qns on dimage 7hi

solomon76

HI ppple! like to find out about this camera, actually deciding between this and the new fuji s7000.
For a set of batt (NImh) say 2000 mah how long can it last?
Also heard that there is a some noise in blue sky with this camera and some heating problem ?
thanx

solomon76 said:
HI ppple! like to find out about this camera, actually deciding between this and the new fuji s7000.
For a set of batt (NImh) say 2000 mah how long can it last?
Also heard that there is a some noise in blue sky with this camera and some heating problem ?
thanx

Hi, I am using 7i, the older version of your mentioned camera.
I find it great! thought a bit big.

The lens i nice, with the 'star filter' effect.
Heating problem means that power is wasted as they dissipate, but i think its okay for me because when i travel, usually its to colder countries, and i need the extra heat for my batteries and LCD to function better.
I think a day of photo taking i would use up abt 2 sets of AA batteries.
refer to my pix here:

http://www.pbase.com/andass/minolta_7i

The batteries will last quite long if you set the display to EVF Auto only. If you use the LCD, then the camera takes up quite a bit of juice.

Don't have a problem with the heat, but it could possibly be due to my setting to the EVF Auto only as well. I'm not saying that the heat is not there.

A set of 2100 mAh batteries should last you abt 3 hrs shooting on a typical Zoo/JBP walk i.e. walk to one exhibit, snap a few shots, carry on moving without manually switching off the camera. My setting for this is EVF Auto, 1 minute auto-off, press the shutter to turn on the camera again.

Noise-wise, if you want to blow up your pics, you might want to consider using NeatImage to lessen the noise, otherwise printing of 4R should not require noise reduction, not noticeable at all at these sizes.

HI what is the biggest print that you guys have done ?
juz wondering , the external flash support is pretty good rite ?
actually i am also considering the fuji s7000 :)
But the minolta has a wide angle of 28 mm which is pretty impressive and allows for more creative shots :)

My prints aren't too big, so I'll leave it to the rest to answer. 5 MP should be able to print to quite a large size.

Do you think you'll be taking night shots? The Minolta prosumer models appear to beat their competitors hands-down (with the exception of the Sony F-series) in low-light conditions.

28-200 mm is a nice range. I wish I can go down to 20 mm though, may consider buying a 0.7x WA convertor.

Feel free to take a look at the Singapore shots in our gallery. :) The digital shots taken in the Singapore album are taken with the 7Hi.

Shouldn't u be looking at the Minolta A1 instead? It's the replacement for the 7hi, cheaper and should be better.. :)

i saw the night shots.. there is a 30 sec bulb exposure :)
but more concerned with the noise that dpreview says

dun really like the li-ion batt.. anyway want to get a 2nd hand dimage 7hi

I think the question in low-light is more about whether the camera can focus on the subject in the first place. The Minolta prosumers and Sony F-series excel in this area.

hi like to find out also if any one has taken good macro shots with the 7Hi ?
Wondering if it can do good macro shots since its does not have a super macro shot thingy :P

solomon76 said:
hi like to find out also if any one has taken good macro shots with the 7Hi ?
Wondering if it can do good macro shots since its does not have a super macro shot thingy :P

Urm, i took some macro shots w/ the 7hi...
slightly overexposed (yea, i think i still got long way to go man ;( )

anyway, the shot is taken w/ a +4 (or issit +2, forgot) closeup filter...

image here (no laughing allowed!) :)

As for noise, actually the noise issue is, well , personally yes, the dimage series is slightly noisier compared to the others cameras in the same range (which means they employ rather agressive de-noising algo, compared to the dimage 7 series) -- in addition, i'm told that they all use the same sensor ... so yea..
in summary, the noise issue's really over-exaggerated, so dun worry too much, most digicams (those that employ CCD)'s noisy lvls go really up from 400 onwards.. so no loss there anyway ;)

and u'll love the fly-by-wire zoom, and the manual focus ring (really shoik for macros)!

HI! thanx for all the reply.. Wondering if it would be worth while to buy this cam at 1000 for 6 months old ?
Or i shld go for the a1, but then the batt is not something i like lah :P
also i will b bring this for a trip to new zealand :)
But i really like the night shot , they look good

the pic not too bad leh :)
Btw , the colors of minolta dimage 7hi seems a bit dull as compared to other cameras... can the vivd colour selection help ??
got example ?
thanx for being patient

well, i usually use natural ;p

but urm, yes, the vivid does kind of "boost" the saturation levels , etc up to make it more 'vibrant'...

just wanted to add something.... the S602Z last much longer than the 7Hi on a set of NiMH, S7000 should last as long if not longer.

HOw about the color of dimage 7hi,actually from what i see from the web.. most of the nikon 5700 and s7000 looks better..
Of course dimage has a more natural feel to it :P.
anyone has any comments ?

You can max the saturation if you want more vibrant colours.

Honestly, if I want really saturated colours, I'll do it in Photoshop instead, like this picture I took (which incidentally was taken in vivid mode on my Ixus V2). Canon's vivid mode is quite good, but sometimes you want more.

anyway, if you could wait, just wait a while more. the S7000 might be launched at a very attractive price then.

yah lor :P
been waiting for almost a month after i sold off my c4000z

How u find the photos taken by the C4000z? Olympus cams usually produce more natural (less vivid) looking colors, so maybe u can use that as a gauge of your personal preference. I think in general Fujifilm and Canon tend to produce more vivid colors, but some might find the result a bit unnatural..

It's all up to personal preference.