S1/S2/S3 pics. thread

thearttofeelme said:
IMG_1445.jpg

IMG_1442.jpg

IMG_1350.jpg

IMG_1415.jpg

Nice pics. :lovegrin: May I ask if you did any post-processing? I tried out the S3 at Comex and it was quite noisy at auto-iso. What iso did you use for these pics? Also, what percentage of shots taken at this concert were good? I understand that the S3 struggles under low-light condition.

lastboltnut said:
cerebrus, geting ichy liao.....the BBBug is out of the bag!!:bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:
I have had the virus since getting this camera.... :bsmilie:

I was taking potos at my GF grad ceremony at outdoor but the sky was overcast after rain and i use the auto mode to take, the pics turned out super noisy and i was disappointed with the pics. I tried to use the program mode but the pic was too underexposed. How do I take good indoor shots? The flash dun work too well either, it only brighten up the face but the background was almost too dark. Please share your advice and tips. I have no problem taking outdoor sunny weather pics as there are sufficient light for me to play ard the settings, but the indoor was a killer for me :dunno:

RenegaeDing said:
Nice pics. :lovegrin: May I ask if you did any post-processing? I tried out the S3 at Comex and it was quite noisy at auto-iso. What iso did you use for these pics? Also, what percentage of shots taken at this concert were good? I understand that the S3 struggles under low-light condition.

lastboltnut said:
cerebrus, geting ichy liao.....the BBBug is out of the bag!!:bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

emoblitz 328 .. brought for $60 at ms .. can turn the angle too

uzume002 said:
emoblitz 328 .. brought for $60 at ms .. can turn the angle too
Ahh.. I know this one. I have tried it @ MS before.

i head that some pple use a infra sensor to active the slave flash .. put the sensor insde a film container then the container cover the built in flash ..

anyone can advice me how this is done ? meaning what kind of infra sensor :dunno:

Here's a few pics i took at Venice, Italy with S3.

venice2.jpg

The crowded boat bus of Venice.

venice3.jpg

Taken at one of the many bridges at Venice.

venice31.jpg

Taken at St Marco Square in the evening... at 9 pm actually. =P

Hi iboey, for me I will do this, set camera with 2nd curtain flash, then take on tripod (if posible). you will need longer exposure time though. When the shuter 1st open, it will capture light from the background, when the shutter is about to close, it will flash to capture the faces of the people in the foreground.

If you take 1st curtain flash, people will start movng once the flash is release, so I prefer 2nd curtain...

iboey said:
I was taking potos at my GF grad ceremony at outdoor but the sky was overcast after rain and i use the auto mode to take, the pics turned out super noisy and i was disappointed with the pics. I tried to use the program mode but the pic was too underexposed. How do I take good indoor shots? The flash dun work too well either, it only brighten up the face but the background was almost too dark. Please share your advice and tips. I have no problem taking outdoor sunny weather pics as there are sufficient light for me to play ard the settings, but the indoor was a killer for me :dunno:

Nice and sharp!! And with 7mm you are really near it huh. So it is proven that f4 is the sweet spot of S3 liao, really sharp. Love this pic!:thumbsup:

MooneyedWileECoyote said:
here is a pic of an iguana taken on my S3IS. comments welcome.

iguana.jpg

Hi Seng, thanks for sharing. But I think all the pic are underexposed....Did you meter the roof of the boat rather than the people in #1?

#2 abit slighted to the left

and #3 I would like to see the lamp post.

These are my personal opinion, hope you dun mind.

Good! S3 has travelled the world!!

Seng said:
Here's a few pics i took at Venice, Italy with S3.

Taken at St Marco Square in the evening... at 9 pm actually. =P

MooneyedWileECoyote said:
here is a pic of an iguana taken on my S3IS. comments welcome.
Mean looking guy.... Really sharp picture. Iguana is well exposed. I would have prefered a bit more of the body showing, then you can do a crop to remove the upper part of the picture.

cerebrus said:
Mean looking guy.... Really sharp picture. Iguana is well exposed. I would have prefered a bit more of the body showing, then you can do a crop to remove the upper part of the picture.
sry.. but i disagree wif wat u say. dat shot was overexposed.. look at e head and wateva it was standin on.
besides.. tis side profile is alittle too bland for me. i wld prefer it to haf more of an angle.. :)

NightZ88 said:
sry.. but i disagree wif wat u say. dat shot was overexposed.. look at e head and wateva it was standin on.
besides.. tis side profile is alittle too bland for me. i wld prefer it to haf more of an angle.. :)
Yeah, stone is over, but the body looks ok to me. Ill go check on my home CRT, this LCD sucks.

I would have prefered more of the body if shot at this angle.

MooneyedWileECoyote
Try cropping so only the head and the mean looking eye are in frame. That might look good. :think:

Dont worry. I dont mind. =) Had no time to learn on using the S3 to the max. Bought it b4 the trip, read the manual on the plane. More used to using my FM2. =)

lastboltnut said:
Hi Seng, thanks for sharing. But I think all the pic are underexposed....Did you meter the roof of the boat rather than the people in #1?

#2 abit slighted to the left

and #3 I would like to see the lamp post.

These are my personal opinion, hope you dun mind.

Good! S3 has travelled the world!!

GeckoZ said:
paiseh paiseh, i missed out your photos. XD
i like all of them, i think the composition and lightings are great! :thumbsup: Exposure also just nice.. I felt the energy and live already. :bsmilie:

thankx dude.

havent been here in a while... been busy with work and business trips...

Here's a photo I took at a kung-fu performance in Beijing.

232082391_87d0d6b5d5.jpg

A Iguana which i took in Bird Park yesterday. He was staring at me when i place my tripod . take a look at his eye

:sweat: :sweat:

image00001mz2.jpg