Questions From a NEWBIE

wah..really very gald to hear all the advice and answers from u guys..
just bear with me ah.. :P
erm.. what are the accessories that can be fitted on the sony cams?
i dun have an idea how these fittings look on the cam..
any pics with these accessories(lens,filters etc) on?
also what are the things to do for care of the cam? i mean what other stuff u guys recommend to buy? to protect lens, to clean etc.
and what is a dry box or those refrigerator looking cabinets for?
thanx again!!!

wainism said:
also what are the things to do for care of the cam? i mean what other stuff u guys recommend to buy? to protect lens, to clean etc.
thanx again!!!

Most important is to buy a filter to protect your lens. A UV filter would do fine. Buy extra memory cards if u take alot of pictures (which we know any digicam user do :) ) Consider buying electronic dry cabinet as they are now very affordable.. keeps fungus away in our extremely humid weather. Get a good camera bag (don't bother with Sony's version, not practical and expensive) and external flash if u take alot of indoor pictures.

wainism said:
thanx again!!!

So many questions... i think you need a face-to-face session with someone lah, explain on the forum quite hard. I thot I already tried to answer most of the questions. Best to see for yourself, since most of us have only one cam, so cannot photograph our cam. You should visit to some cam shops like MS Colour when they are not busy, I'm sure they will entertain you with open arms!

pianodancer said:
So many questions... i think you need a face-to-face session with someone lah, explain on the forum quite hard. I thot I already tried to answer most of the questions. Best to see for yourself, since most of us have only one cam, so cannot photograph our cam. You should visit to some cam shops like MS Colour when they are not busy, I'm sure they will entertain you with open arms!

haha.. okok.. bo bian lah, money hard to come by these days.. ord liao lah, no more free everything!
erm... perhaps... last thing i need to noe is the location of all these shops..
alan photo
ms colour
cathay etc..
thanx very much!!!

erm.. just for discussion...
i checked bargain city, the price of dimage z1(which they say is a dSLR) is abt the same as f828 leh.
so is it more wu hua to buy that?

Think you are talking about the Dimage A2. NO it is not a DSLR, it is just another 8MP camera...and at the risk of being flamed, the poorest one in terms of image quality. Somehow the images from DPreview's full review look super soft.

Z1 is just a 3.2 MP camera with 10 times zoom. not a DSLR too.... wonder why bargain city calls them DSLRS...

Alan Photo is in Sim Lim Square
Cathay Photo is in Peninsular Plaza. There's a branch in Marina Sq too, but they tend to have higher prices across the board.
MScolor is in Ang Mo Kio

alrighty!!! thanx for risking the flame!!!
will get down to checking them out when i regain me legs!!!
cheers!

You can check them out but that's only if you intend to buy new. IMO, no point since U are just a starter and there are loads of 2nd hand cams in the market now for you to pick and choose. You may want to jump straight into the 828 but that's gonna cost U much more. The 717 will set you back much less and U can still have spare cash to spend on accessories. Btw, I have captured F1 cars with my 717 too, it's AF is actually quite good compared to many other brands' prosumers.

Btw, some of us have just started exploring taking infrared photos. U can check them out in the other Sony thread on infrared photos.

Amongst the 3 shops, I feel that MS Colour has the best service. AP and Cathay sometimes got the "Take it or leave it" service attitude.

hi,
just wondering how effective the Shay's Action to remove CA. i got my 828 4 months and quite annoying to get the ugly PFs. sometimes it is difficult to avoid the problem. :think:

could anyone process the photo and let's us compare the pre- and post- processing outcome?

http://sg.f2.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/bryan1778/detail?.dir=/3501&.dnm=f6b7.jpg

million thanks in advance :D