QL17 Focusing double vision

Nature88

Hi all RF users. I do have a small problem with my Canonet QL 17. Don't know whether is it me, my eyesight need checking or the RF need calibration.

Just bought a Canonet QL17 recently from a Clubsnap member. All the functions was working perfectly. The only problem is that when I focus onto something far away at near infinity or at infinity, the RF focus object is always "lower" then the actual object. Is it the RF or my eyesight needs calibration? :bsmilie: Or is this common with RF?

I have no problems with near objects. But this happens only at infinity or long ranges. Is the any RF pro or Canonet user that can give some hints or guidance? Thanks in advance. :D

It's still in focus just that object seem to have 2 image one up n down?

Hello Daikoku. Yea. One of the image is up and one is down. I suppose it is like that? If it is normal then I maybe I am too paranoid. :bsmilie: Because never really use a RF camera before. So I though it will be really sharp after focusing. :embrass: Cause unsure of the RF focusing system.

Anyway Im the one who bought the Black Canonet QL17 from you. So far so good. No problem. :thumbsup::thumbsup: Great QL17. Run through a roll of Kodak Tmax 100 B&W. Going to develop it to see the outcome. Cant wait. :lovegrin:

Hello Daikoku. Yea. One of the image is up and one is down. I suppose it is like that? If it is normal then I maybe I am too paranoid. :bsmilie: Because never really use a RF camera before. So I though it will be really sharp after focusing. :embrass: Cause unsure of the RF focusing system.

Anyway Im the one who bought the Black Canonet QL17 from you. So far so good. No problem. :thumbsup::thumbsup: Great QL17. Run through a roll of Kodak Tmax 100 B&W. Going to develop it to see the outcome. Cant wait. :lovegrin:

I have ran a roll of Lucky SHD through the camera to test it...focus and exposure was
correct..If i am not wrong, there's vertical alignment and horizontal alignment in the rf.
this case just the vertical alignment is out..will not affect correct focus..
but when closE range the vertical double image is not evidenT right?

Yupp. The vertical double image is not so evident when close focusing. Only evident when taking scenery or very far away objects. Because Im more into taking scenery then street shot. Just preference when usually people use RF for street shot and I used it for scenery. Love the feel of RF. :lovegrin:

Exposure wise should be no problem seems the meter needle is sensitive to light changes. Will wait for the negatives to be out then will know.

Anyway the QL17 is almost 30 years old if its the earlier batch since its Made In Japan. So its understandable it will probably need some calibration. Maybe one of this day will bring this gem for a cheackup and tweak. ;)

Anyway whats Lucky SDH? Paiseh. New to film. So still learning about film. :embrass:

Yupp. The vertical double image is not so evident when close focusing. Only evident when taking scenery or very far away objects. Because Im more into taking scenery then street shot. Just preference when usually people use RF for street shot and I used it for scenery. Love the feel of RF. :lovegrin:

Exposure wise should be no problem seems the meter needle is sensitive to light changes. Will wait for the negatives to be out then will know.

Anyway the QL17 is almost 30 years old if its the earlier batch since its Made In Japan. So its understandable it will probably need some calibration. Maybe one of this day will bring this gem for a cheackup and tweak. ;)

Anyway whats Lucky SDH? Paiseh. New to film. So still learning about film. :embrass:

Lucky SHD is just Lucky ISO 100 black and white film
easy to use, can push to 400 easily
versatile film...and very affordable

It will affect the images when you switch to portrait orientation and stuff. I can't remember coz a bit out of touch. you should get it calibrated. infact you can do it yourself - http://www.kataan.org/canon-ql-17-camera-review :)

lucky film is good but has this glow to it due to lack of anti-halation layer. so bright stuff will blow. curls like hell. will push decent i agree.

Daikoku:
Oh. I see. May I ask where'd you get the film? :think: I also wanted to get B&W film. Bought a B&W Kodak Tmax 100 that day and it cost me S$6 per roll. :bigeyes: Fuji Superia 200 only S$4 for 2 rolls though it is a colour film. Just finish a roll before this reply is typed. 2 rolls of unprocessed negatives. Besides I think the sales lady did mention the Tmax is not pure B&W i think. Didnt expect there are some who still shoot B&W for casual nowadays.

maddyks:
Thanks for the tips and links. ;) But I think I got hands of destruction. :bsmilie: Anything I touch are bound to get destroyed. So better not open up and DIY. In case mess up a gem. :x Rather send it to someone who can do a overall tweak plus maintenance. Mainly due to a fact it is older then me. So better really need to take good care of it to keep it working good.

P.S:
Now my 20D sits inside the dry cabinet and cold turkey while I take my QL17 around even to school. :bsmilie: I think it feels left out. Anyway I am ok with lousy film. Still working out my skills.

Daikoku:
Oh. I see. May I ask where'd you get the film? :think: I also wanted to get B&W film. Bought a B&W Kodak Tmax 100 that day and it cost me S$6 per roll. :bigeyes: Fuji Superia 200 only S$4 for 2 rolls though it is a colour film. Just finish a roll before this reply is typed. 2 rolls of unprocessed negatives. Besides I think the sales lady did mention the Tmax is not pure B&W i think. Didnt expect there are some who still shoot B&W for casual nowadays.

maddyks:
Thanks for the tips and links. ;) But I think I got hands of destruction. :bsmilie: Anything I touch are bound to get destroyed. So better not open up and DIY. In case mess up a gem. :x Rather send it to someone who can do a overall tweak plus maintenance. Mainly due to a fact it is older then me. So better really need to take good care of it to keep it working good.

P.S:
Now my 20D sits inside the dry cabinet and cold turkey while I take my QL17 around even to school. :bsmilie: I think it feels left out. Anyway I am ok with lousy film. Still working out my skills.

You can get Lucky
in both color and black n white here
http://www.chiifcameras.com/site2/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=51&Itemid=43
but black n white - do you do your own processing?

wha where u get Fuji Superia 200 only S$4 for 2 rolls ???

Daikoku:

Oh thanks. Sad to say, I dont. Because am very new to film. Maybe sometime down the road will learn how to process it myself. Besides I dont have dark room. And yea. The B&W Kodak Tmax 100 have not sent to develop because I went around all the shops in Bishan they say they dont develop B&W. They say could try Penisular Plaza. :embrass:

So I guess in order to take B&W need to have the skills of D.I.Y film development. :sweatsm:

Hellfire88:

If you do stay nearby Bishan, you could get it at J8 basement. There is one Standard Photos shop if I am right. (Gosh. Didnt know whats the shop name though I went there to bought film twice) Just directly opposite the rows of NTUC cashier. ;)

Daikoku:

Oh thanks. Sad to say, I dont. Because am very new to film. Maybe sometime down the road will learn how to process it myself. Besides I dont have dark room. And yea. The B&W Kodak Tmax 100 have not sent to develop because I went around all the shops in Bishan they say they dont develop B&W. They say could try Penisular Plaza. :embrass:

So I guess in order to take B&W need to have the skills of D.I.Y film development. :sweatsm:

Hellfire88:

If you do stay nearby Bishan, you could get it at J8 basement. There is one Standard Photos shop if I am right. (Gosh. Didnt know whats the shop name thought I went there to bought film twice) Just directly opposite the rows of NTUC cashier. ;)

you can get it developed at Ruby Photo near Peninsula Hotel
or you can start learning to process your own b/w
dun need darkroom

you can get it developed at Ruby Photo near Peninsula Hotel
or you can start learning to process your own b/w
dun need darkroom

Thanks Daikoku. My friend also recommended Ruby Photos. Maybe this week end will make a trip down there. :D

Hmm.... Process own photos without darkroom? :o Im willing to learn if you do wish to share how to develop own photos without darkroom. Cause I am pretty paranoid that the film exposed to sunlight means the end.

By the way, I found a link to exploded view of Canonet QL17 GIII. Suppose it will be similar to QL17. Read online that the vertical alignment could DIY to solve it. But do you think is is advisable? Some did mention because of weather changes hence the alignment off is common due to contraction and expansion.

Thanks Daikoku. My friend also recommended Ruby Photos. Maybe this week end will make a trip down there. :D

Hmm.... Process own photos without darkroom? :o Im willing to learn if you do wish to share how to develop own photos without darkroom. Cause I am pretty paranoid that the film exposed to sunlight means the end.

By the way, I found a link to exploded view of Canonet QL17 GIII. Suppose it will be similar to QL17. Read online that the vertical alignment could DIY to solve it. But do you think is is advisable? Some did mention because of weather changes hence the alignment off is common due to contraction and expansion.

why not?i always like to DIY..you should try too
i once DIY clean my own QL17 cos the viewfinder was foggy
PM me your email we discuss about processing b/w without a darkroom
its no secret and not difficult at all

Daikoku how you open the viewfinder of the ql17? tried but cannot leh.

my viewfinder foggy also.

Daikoku how you open the viewfinder of the ql17? tried but cannot leh.

my viewfinder foggy also.

cant seem to find the link i followed last time
anyway, remove all the screw on the top plate
put a stick into the fork of the film rewind area
then turn the film rewind handle
clockwise or anti i forgot
this will loosen the rewind knob from the fork
last step is just press down on the ring near the shutter release button
this will loosen that assembly..
then top plate whole piece can come out already
to install, reverse the process
sorry for the not so easily understond explaination, i better stick to making pictures..
hope this helps

Daikoku

all can do except for "last step is just press down on the ring near the shutter release button
this will loosen that assembly.."
:sweat:

Daikoku

all can do except for "last step is just press down on the ring near the shutter release button
this will loosen that assembly.."
:sweat:

i know is :sweat: :sweat:
try lah until can
mine quite easy
no need much :sweat:
:lovegrin:

Daikoku:

So sorry didnt reply. Was busy with work. Now holiday hence working. Well. I would wish to try. But I got hands of destruction. Everything I touch usually will spoil. :embrass:

Besides I did try to take off the top cover but cant. Cause I am able to remove the film rewind but not the film winder. No idea how to take it off. As for B&W development, somehow got the feeling its trade secret. :bsmilie: Will send you a PM my email. ;)

Hellfire88:

Haha. Maybe first time trying to DIY will be difficult. After that will get used to it. ;)