have no problem with the cam. It is the people at Olympus that I am pissed off about. You never read my post properly... E-System good, Olympus bad. Olympus is made up of people... so PUI!

disclaimer : Nothing to do with anyone from sales in Olympus. Just the person who call the shots on the finalization of a design and what to be released. Most likely someone in Japan and the US. Pui! pui! Pui!!!

lol, by the time this thread is finished your screen will be full of your saliva.. :D

u too profound liao, i reading it too literal. HAHAHAHA!!! But seriously, if u can get a very cheap E5 at 500RMB, do grab one for me :lovegrin: (ya i admit, i typical cheapskate s'porean)

lol, by the time this thread is finished your screen will be full of your saliva.. :D

Thats his evil plan. To drown his monitor so there's an excuse to missus to buy Eizo high end & use full 10bit display color via display port from the Quadro or FirePro cards. BUAHAHAHAHA!!! BUY! BUY! BUY! :devil: :devil: (how else u think his missus approve budget to buy Pentax 645D, w/o first getting her a $10k LV bag :angel:)

if you have spare $$$ why not spend it:bsmilie: to the things that makes you happy;) if you're like me tight on budget will just drool and dream of those things

So I've done more test trying to minimize the differences as much as I can, did the test with light meter, 18% grey card and tripod, all OOC JPEGs, a white balance test first
E-3, E-5 AWB,measured with light meter
5025463636_1100b0b0bf_z.jpg
5025466662_9d6ba6b372_z.jpg

E-3, E-5 Custom white balance, measure with 18% grey card and light meter
5025463884_6789dd05f0_z.jpg
5024853549_ded3890f17_z.jpg

E-3, E-5 ESP metering, AWB
5024849311_77467543f8_z.jpg
5024854371_5ca094786d_z.jpg

E-3, E-5 Ctr Weight metering, AWB
5025463022_890b987fe5_z.jpg
5024852665_161e9c6fdb_z.jpg

E-3, E-5 Spot Metering, AWB
5024849833_7c13d16330_z.jpg
5025466264_2f7228b137_z.jpg

E-3, E-5 Colours, measured with light meter, white balance with grey card, not sure why the E-5 one is darker but settings are the same and the light is more or less the same, bright daylight
5024851133_6e93228d18_z.jpg
5025467538_1922250a72_z.jpg

E-3, E-5, shooting against light, spot metering at building, gradation normal,WB should be custom using grey card
5024850659_400110a1d5_z.jpg
5025467064_1f442e983e_z.jpg

E-3, E-5, shooting against light, spot metering at building, gradation Auto, WB should be custom using grey card
5024850821_7e3b65fe0b_z.jpg
5025467232_c76a2a2130_z.jpg

Couple more samples, Natural mode, ISO200, 12-60. NR standard, Sharpening 0, Gradation Normal. Handheld, IS1. OOC jpegs.

E-3, E-5, AWB for flash, my wall should be blue, settings all the same, flash position the same
5025460166_c9f43e68f7_z.jpg
5025470928_55f0fd9203_z.jpg

E-3, E-5, Custom WB for flash using 18% grey card, my wall should be blue, settings all the same, flash position the same
5024846847_2a15b2d4b6_z.jpg
5025470990_c67fec79ab_z.jpg

E-3, E-5, room lighting, measured with light meter, AWB
5025459934_05e85547ec_z.jpg
5024856831_1275fed16d_z.jpg

E-3, E-5, room lighting,measured with light meter, custom white balance with 18% grey card
5024846645_120b6b03db_z.jpg
5024856945_54d875e3fa_z.jpg

These are on Natural or Vivid picture mode?

E-5 seems a little more saturated...

Thankfully I have a good housekeeper... every ready to keep things clean... and dry... ha ha ha...

u too profound liao, i reading it too literal. HAHAHAHA!!! But seriously, if u can get a very cheap E5 at 500RMB, do grab one for me :lovegrin: (ya i admit, i typical cheapskate s'porean)

Thats his evil plan. To drown his monitor so there's an excuse to missus to buy Eizo high end & use full 10bit display color via display port from the Quadro or FirePro cards. BUAHAHAHAHA!!! BUY! BUY! BUY! (how else u think his missus approve budget to buy Pentax 645D, w/o first getting her a $10k LV bag )

Hur hur hur... 500RMB E5... can save more money... 15RMB buy crowbar, 20RMB take cab... go warehouse and break in lah...

I don't need an EIzo screen... though I did get the missus a Longchamp bag. Unlike you, I am still thinking hard on the Mac Pro. Cannot see a reason to buy it though since I am not edit loads of video. Hmmm..... have to put money aside for the 645D you know? That is priority.

E-3, E-5 noise comparison, only variable for noise comparison that changed is the shutter, all NR are off for all test

E-3, E-5 full size ISO 1600
5025460726_d9cf7d37f4_z.jpg
5025470450_5bbee33bd5_z.jpg

E-3, E-5 full size ISO 1600 crop
5025460900_dca32c1a05_z.jpg
5024858057_9de4ebab1a_z.jpg

E-3, E-5 full size ISO 3200
5025460378_1391b3996f_z.jpg
5024857283_cf9e69733f_z.jpg

E-3, E-5 full size ISO 3200 crop
5025460598_b817077e9b_z.jpg
5024857921_7017f8627a_z.jpg

E-5 ISO 3200
5025470786_b037fa4e5b_z.jpg
5025471200_e755666cfe_z.jpg

These are on Natural or Vivid picture mode?

E-5 seems a little more saturated...

All on natural setting,never change the defaults for the natural