Safe to buy from SLR Revolution???

Just bought a lens and a camera bag from them today. Both are in perfect working condition and I am very happy with my purchases. The lens I bought was also cheaper than others stores I checked.

Only one complaint. Even though the person who attended to me was quite friendly and cooperative, I found it somewhat unprofessional that he had to refer to his booklet for the prices for any item I asked about. Not a big deal, though.

I think that's a common sight whenever you step into any camera shops? Be it CP, MS etc..

If you dun feel comfortable, then buy your stuff elsewhere. Personally, I would rather spend that few more bucks and purchase from a shop which I believe is reputable (especially for expensive items). Just for the ease of mind. You will establish that belief once you do enough homework.

i tot giving loose cards for bundled purchase is common?

nonetheless, they are accommodating and honest guys... competitive pricing, good engh alr!

bought a cam there and had no problems with it :) the service is great too.. the card they supplied seems alright. they offer one of the cheapest prices! i think it is safe la.. :)

Yes from my experience as a customer. No issue. I did have a new Kingston card that was defective with my Pentax K7. Got it changed with no issue. Bad cards do occur, but rarely. Anyway card is the least of my issue. I have bought several lenses as well. Good service and they even organized a models shoot when we had our new cameras. Bravo. It is your choice, really.

bought a cam there and had no problems with it :) the service is great too.. the card they supplied seems alright. they offer one of the cheapest prices! i think it is safe la.. :)

What camera you buy? Me going there tomorrow for a canon 550D which they quote for $1187.

I do buy from SLR and I have no issue with them. The price is competitive. Too bad Jason has left the shop to go back to his family business.

If I go by the experiences I have had in my 35 years of buying cameras and taking pictures, I cannot buy anything from any shop. At one point or another, I have got into sad experiences which cost me my hard earned money. Trustworthiness is at times tested by the things that they do to get a deal going. We get good prices but awful freebies. We get good freebies but bad experiences. We get good experiences buying but then end up finding out a better price elsewhere. Even the best of homework might not secure a good deal. That's the way of the world we live in. If not, why do we need courts of law?
My point? If we feel that we are not comfortable with any of the things being put in front of us, then do not buy. Even in b&s, we do find buyers and even sellers who go through their ways in trying to get the best deals.
I had a good deal going once in a very recommended shop once. Price was the lowest and all agreed. Yet the fella tried to sell me a filter at an outrages price. My friend went for it but I declined. Came back a few hours later and asked again. Price was more than $100 cheaper. Never even asked about buying the lens. So reputation and trust do not really go together in some situations.
What do you do when you get hit in a bad deal? Learn the lesson(easily said then done..) and continue shooting(not that difficult eh!).
My $0.02 worth. The ramblings of an old man!:angel:

If I go by the experiences I have had in my 35 years of buying cameras and taking pictures, I cannot buy anything from any shop. At one point or another, I have got into sad experiences which cost me my hard earned money. Trustworthiness is at times tested by the things that they do to get a deal going. We get good prices but awful freebies. We get good freebies but bad experiences. We get good experiences buying but then end up finding out a better price elsewhere. Even the best of homework might not secure a good deal. That's the way of the world we live in. If not, why do we need courts of law?
My point? If we feel that we are not comfortable with any of the things being put in front of us, then do not buy. Even in b&s, we do find buyers and even sellers who go through their ways in trying to get the best deals.
I had a good deal going once in a very recommended shop once. Price was the lowest and all agreed. Yet the fella tried to sell me a filter at an outrages price. My friend went for it but I declined. Came back a few hours later and asked again. Price was more than $100 cheaper. Never even asked about buying the lens. So reputation and trust do not really go together in some situations.
What do you do when you get hit in a bad deal? Learn the lesson(easily said then done..) and continue shooting(not that difficult eh!).
My $0.02 worth. The ramblings of an old man!:angel:

:thumbsup: Well said. I just bought a batt grip from slrr today, and find that this shop is pretty fine. With local warranty, a competitive price and good explanation and patience from the salesperson would be the justification.

What I do think is the most important is the salesperson. Don't know if I am running out of luck lately or what, have been meeting salesperson with really horrible etiquette recently. Not to name any shop, but funan is a place I tend to go lesser these days due to poor service received there.

What camera you buy? Me going there tomorrow for a canon 550D which they quote for $1187.

i bought a digital camera (tz7) for my dad.. it was the cheapest quote i got.. i was afraid it was some spoilt camera or grey set. but it was fine :) i got a friends who purchase a DSLR there too. but i'm nt sure whats the model. He was quite satisfied with the camera and stuff. so no worries. look for Ray. His services are good :D

I think it's safe, at least for me. Staff seems knowledgeable and helpful, and I have no qualms over my D300s which I bought from them in 2009. Not to mention, their prices are good.

:thumbsup: Well said. I just bought a batt grip from slrr today, and find that this shop is pretty fine. With local warranty, a competitive price and good explanation and patience from the salesperson would be the justification.

What I do think is the most important is the salesperson. Don't know if I am running out of luck lately or what, have been meeting salesperson with really horrible etiquette recently. Not to name any shop, but funan is a place I tend to go lesser these days due to poor service received there.

TK Photo is the only reason for me to go Funan. :bsmilie:

TK photo staff... sometime nice to you, sometime not so nice... very temperamental... i only go to them for lenspen ... hahaha...

Went to slr yesterday with the intention of getting my first dslr camera. Salespersons seemed busy attending to customers. Walk out and walk around funan. Saw bally and smiled to myself :sticktong. Then arrived at tk photo and salespersons also busy attending to customers. About to step out when a salesperson greeted me despite attending to a potential customer. Told him my intention and he politely ask me to spare him a few of my precious time. I obliged and 10 minutes later he was explaning the product to me. He was patient and did not 'pressure' me into getting other products upgrade, despite knowing that i am a greenhorn to dslr. Although i have done my homework and research, i acted 'blur' with no product knowledge. But again he did not take advantage of this situation. What i ask for is what i get without any unnecessary recomendations. 40 mins later i walk out from the shop, being a proud owner of canon 550d kit 1 and paying below the recommended retail price set by the manufacturer. All thanks to this salesperson named Ark :thumbsup:

Just had a bad experience myself with TKFoto today.... Was price checking for my friend a few DSLR prices. One guy, not young not old (I had nvr seen him ard in the stall ever, is he the boss?), was around at the counter looking through his files. So I said I wanna price check on a few DSLR, he immediately give me stern face, voice and tone. I was patient enough to tahan through his bad tone while he was giving me the various prices. Though another older uncle came over with a smiling face and also help to find the prices of the DSLRs that I was looking for. Then I did the same thing with SLRR and John 3:16 which happily gave me the quotes and allow me to take down the price after I asked them for their consent. Though the best experience is with J 3:16 as usual. Samuel and his colleague even let me try 2 teleconverters and loan me a D200 to try my new Bigma, and maintain very courteous and cheerful even though I didn't buy from them in the end.

I don't know about how other girls feel but for me when I passed the shop
I didn't dare to go in.. Maybe it was empty at the time, but I felt a little intimidated. :embrass:

The prices are really attractive though. From what I see in the price guide.

Hope I don't offend anyone. :D

I don't know about how other girls feel but for me when I passed the shop
I didn't dare to go in.. Maybe it was empty at the time, but I felt a little intimidated. :embrass:

The prices are really attractive though. From what I see in the price guide.

Hope I don't offend anyone. :D

Different preference for different people i guess, the moment i go in the sales person follow me around, to other this might be good service but i feel pressured while i browse. TK is more relaxed for me as i get to walk around and try the items without someone who keeps looking over my shoulders.

Just had a bad experience myself with TKFoto today.... Was price checking for my friend a few DSLR prices. One guy, not young not old (I had nvr seen him ard in the stall ever, is he the boss?), was around at the counter looking through his files. So I said I wanna price check on a few DSLR, he immediately give me stern face, voice and tone. I was patient enough to tahan through his bad tone while he was giving me the various prices. Though another older uncle came over with a smiling face and also help to find the prices of the DSLRs that I was looking for. Then I did the same thing with SLRR and John 3:16 which happily gave me the quotes and allow me to take down the price after I asked them for their consent. Though the best experience is with J 3:16 as usual. Samuel and his colleague even let me try 2 teleconverters and loan me a D200 to try my new Bigma, and maintain very courteous and cheerful even though I didn't buy from them in the end.

Reminds me of a story. Also at TKphoto. I was there to buy tripod. I asked the salesperson an uncle about the prices for different ballheads. His tone was really not nice. Didn't bother
to elaborate anything. I asked for the differences between Sirui G20 and KX20. His reply ?

" friction control lor " very bochap and "don't bother me" tone. Then he turned away and stare into blank air. I was really pissed off. I just left the shop. After lunch nearby I returned and met a young guy was had very good attitude. I bought my tripod within 5 minutes.

Not to bad mouth the shop, it is actually usually very good. I have returned a few times to buy other stuffs, no problems. Lesson is - there are always *******s around. =X

Just bought a lens from them last week on 31st Dec, i guess it depends on who you meet, the guy serving me was Willy, a nice chap, patient and polite. He happened to sprain his ankle that day and was still half limping/hopping behind the counter to attend to me,
+1 for service.:thumbsup:

Well, there were a few other salesmen who seem to be not there, maybe they were thinking where to go for the countdown parties.