Range Finder... new to it !!

leeter

i was wondering if its worth getting a RF (2nd hand). My purpose is much for exploring purposes. Coz it seems very cool and fun to own a nice retro RF camera, and it seems that its result are very good.

And i am wondering, RF's viewfinder is Through the lens ? or its only side by side ? And thus if with filters, will i be able to see them ?

The pricing of RF (Yashica) is very affordable, will the price be ard the same in Singapore ? Even if it's not, where can i find good 2nd hand stores that sell these ?

leeter said:
i was wondering if its worth getting a RF (2nd hand). My purpose is much for exploring purposes. Coz it seems very cool and fun to own a nice retro RF camera, and it seems that its result are very good.

And i am wondering, RF's viewfinder is Through the lens ? or its only side by side ? And thus if with filters, will i be able to see them ?

The pricing of RF (Yashica) is very affordable, will the price be ard the same in Singapore ? Even if it's not, where can i find good 2nd hand stores that sell these ?

patch17 has many yashica RFs. u can try asking him if he is willing to sell u one.

alternatively, get one at cash converters but u may need to get it spruced up/cleaned/calibrated etc.

u can also try 2nd hand camera shops like The Camera Workshop at Peninsula Plaza.

:cool:

Don't lah. Manual focus very slow and leceh.

If you want the advantages of a rangefinder (leaf shutter, silent, small, fast lens) but with autofocus and film advance, look no further than the Konica Hexar AF, if you can find one. Very sharp, very handsome look and feel, and very nice lens. I got mine at only $390. Only drawback is that lenses are not interchangeable.

StreetShooter said:
Don't lah. Manual focus very slow and leceh.

If you want the advantages of a rangefinder (leaf shutter, silent, small, fast lens) but with autofocus and film advance, look no further than the Konica Hexar AF, if you can find one. Very sharp, very handsome look and feel, and very nice lens. I got mine at only $390. Only drawback is that lenses are not interchangeable.

where did u buy urs from?

leeter said:

RF viewfinder's is not through the lens. If you put in a filter, you will not see the effect.

Wow.. thnx guys !! guess my friend's is a Nikomat's SLR bahz, coz his is Through the lens !! but anyway, thnx for the tips of getting second hand ones, i will go check them out @ Cash converterS !! :) haha.. that Konica Hexar AF Wasted, i looking for more vintage look ones... hahaha.. especially those silver chrome de !!

Rangefinder is good... my first is an xpan... love it... except hasselblad do not want to develop faster lens to it (two years i wait... and the fastest lens is just f4)... that why i sold it...

try v-lander or a leica not bad... very good lens quality... www.luminous-landscape.com got some good reviews on rangefinder...

remember it is a rangefinder.. not slr... no marco.. no telephoto more then 135mm...

if you want autofocus rangefinder... look for contax g2... very good... and sharp lens... comaprable to leica...

haha.. thnx for the piece of advise !! coz i am totally new to range finders !! and wow.... Range Finder oso got autofocus de ? then that Contax G2 can perform manual focus too ? Actually i only want a plain Range finder, not expecting to get add ons !! :)

leeter said:
haha.. thnx for the piece of advise !! coz i am totally new to range finders !! and wow.... Range Finder oso got autofocus de ? then that Contax G2 can perform manual focus too ? Actually i only want a plain Range finder, not expecting to get add ons !! :)

Interested in a Canon Canonet QL17 GIII? vintage 70s compact rangefinder with fast 40/1.7 lens? :cool:

haha.. thnx for ur offer.... bt i not rich, just want to see should i pick up one cheap one and play ard with it ? its cool anyway !!

Hmm u might wan to look at old russian rangefinder... i got a kiev 4a wiht a jupiter 8m lens, mine is not too bad, but before u buy make sure the thing is working...

go get a yashica gsn :D...not expensive...only $70-80...get it or borrow it for not-much thinking shooting or for try outs. if you ask me how good this cam is, i cant answer you much cos i bring it along with me everyday! :D

only need to manual focus and set aperture...

RFs it'll teach you a lot on certain areas of photography.

yes g2 can do manual focus too...

khairi said:
go get a yashica gsn :D...not expensive...only $70-80...get it or borrow it for not-much thinking shooting or for try outs. if you ask me how good this cam is, i cant answer you much cos i bring it along with me everyday! :D

only need to manual focus and set aperture...

RFs it'll teach you a lot on certain areas of photography.

Pls let me know where can I find it for $70-80.
Appreciate your help.

Cheers,
SS

ss18 said:
Pls let me know where can I find it for $70-80.
Appreciate your help.

Cheers,
SS
you can get a few yashicas in CS itself...open a WTB thread saying you wanted a yashica...get either a gsn at 45mm/f1.7 or a cc at 35mm/f1.7 (bloody rare)...do not bother to get a yashica lynx 45mm/f1.4 it's VERY bulky!

the most common ones are the GX, MG-1,MG-2 etc etc...for more yashica info, find the yashica guy site, search as "yashica guy"

for yashica repairs...no prob...go to CamX at penin. it's at the same floor as The Camera Workshop (TCW), just beside a mini kopitiam. BTW TCW too might have some yashica. Check it out.