Rangefinder or P&S?

tlucmpla

I am thinking of buying a good P&S or rangefinder. I have sort of a limited budget.

Could any experienced CSnapper give me some opinion?

Txs - Luc

what kind of limited budget do you have exactly? hard to suggest without an idea...

I'm thinking something between $800 to $1,000.

I've got no experience Bessa cameras. Are they good?

What about P&S?

Get the Ricoh GR1v... if you want a p&s

Heard a lot about this camera.

Do you happen to know how much does it cost?

How's the photos taken by this camera?

Get a T3 :thumbsup:

really nice size and results are comparable with SLR.

most rangefinders if not all of them do not come with built in flash,if u are looking for something to bring out for casual outings with frds,a small fill is defintely necessary.

kex said:
Get a T3 :thumbsup:

really nice size and results are comparable with SLR.

yeah totally agree with this :thumbsup:

Txs Kex and lavenderlilz.

I have also considered T3. I know it's a good camera.

I'm thinking of using the camera to take landscape night shots. I'm sure you'll know that the longest exposure time for T3 is 180s, which I'm not sure it will be enough esp. when I load a Velvia 50.

I thought it sort of limit things here.

What's your opinion?

tlucmpla said:
Txs Kex and lavenderlilz.

I have also considered T3. I know it's a good camera.

I'm thinking of using the camera to take landscape night shots. I'm sure you'll know that the longest exposure time for T3 is 180s, which I'm not sure it will be enough esp. when I load a Velvia 50.

I thought it sort of limit things here.

What's your opinion?

hi there

am afraid I can't comment on the 180s as I haven't used it. I did shoot one roll on slides (can't remember which one) when I went on holiday to Australia - if u like, I can show u the results at the next SEED?

Hi Lavenderlilz,

Are the photos night shots taken?

tlucmpla said:
Hi Lavenderlilz,

Are the photos night shots taken?

nope. Think had a couple of low light ones as the sun was setting .........

Btw, how much did you buy the T3?

i would say use the right equipment for the right job.
If u are going to do night scenes,go with the SLR route plus tripod..

but seriously,180s is quite long liao leh..i usually shoot ard 4secs to 30 secs on ASA100 film,50 will only hit 60secss nia..

Hehe :p Maybe I'm abit greedy.

primarily, i feel that the SLR is bulky. so i'm looking for something smaller.

sometimes, i just don't want to carry something bulky esp. travelling overseas. i'm also using it as a back-up cam.

u can't have everything in a camera..

but a T3 would be a very good compromise.i just slot it in my jeans front pocket when i go out with it..

and u can be in the pix as well..most pp can handle a T3 easily.

i got mine used for $500.should be ard that range..
new i heard is something like $1200 range..

Hi Kex,

I think that the price range. Quite ex when it's new. Can't image if it's a G2. must be very ex.

Looking at it from the digital cam point of view, a CP5400 probably cost around the same price.

I'm using film SLR, haven't switch to digital yet.

Have you?

i'm still a film guy..

but i'm using 2 digital camera for some of my job where customers wants to view the results 1st..

still dun really like digital..with film , i can have them scanned into a 6mp resolution when i need them in digital..nx time maybe the scanner can give me 12mp resolution..but when if u buy a 6mp digicam,it will forever be a 6mp nia..